No HDMI Output

Post Reply
gregb49
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4 Ubuntu 18.04.1 Kernel 4.14.69-148
Location: Wessex
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

No HDMI Output

Unread post by gregb49 » Tue May 14, 2019 4:04 am

I had an HDMI problem, and eventually returned the board which was replaced, thank you. However, after 3 days this replacement board is exhibiting similar symptoms, ie no HDMI output, when I looked at it in the morning (I tend to leave my boards turned on all the time). I've tried it with another HDMI cable and monitor, and with 18.04 burned onto an SD Card but with the same result. The board appears to boot, flashing blue lights, but no HDMI output.

The Putty Output is shown here when running

Code: Select all

cat /sys/class/amhdmitx/amhdmitx0/rawedid
Image

I have used the identical set up (cable, Monitor, keyboard etc) with an XU4, ASUS Tinker Board, and a few Rasp Pis, and now it is working fine with a Rock 64 so I don't think it is my monitor setup, unless there is something that the N2 does not get on with. I am at a loss what else to do as this is my second N2 to fail.
XU4 Ubuntu 18.04 4.14.69

joy
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:44 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-C1+, XU4, X
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Contact:

Re: No HDMI Output

Unread post by joy » Tue May 14, 2019 8:45 am

Hi @gregb49,
I remember your post.
Your monitor is 1920x1080 AOC 24"monitor.
gregb49 wrote: The screen that was working is an AOC 24" monitor (E2460S) currently displaying 1920x1080 60Hz using an Ubuntu computer and was displaying the Odroid N2 faultlessly. The 'flashing' screen was an older Philips TV with HDMI, so that might have been that particular problem.
You mean.... when you got the new N2, display worked OK, right?
but after three days, it's broken?

If you have another new HDMI cable, can you try it?

And please try manual 1080p60hz display mode, also.

Code: Select all

# Auto Detection of Monitor settings based on your Screen information
setenv display_autodetect "false"

setenv hdmimode "1080p60hz"

gregb49
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:30 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4 Ubuntu 18.04.1 Kernel 4.14.69-148
Location: Wessex
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: No HDMI Output

Unread post by gregb49 » Wed May 15, 2019 3:50 am

Thanks Joy,
Yes, when I received the new N2 the display worked fine. It was only after 3 days that it stopped working, for no apparent reason. I had done nothing but leave it on overnight.

I've tried another HDMI cable, not new, but one working with a Raspberry Pi and the same monitor. The result is the same - no HDMI output from the new N2 to the AOC monitor.

I tried

Code: Select all

# Auto Detection of Monitor settings based on your Screen information
setenv display_autodetect "false"

setenv hdmimode "1080p60hz"
but the result was the same; no HDMI output. Plus, the putty output is identical to the one shown above, ie 4 rows of zeros.

I've now connected a Rock 64 to the same HDMI cable and AOC monitor, and that is working fine.

The symptoms appear worryingly identical to those that I had with the first N2.
XU4 Ubuntu 18.04 4.14.69

joy
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:44 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-C1+, XU4, X
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Contact:

Re: No HDMI Output

Unread post by joy » Wed May 15, 2019 12:30 pm

Hi @gregb49,
Thank you for the detailed information.

It looks HDMI parts or the related block is damaged again. :(

Could you contact "odroid at hardkernel dot com" with a link of this post?
She will help your RMA process.

And we will get back your old N2 and the newer one
and will analyze it by checking which parts got damaged.
These users thanked the author joy for the post:
gregb49 (Wed May 15, 2019 3:47 pm)

joy
Posts: 890
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:44 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-C1+, XU4, X
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 49 times
Contact:

Re: No HDMI Output

Unread post by joy » Fri May 17, 2019 12:28 pm

Hello @gregb49,
To make sure, can I ask one?
Did you put any special test or operation on N2 with hdmi monitor activated?
Or just keep it idle status?
If there is any small clue, I will reproduce it with my test environment.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests