Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Post Reply
mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:57 am

Hi I have been trying to add a new 12tb ironwolf pro to a Hc2 with openmediavault 4 and everything goes well apart from when the disk is mounted it constantly says this click sound watch video on my cloud server:

https://nextcloud.rmortensen84.tk/index ... AfaijXQFN5


I do not understand that a new hard drive should make this kind of sounds. I have 2 Odroid hc2 and have tried in both of them with the same result. Is it the hard drive or a problem with the Odroid Hc2 ? - I have also had a Toshiba N300 8TB behaved in the same way becoming more and more afraid of it is a problem with these HC2 devices.

It's not okay I have such big problems with these Odroid hc2 devices when I bought and paid for a brand new device and brand new hard drives there is nothing in my setup that is used.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32677
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 364 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by odroid » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:30 am

Which power supply do you use with HC2?
Can you please compare the power consumption between Toshiba N300 8TB and Ironwolf pro 12TB by looking into their datasheet?

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:10 pm

Segate ironwolf pro 12 tb:

Startup Current, Typical (12V, A) : 2.0
Idle Power, Average (W) : 5.0
Average Operating Power (W): 7.8W
Standby Mode (W): 0.8
Sleep Mode (W): 0.8
Power Supply Requirements: +12 V and +5 V


Thosiba N300 8 tb:

Consumption - Active Idle: 6.2 W typ. (8 TB)
Supply voltage: 5VDC (+10%/-7%) / 12VDC
(±10%) (16 TB)
5VDC (+10%/-5%) / 12VDC
(±10%) (10 TB) 5VDC (±5%) /
12VDC (±10%)


I use the power supply that was included:

Model: FJ-SW1202000E
12V = 2000 ma
0.6 Amax

I am disappointed with the hc2 devices it is not okay that you can make such units and send them around the world and so they are NOT stable with the most common hard drives. Not great to have a device that smashes a hard drive that costs twice the unit.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6878
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by rooted » Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:47 pm

I don't think the 12TB drive your using even existed when the HC2 was released and while it may be common now it certainly wasn't.

What are the statistics for SMART on the drive?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32677
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 364 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by odroid » Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:57 am

mrperfekotne wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:10 pm
Segate ironwolf pro 12 tb:
Startup Current, Typical (12V, A) : 2.0
Its startup power consumption is already same as the PSU output capability.
You might need to use a 12V/3A or higher output PSU.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:43 pm

Now I just tried with the power supply which is attached with picture :) -And it has the same problems with this power supply and now it should not be the problem. There is something wrong with your devices but what do you know better.


SMART on harddrive :

https://pastebin.com/qWZUeycZ
Attachments
IMG_20191116_133848_1.jpg
IMG_20191116_133848_1.jpg (561.97 KiB) Viewed 650 times
Last edited by mrperfekotne on Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:45 pm

You have also previously had problems with disk parking on these devices and I could keep going - I do not understand that you send a product in markets that are NOT thoroughly tested. If Samsung or Appel did, they could soon close the business.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:49 pm

After all, it is not positive recommendations you give Odroid when you experience problem after problem.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32677
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 364 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by odroid » Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:02 am

We will buy an Ironwolf pro sample soon and look into what's wrong.

ruppi
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:13 pm
languages_spoken: korean
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by ruppi » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:01 pm

Hi mrperfekotne,

IronWolf pro 12TB HDD has just received.
When using the 12V/2A bundle adapter, it is reproduced similar to the sound in your video, but when using the 12V/3A adapter that we have,
It seems that there is a lot of power adapter impact.
The spin noise also occurs on the PC in the IronWolF HDD.
it was confirmed that serious sound had no more than except for normal spin noise.
Compared to other HDDs, the Seagate Iron wolf pro HDD is definitely making more spin noise than other hard drives.

BR,
Ruppi
Last edited by ruppi on Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:41 pm

Yes but I have a 4tb ironwolf that doesn't make these sounds in the same unit so it doesn't make sense

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6878
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 267 times
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by rooted » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:04 pm

mrperfekotne wrote:Yes but I have a 4tb ironwolf that doesn't make these sounds in the same unit so it doesn't make sense
It can make sense, these are mechanical devices and are not created equal and don't always make the same sounds.

The 12tb drive has much more spinning mass compared to the 4tb drive, you can't compare them.

I have a drive that clicks 6 or 7 times when it spins up, the other equally sized drive just makes the typical whining noise when it spins up.

I do hope you get a resolution, those are expensive drives.

ruppi
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:13 pm
languages_spoken: korean
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by ruppi » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:27 pm

We had tested with IronWolf Pro 12TB HDD.
mrperfekotne wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:41 pm
Yes but I have a 4tb ironwolf that doesn't make these sounds in the same unit so it doesn't make sense

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32677
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 364 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by odroid » Thu Nov 21, 2019 6:35 pm

Seagate Ironwolf 8TB, WD 10TB and HGST Enterprise 8TB had no such issue.

But this Ironwolf Pro 12TB characteristics is quite different. We need some time to investigate.

neal
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:02 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by neal » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:13 pm

Hi @mrperfekotne,

Could you please check with this option when you try to make file system format ext4?
# mkfs.ext4 -E lazy_itable_init=0,lazy_journal_init=0 /dev/sda1

and then, you can use like this ( sleep in 50sec )
# hdparm -S 10 /dev/sda1

I'm not sure that the above command is your answer. but please let me know whether is okay or not.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:07 am

I have sent seagate iron wolf pro 12 tb return as RMA at seagate. And get one: ST14000VN0008 (Seagate iron wolf 14 tb) This is not the pro series and thus it has a lower power consumption compared to pro according to datasheet so I hope this can solve the problem but fear it may not. Return when I have the new disk (ST14000VN0008) so we have to see if there are the same problems with this disk.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:12 am

Here is datasheet 😊
Attachments
Screenshot_20191122_161023_com.adobe.reader.jpg
Screenshot_20191122_161023_com.adobe.reader.jpg (283.42 KiB) Viewed 433 times
Screenshot_20191122_160943_com.adobe.reader.jpg
Screenshot_20191122_160943_com.adobe.reader.jpg (242.7 KiB) Viewed 433 times

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32677
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 209 times
Been thanked: 364 times
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by odroid » Tue Dec 03, 2019 10:45 am

Did you receive "Seagate iron wolf 14 tb"?
I'm also very curious too.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:11 pm

Yes and it says this same click sound with OMV4 image :(: - So it must be the devices or software that have a problem as I have now got 2 new hard drives - But I am considering trying ubuntu image now to see if it resolves the problem?

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:17 pm

But is somewhat disappointing. because it may be I need to build a PC to avoid the problems with these arm devices And then I have nothing to use the devices for and I already bought an odroid xu4 with Cloudshell 2 where I ended up throwing Cloudshell 2 in the trash because I think there was so much trouble with that unit that I couldn't defend selling it to someone else. And then I bought 2 hc2 units which then have these problems.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 7:19 pm

I seriously think you should test these devices better before sending them out into the market. It's not something I say to hate but just to help you. There is nothing more annoying than paying for products that work half :)

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:41 pm

Same problem on Ubuntu minimal 18.04 image Segate ironwolf 14 tb mounted via fstab watch attached video:

https://nextcloud.rmortensen84.tk/index ... k9Ddf98Rys

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:00 pm

@Neal

It looks like this one:

mkfs.ext4 -E lazy_itable_init=0,lazy_journal_init=0 /dev/sda1

Now it doesn't click - But what does this command do?

mrperfekotne
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Ironwolf click sound in HC2

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:03 pm

After:

mkfs.ext4 -E lazy_itable_init=0,lazy_journal_init=0 /dev/sda1


Now it only says this sound - But is it usually on an ironwolf drive:

https://nextcloud.rmortensen84.tk/index ... tL93QLsYky

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests