Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Post Reply
lordcy
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:19 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, N2
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by lordcy » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:16 am

I've seen that development has stopped on the Odroid-Go since the Advance came out but I have a few NES roms that still won't play on any emulator for the Odroid-Go. I'm interested in how to go about testing to discover what this issue may be. Is there a firmware out there that will show debugs? From there, hopefully someone could lead me in the right direction to fix the issue. Thanks for any help someone can provide.

LordCy

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7112
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 307 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Re: Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:39 am

I wouldn't say development stopped. Somebody ported ScummVM about a month ago.

You will need to connect the usb cable and use a serial program (like putty) to get the debug output.

lordcy
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:19 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, N2
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by lordcy » Mon Jan 13, 2020 6:36 am

Thanks, I meant for NES emulation.

I figured that would be the case unless it copies debug output to the SD card somewhere.

What program do you use or does the firmware itself show debug output when a rom crashes?

lordhardware
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 11:56 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: U3
Odroid-W
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by lordhardware » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:24 am

NES emulation is a little interesting.
Even though the system is very basic from a comparison point if view, it still has quite a few complexities.

The system uses something called a "mapper" to interpret certain instructions and then show the results.
At a very basic level you could compare a mapper to a modern game engine.
It simplified game development in a single studio by providing a consistent set of instructions to use, regardless of the type of game being made.

Some of these mappers are common and are well documented, as such they will work in every emulator (such as the Mario Bros. mapper)
Others are a little more obscure or cover games that never got official English releases so are less likely to be present in English emulators.

The NES emulator that was ported is missing support for many uncommon mappers.
This is not an easy fix.

crashoverride
Posts: 4630
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 150 times
Contact:

Re: Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by crashoverride » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:02 am

None of the emulators for GO1 are cycle accurate. This means there will be certain titles that just will not work. This includes the inability to properly emulate some NES mappers.

lordcy
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:19 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, N2
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Directions to troubleshoot non-working games on Go-Play NES emulator

Unread post by lordcy » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:25 pm

Thanks lordhardware & crashoverride for the detailed information. I see a game I'm trying to play (Final Fantasy) requires the mapper MMC1 and I see it is written in the mappers folder in file map001.c. MMC1 appears to be a very common mapper so I would guess it's not the mapper itself causing the issue? It's been a while since I have ran through programming in c but do you think the nofrendo creator has a bug in the MMC1 mapper? There appear to be 4 variations of the mapper. Thanks.

https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php ... 4&start=30

http://kevtris.org/mappers/mmc1/index.html

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC1

Post Reply

Return to “Game Emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests