Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Post Reply
mrperfekotne
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:19 pm

I have looked a little at this guide:

https://magazine.odroid.com/article/nex ... droid-hc2/

But don't understand why I need "ODROID USB UART Module Kit" to install ubuntu on a Hc 2? - I'm a beginner but can't i just burn image on a sd card and log on to the box via network over ssh afterwards? Why is it necessary to connect with the "ODROID-USB-UART Module Kit"?

On openmediavault image you just burn it to sd card and log in with default password via network (ssh)?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5107
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:56 pm

A usb-uart is not mandatory, but it's nice to have, especially for troubleshooting.

mrperfekotne
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:40 am
languages_spoken: Danish
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Re: Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Unread post by mrperfekotne » Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:16 am

Okay I don't even understand the point of using Usb uart when he can just Ssh to it? Then you make it more complicated than it is: /;) :) :) - A guide should be as simple as possible :)

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5107
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Unread post by mad_ady » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:43 am

Well, you can ssh into it once it's booted and networking is up.
There are lots of ways it can get stuck before this (corrupt uboot/sd card, broken kernel, corrupt root filesystem, bad network settings, broken fstab, etc). Without a uart you can't know exactly what's wrong, so again, not mandatory, but I recommend having one around.

b4gt
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:26 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Odroid Hc2 Ubuntu ?

Unread post by b4gt » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:12 am

I bought mine just in case I may need it and posting costs a bit from UK. So far haven't needed it. But then again I don't tinker much. Just set up my server and left it be.

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests