Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Post Reply
Jeremycarlson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by Jeremycarlson » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:24 am

Hello! Fellow Odroiders,

I am just putting out a call to see if this is even possible to port Kano OS to odroid c2. I would like to use it in helping my son learn how to code and manipulate computers. I think it would be a great learning tool for children. Thanks for your time and consideration.

https://hello.kano.me/downloads/

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 155 times
Contact:

Re: Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by tobetter » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:15 am

Jeremycarlson wrote:
Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:24 am
Hello! Fellow Odroiders,

I am just putting out a call to see if this is even possible to port Kano OS to odroid c2. I would like to use it in helping my son learn how to code and manipulate computers. I think it would be a great learning tool for children. Thanks for your time and consideration.

https://hello.kano.me/downloads/
Very interesting project, I have not looked into all but looks very cool.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6554
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 128 times
Contact:

Re: Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by mad_ady » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:14 am

Well, since it ships for rpi which is armhf it should work with fairly few changes on C1 or XU4, which are armhf as well. It could work on C2/N2 as well, but most likely without graphical acceleration.
You'd need to prepare a suitable image for your board, replace the rootfs with the one from kano, keep your original /lib/modules and tweak fstab/boot.ini of needed. Here's a rough idea, though it's not the same thing: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source= ... gWSsSxcMB8_
You'll need a serial adapter for when it gets stuck, though.

Oh, programs that need gpios won't work because of different gpio numbers.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6554
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 128 times
Contact:

Re: Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by mad_ady » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:42 am

Update - I looked through their manuals and they seem to have various hardware accessories that use the gpio pins. In this case you would need to port their code to the odroid's gpios. So it will take more work

Jeremycarlson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by Jeremycarlson » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:12 am

Wow, this forum rocks.

Thanks for the quick replies, I am by no means a programmer or know the first thing about fstabs etc but I was curious on what it would take as I am sure lots of developers here have children and would probably benefit from the OS or something similar. It would be cool to see on a xu4 if that means less work in the long run. Thanks for your time and consideration and keep me posted.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6554
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 128 times
Contact:

Re: Possible to port over Kano OS to C2?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:16 pm

On XU4 it would be more difficult - due to the different GPIO connector size and voltage.

Post Reply

Return to “Other OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests