[SOLVED] HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Post Reply
jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

[SOLVED] HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:35 am

I recently flashed my SD card with one of the new Ubuntu images (also tried the 2018-12-03 image) but it doesn't look like the HC2 will get online.

I don't see it on my network with nmap -p 22 --open -sV 192.168.86.0/24
nor do I see it with arp -a | grep 00:1e:06

I have a solid red power light, a heartbeat blue light, and solid green light near the sata connector. Also, the right network light is flashing.

From everything I can tell that means the HC2 should be online but I don't see it anywhere on my network. Is there something else I can do to debug this without buying a uart cable?

Thanks

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:51 am

After letting it sit for a while I end up with just a solid red light (blue light stops). From what I found elsewhere in the forums that means the board is dead right? :(

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32318
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 315 times
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by odroid » Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:02 am

Did you flash "ubuntu-18.04.3-4.14-minimal-odroid-xu4-20190910.img.xz" with Etcher?

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:08 pm

I'm on linux so I used the disk image restore feature built into GNOME

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 4024
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 176 times
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by tobetter » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:44 am

jgarr wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:08 pm
I'm on linux so I used the disk image restore feature built into GNOME
Does the blue LED stop blinking after some time, and lit on or off? If so, the OS in your uSD runs and crashed. If the blue LED does not lit with the power cycle, the boot loader is not started and not blinking then OS is not started or crashed somewhere. The best way for debugging for your case is to use USB-to-UART debugging cable to grap the kernel message. Or trying to flash your uSD with another OS image again.

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:54 am

The blue light flashes for ~5-8 minutes and then turns off and all I have is a solid red light. I'll see if I can get a UART cable to troubleshoot.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32318
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 138 times
Been thanked: 315 times
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by odroid » Thu Sep 26, 2019 9:12 am

Do you use our official 12V/2A PSU?
https://www.hardkernel.com/shop/12v-2a- ... y-us-plug/

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:14 am

I'm not using that plug but the current plug I have been using has worked fine for ~2 months. It has been off for a little while and when I reflashed the OS I started getting the boot problems.

I'll try to verify with UART and also check the amps on my current power supply.

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:48 pm

I verified my plug (which was working before) has 1.5A at 5V. I have some 2.4A adapters but I didn't try them as I'm not sure if the HC2 would handle that amount of amps.

I dug out my UART -> USB adapter and trying to get the console log.

I plugged in the adapter using 3.3 VCC and tried following instructions at https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/devel ... b_uart_kit using minicom but no logs/console are displayed on the screen. I also tried with screen but I still don't get any logs.

I re-flashed the card (using Etcher this time) and verified in boot.ini that console was set (tty1 and ttySAC2)

Is there something I'm missing on the HC2? I don't see any output and I know this console cable has worked in the past with raspberry pis.

I get the same blue light flashing for a while and then solid red light (blue light off). I noticed tonight that the device gets really hot which I don't really remember before. I also used to have the device downclocked to 600 MHz which I want to do again but need to be able to boot it first.

powerful owl
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 6 x HC1, N2, H2
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by powerful owl » Sat Sep 28, 2019 5:15 pm

jgarr wrote:
Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:48 pm
I verified my plug (which was working before) has 1.5A at 5V.
? HC2 requires 12V. "Any 5V/9V/15V PSU can’t be used with HC2. It works with only 12V PSU." https://www.hardkernel.com/shop/odroid- ... cloud-two/

jgarr
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:37 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: HC2 won't boot? blue heartbeat light but not on network

Unread post by jgarr » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:45 am

I'm an idiot and you're completely right. I have no idea how this was working before.

I bought a new power supply (12v 2a) and it seems to be working fine.

Sorry for the distraction.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest