Dual ethernet?

Post Reply
o84750
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:46 pm
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Dual ethernet?

Unread post by o84750 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:46 am

Hi. Probably a noob question but what can we do with the second ethernet port on the h2? Also, I'm in the market for a new switch, can the h2 take advantage of link aggregation?

User avatar
n2qcn
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 12:38 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by n2qcn » Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:58 am

> can the h2 take advantage of link aggregation?
Yes, and I do.

tkaiser
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:30 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, C2, XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by tkaiser » Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:50 pm

o84750 wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:46 am
can the h2 take advantage of link aggregation?
Do you need fault tolerance?

LevelUp
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:51 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by LevelUp » Sun Dec 23, 2018 10:54 pm

Will the H2 allow PiHole to operate on the second Ethernet port?

I'm guessing it will?

Just set everything up as normal, pointing my router's DNS to the PiHole IP only the 2nd port on the H2 is acting as a surrogate port on a router sort of thing?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6098
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by rooted » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:49 am

LevelUp wrote:Will the H2 allow PiHole to operate on the second Ethernet port?

I'm guessing it will?

Just set everything up as normal, pointing my router's DNS to the PiHole IP only the 2nd port on the H2 is acting as a surrogate port on a router sort of thing?
Sure

dimi3
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:50 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by dimi3 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:57 am

If they would use proper NIC's and not Realtek, I think this would be ultimate small PfSense or OpnSense router box.

tkaiser
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:30 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, C2, XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by tkaiser » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:19 am

dimi3 wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:57 am
If they would use proper NIC's and not Realtek, I think this would be ultimate small PfSense or OpnSense router box.
Why is that? Since prejudice is stronger than reality? Have you seen this? viewtopic.php?f=168&t=33048&p=240680&hi ... se#p240727

psomero
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:46 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU+E, XU4, C1+, HC1, H2
Location: Silicon Valley
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by psomero » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:55 pm

I hit 672/713 on speedtest.net on mine running ubuntu 18.10. Usually get 940-980 up/down on my windows machines.

Fiber rocks

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5114
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by mad_ady » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:42 pm

Try with speedtest-cli and run multiple tests at different times of day. Ideally you'd use iperf in a lan environment to rule out your isp.

Catscrash
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:45 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: Odroid U2
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by Catscrash » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:16 pm

Actually I was positively surprised by the lan speed, why would you think the Realtek NICs are not fast enough?

Code: Select all

iperf -c 192.168.xxx.xxx -t 30
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.xxx.xx, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 85.0 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  3] local 192.168.xxx.xxx port 58258 connected with 192.168.xxx.xxx port 5001
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  3]  0.0-30.0 sec  3.27 GBytes   936 Mbits/sec
this seems to be very stable as well

tkaiser
Posts: 668
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 12:30 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+, C2, XU4, HC1
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by tkaiser » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:59 pm

Catscrash wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:16 pm
why would you think the Realtek NICs are not fast enough?
He was reporting 'Internet speeds'. Bandwidth and latency are two entirely different things but the latter of course has an influence on the former especially when round-trip times are higher (compare ping results when testing on the LAN against 'something on the Internet'. That's usually less than 1 ms for LAN vs. way higher latencies when accessing something outside the WAN).

If I were @psomero I would check ping round-trip times for the host speedtest-cli used and would also look at flow control settings on both switch/router and H2.

LevelUp
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:51 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by LevelUp » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:00 am

rooted wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:49 am
Sure
lol not quite...

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6098
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by rooted » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:55 pm

LevelUp wrote:
rooted wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:49 am
Sure
lol not quite...
iptables

LevelUp
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:51 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: H2
Contact:

Re: Dual ethernet?

Unread post by LevelUp » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:34 pm

rooted wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:55 pm
LevelUp wrote:
rooted wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:49 am
Sure
lol not quite...
iptables
obv...

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests