Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Moderators: odroid, mdrjr

Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby Ocye » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:04 pm

Added recently a HiFi shield to my C1+ and I'm surprised about the good sound quality. But one issue bothers me and that's the output level- way too much. alsamixer reports no controls and I didn't succeed with soft vol. Appreciate any help.

aplay -l wrote:**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ODROIDHDMI [ODROID-HDMI], device 0: SPDIF PCM dit-hifi-0 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: ODROIDDAC [ODROID-DAC], device 0: PCM5102 HiFi pcm5102-0 []
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

more /etc/modules-load.d/sound.conf wrote:snd_soc_pcm5102
snd_soc_odroid_dac

cat /proc/version wrote:Linux version 3.10.107-2-ARCH (builduser@leming) (gcc version 7.1.1 20170630 (GCC) ) #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Sep 8 00:02:59 UTC 2017
Ocye
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby odroid » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:33 pm

We had to use Pulse for the volume control on Ubuntu.
We didn't know how to add a volume control feature in the device driver for alsa mixer.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 27973
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby Ocye » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:42 pm

Pulse on top of Alsa?
Ocye
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby Ocye » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:12 pm

Seems I need more help... ;-)

E: [alsa-sink-SPDIF PCM dit-hifi-0] alsa-sink.c: ALSA woke us up to write new data to the device, but there was actually nothing to write!
E: [alsa-sink-SPDIF PCM dit-hifi-0] alsa-sink.c: Most likely this is a bug in the ALSA driver '(null)'. Please report this issue to the ALSA developers.
E: [alsa-sink-SPDIF PCM dit-hifi-0] alsa-sink.c: We were woken up with POLLOUT set -- however a subsequent snd_pcm_avail() returned 0 or another value < min_avail.
(after installing pulseaudio and pulseaudio-alsa and starting mopidy)
Ocye
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby odroid » Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:49 pm

Which OS image do you use?
We've tested it with Ubuntu and Volumio only.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 27973
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby Ocye » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:52 pm

Archlinux and Mopidy (headless maschine)
Ocye
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1+

Re: Volume for Alsa with Hifi Shield on C1+

Unread postby odroid » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:03 am

I have no experience of Archlinux.
I hope other people can help you.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 27973
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID


Return to I2S Devices (HiFi Shield DAC and Stereo Boom Bonnet Kit)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest