LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby Jeremycarlson » Wed Apr 25, 2018 12:08 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am writing this message to see if anyone else has been encountering an issue with a certain type of high price LG tv model#65ug8700 that has 3d, internet 65" and curved. I have used multiple c2 boxes with multiple android images on this type of TV and it continually restarted the box midway through operation with Kodi to the hardkernel screen. It didn't matter if it was sd card or emmc. Then it corrupted the sd card and eventually would make the box inoperable, I had sent two boxes in for warranty on it and the third one was denied out of warranty. If only one in a thousand come back with faulty craftsmanship, this seems to be an unlikely high number. I had troubleshooted everything from LAN to wifi to various different sd cards to emmc to HDMI cords to different methods of power sources to different android images to using an older samsung tv (which the boxes had run fanatastic on) nothing seemed to rectify the situation. I came to the conclusion that it had to be the tv. Looking for insight or suggestions as the only common denominator here would be the TV.
Jeremycarlson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby odroid » Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:35 pm

Have you used a stable 5V/2A PSU with the DC barrel jack on the C2 board? Did you remove J1 jumber when you used the DC plug?
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28697
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby Jeremycarlson » Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:58 am

Yes, I removed the jumper and used a barrel jack 5v/2a ordered from ameridroid.
Jeremycarlson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby odroid » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:29 pm

We have a couple of LG TVs and monitors. But we had no such issue so far.
Unfortunately, we have no same model.
One possible root cause could be a reverse current from the HDMI port in your TV.
Check the red LED status while your C2 turns off.

Did you hear any response from Ameridroid about the returned C2 boards?
I think they already investigated the boards.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28697
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby Jeremycarlson » Mon May 07, 2018 9:11 pm

Ameridroid replaced 2 boards that were in warranty, with no explanation of the issue. The last board was denied as it is out of warranty, however, I would be more than willing to send it in for investigation. If the investigation yields reverse HDMI current can the box be replaced? If so private message me.
Jeremycarlson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby odroid » Tue May 08, 2018 10:48 am

Unplug the DC plug and check the red LED status on the C2 board.
If the red LED is dimly on, your TV might generate the reverse current.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28697
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby Jeremycarlson » Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:29 am

Hi Odroid i tried unplugging the dc plug and looking for a dimly lit red light but saw nothing. No reverse current to be noticed.
Jeremycarlson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby odroid » Thu Jun 28, 2018 9:40 am

In that case, I have no idea what's wrong in your system configuration.
What is the number of failure rate?
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28697
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby Jeremycarlson » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:25 am

Failure rate was 100% of the 3-c2's that i have tried with model of tv with various different android releases starting with lollipop all the way up marshmallow.
Jeremycarlson
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:36 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 XU4

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby odroid » Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:14 am

I will contact Ameridroid to receive the damaged boards.
We will investigate to find a root cause.

BTW, your TV seems to have an ARC output feature from an HDMI port.
In that case, it might have an electrical coincidence.
So you have to use other pure HDMI input port on your TV.
Please check your TV specification.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28697
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: LG TV seemed to create an issue with multiple C2's

Unread postby rooted » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:26 am

My TV has ARC and I haven't had any issue with a C2. Not to say it's not possible, just providing a reference.

MHL is another thing to look out for, if your TV has a HDMI port with MHL use another port other than this one.
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5578
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)


Return to Android

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests