Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Post Reply
#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:37 pm

I was wondering, is there a way to turn off the Odroid C2 with the IR remote when running Android? Right now when I go to turn it off it opens up the power menu instead of just shutting down but I'd rather it just shut down by pressing the button, or is there a way to have a delayed shut down like the Ubuntu OS that waits 60 seconds before it shuts down when the power button is pressed on the remote?

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2623
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by tobetter » Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:05 pm

#1 GameMaster wrote:I was wondering, is there a way to turn off the Odroid C2 with the IR remote when running Android? Right now when I go to turn it off it opens up the power menu instead of just shutting down but I'd rather it just shut down by pressing the button, or is there a way to have a delayed shut down like the Ubuntu OS that waits 60 seconds before it shuts down when the power button is pressed on the remote?
Sorry to say that C2 does not shutdown with power key of IR remote, For shutdown after 60 seconds what you want requires to change the frameworks...

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:01 pm

So it is possible to set it to shutdown after 60 seconds? If so how would I go about editing the framework to do so?

Thanks

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2623
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by tobetter » Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:11 pm

Can you try to keep pressing power key long enough? I realized that there were some changes for power off with long key press of power key on remote.

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:00 pm

Tried it and all it does is turn off the display. At first I thought that it might be in sleep mode but the blue light just keeps flickering.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2623
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:32 pm

#1 GameMaster wrote:Tried it and all it does is turn off the display. At first I thought that it might be in sleep mode but the blue light just keeps flickering.
Sleep mode is not supporting on C2. What's the version running on your ODROID-C2?

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:03 pm

It's running v4.2

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 2623
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by tobetter » Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:24 pm

#1 GameMaster wrote:It's running v4.2
Did you keep pressing the power key on remote more than 5 seconds although power popup window is on screen?

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:31 pm

I'm actually using a Logitech Harmony 350 Remote that is programmed to work as an odriod remote and if you hold the power button it stops sending the signal after 2-3 seconds.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6256
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by rooted » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:13 pm

#1 GameMaster wrote:I'm actually using a Logitech Harmony 350 Remote that is programmed to work as an odriod remote and if you hold the power button it stops sending the signal after 2-3 seconds.
That should be adjustable in Harmony software.

You should have stated this in the beginning also, they are using the HK remote and you aren't. It explains the different behavior.

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:37 pm

Well I figured since it was programmed to the actual remote that it wasn't that big of a deal. I mean it still sends the same IR code right?

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by codewalker » Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:56 pm

Hi, I change config_longPressOnPowerBehavior to 3.
frameworks/base/res/res/values/config.xml

Code: Select all

754     <!-- Control the behavior when the user long presses the power button.
 755             0 - Nothing
 756             1 - Global actions menu
 757             2 - Power off (with confirmation)
 758             3 - Power off (without confirmation)
 759     -->
 760     <integer name="config_longPressOnPowerBehavior">3</integer>
You can apply it by following the instructions below.
https://dn.odroid.com/S905/Android/test ... rk-res.apk

Code: Select all

$ adb remount
$ adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk
$ adb reboot

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:07 pm

Sorry but I can't figure out how to get this to install. First I opened the terminal and tried putting in "adb remount" and it gave me a message like "adb not found". So then I tried to just install the APK file but it failed to install.

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by codewalker » Thu Jul 05, 2018 7:05 pm

Open Browser and goto this page.
Download framework-res.apk.
https://dn.odroid.com/S905/Android/test ... rk-res.apk
Open Terminal app.
$ su
# mount -o rw,remount /system
# cp /sdcard/Download/framework-res.apk /system/framework/
# sync

Or try this.
https://dn.odroid.com/S905/Android/test ... ter-97.zip

#1 GameMaster wrote:Sorry but I can't figure out how to get this to install. First I opened the terminal and tried putting in "adb remount" and it gave me a message like "adb not found". So then I tried to just install the APK file but it failed to install.

#1 GameMaster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 4:20 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C2
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by #1 GameMaster » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:40 pm

Thank you, codewalker. I managed to get that working this time through the terminal so if that is the code that is sent to the system by holding the power button on the remote I'll just need to figure out how to prolong the time the power signal is sent from my 350 remote. The reason I know that it works now is from clicking on the power icon at the bottom.

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Contact:

Re: Just a quick question about shutting down with remote.

Unread post by codewalker » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:21 am

Probably about 5 seconds is enough.
#1 GameMaster wrote:Thank you, codewalker. I managed to get that working this time through the terminal so if that is the code that is sent to the system by holding the power button on the remote I'll just need to figure out how to prolong the time the power signal is sent from my 350 remote. The reason I know that it works now is from clicking on the power icon at the bottom.

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests