C1 gray screen

Post Reply
kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:35 pm

I just got my C1 and the HDMI cable and USB-DC from Ameridroid. On boot, the blue light stays on for a little while and then starts flashing, as I understand it should. The red light is on constantly when powered.

Upon plugging the HDMI mode (boot.ini is on 640x480, DVI mode) into my 1920x1080 DVI monitor with an HDMI-DVI adapter that definitely works, it displays a dark-gray 4:3 rectangle (the monitor seems to be upscaling, as it should) with black bars on the sides. If I put it into 1080p mode, the whole screen is dark gray, no black bars. The monitor does not power off, as it would with no signal, but it doesn't respond to keyboard or mouse either.

I'm using a 32GB class 4 Sandisk card from around 2011, the Micro-HDMI to HDMI cable that Ameridroid sent, and the USB-to-DC cable that Ameridroid sent with an ASUS AC-to-USB brick that outputs 5V, 2A.

If I connect an Ethernet cable, the yellow light on the port flashes, but the router does not find the C1.

The SD card and SOC also seem to heat up to perhaps 80-90F (ambient is around 65-70). I don't think that's a problem, but I figured I'd mention it.

Oh, and UHS-1 support was disabled in the boot.ini that was in the image I downloaded, so I left it that way. My card is older than the UHS spec by a couple of years, I believe.

After the first time this occurred (formatted and installed with Win32DiskImager), I rebooted my laptop to Arch, wiped the card (dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/mmcblk0 bs=4k) and then used dd to put the image onto the card. I got the exact same result once I turned the boot.ini back to DVI mode; before that, the monitor flashed on and off.

I reformatted and installed v1.2, same exact result.
Last edited by kkjdroid on Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 30691
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by odroid » Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:54 pm

Can you try 1280x720 with DVI mode only for test?

kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:17 am

The screen is completely gray, as if a 720p gray image were being scaled up to the full size of the monitor.

kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:28 pm

Still not working with v1.2.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 30691
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by odroid » Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:02 pm

Can you try a real HDMI monitor to narrow down the root causes?

kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Mon Jan 19, 2015 3:25 pm

I have tried it on a TV in HDMI mode, screen stayed black and then went into sleep mode. I have a new micro-HDMI cable coming in in around 14 hours, so maybe that will help.

kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Tue Jan 20, 2015 5:13 am

I just got the new HDMI cable in. Same result, gray screen, same aspect ratio as the resolution used with black filling the rest.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 30691
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 99 times
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by odroid » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:08 am

How about your TV? Did you try the DVI option in boot.ini after upgrading to V1.2?

kkjdroid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: C1 gray screen

Unread post by kkjdroid » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:16 pm

OK, it seems that it was the SD card. I switched to a different one and it works. I wish the C1 weren't so picky about cards. I'm going to try again tomorrow once I have my only class 10 card back.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests