changing hdmi_phy_res does not apply

Post Reply
Zabu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:13 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: xu3lite
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

changing hdmi_phy_res does not apply

Post by Zabu » Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:24 pm

Hi,
is there a way to force android to use a specific hdmi_phy_res and turn of Interlace?
Using Interlace brings a very annoying flicker on my TV, which I want to avoid.

Here is my boot.ini:

Code: Select all

ODROIDXU-UBOOT-CONFIG

setenv fb_x_res "1920"
setenv fb_y_res "1080"

setenv vout "hdmi"

setenv left     "56"
setenv right    "24"
setenv upper    "3"
setenv lower    "3"
setenv hsync    "14"
setenv vsync    "3"


setenv hdmi_phy_res "1080p60hz"

setenv edid "1"

setenv led_blink        "1"

setenv bootcmd      "movi read kernel 0 40008000;bootz 40008000"

setenv bootargs     "fb_x_res=${fb_x_res} fb_y_res=${fb_y_res} vout=${vout} hdmi_phy_res=${hdmi_phy_res} edid=${edid} left=${left} right=${right} upper=${upper} lower=${lower} vsync=${vsync} hsync=${hsync} led_blink=${led_blink}"
boot

With changing setenv fb_x_res "1920" and setenv fb_y_res "1080" I can change the interface. This works fine.

But my TV always reports 1080i50hz. No matter what I change setenv hdmi_phy_res "1080p60hz" to.

Even when I try to use 1280x720:
setenv fb_x_res "1280"
setenv fb_y_res "720"
setenv hdmi_phy_res "720 i or p 50hz"

My TV still reports 1080i50hz.

When I connect any other device to my TV it always uses 1080i50hz by default, but normally I can change to resolution. Changing the resolution works with my xu3-lite on lubuntu and openelec but not on android.

I'm not sure about this, but I think that my TV reports 1080i as best resolution to a connected device, so that it works at the first connection.
And I think that androids automatically picks this 1080i, not regarding what the boot.ini says.

Has anyone an idea how I can fix this?

regards

Seismograf
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:40 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: XU3-Lite
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: changing hdmi_phy_res does not apply

Post by Seismograf » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:04 am

Have you found a solution yet?

I have the same problem, except that my TV always shows 720p..
In lubuntu and debian wheezy I use 1280x720. thats the only setting where my tv allows me to use the "PC Mode" where everything fits perfectly on the screen.
In android though, even if I select 1280x720, the picture is to big! Very annoying that I cant see the status bar and the sides of the picture...

Zabu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 10:13 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: xu3lite
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: changing hdmi_phy_res does not apply

Post by Zabu » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:52 am

Just found a way here: http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=6889

in short:
edit boot.ini line 18(or so) from:
setenv edid "1"
to:
setenv edid "0"

Seismograf
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:40 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: XU3-Lite
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: changing hdmi_phy_res does not apply

Post by Seismograf » Sun Jan 18, 2015 8:11 am

nice thanks!
I fixed my overscan problem with an app called "UI Tuner"

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests