USER: deurkruk

Post Reply
deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:04 pm

Hi,

To fire off the introduction thread, here I go:
I'm Marco, 30 years of age. Have a girlfriend, a son (6 weeks old as of this date) and a big dog :-). I live in Groningen, The Netherlands. (Yes, the flat little country).

I was actually looking into raspberry but many people said it was slow doing anything else than hd streaming. Googling further I came to a Dutch website called Tweakers that had a news article about two new boards from hardkernel. The ODROID U2 and X2. I wanted to have it. It was exactly what I wanted. When I came to the hardkernel site, I found that it would not deliver until april to my disappointment.

I checked if I could buy it anywhere within the Netherlands or UK . I finally bought a almost new second ODROID X2 with WIFI, 64GB eMMC, Case, Fan, Micro HDMI, USB Cable and power adapter. He sold it because he did not have time to play around with it. Had it the next day.

It was a steep learning curve but I now have it running in Android/Ubuntu (jumper dual boot). I mostly use android and have everything configured there. Stream from my Serviio server, link to smb share on my server pc, bs player, emulators etc. etc. I am still learning Ubuntu because of ODROID :P

Image
This is my ODROID X2
The case came as it was but I put the two switches on it to dual boot Ubuntu (SD) and Android (eMMC) and switch between HD resolutions. I have a Logitech KM400 keyboard with integrated touchpad and a logitech F310 controller on it. Both work out of the box without doing anything special.

I hope to learn as much as I can here and maybe help people out with my guides.

Hamiko
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:04 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: Odroid-U3
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by Hamiko » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:27 pm

Hello and be welcome. That's a nice idea with the dualboot. :)

Maybe you could provide other users with the solution, you did there?
Is this possible on an Odroid-U2 too? :)

I have the same Acrylic Case for my U2. I like it very much!

deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:55 pm

Thanks! Well the solution is quite simple. I just bought 2 simple switches and 2 plugs that fit the place of the jumper and soldered the plug to the switch.
I used these switches because I only needed to widen two holes with a hot screwdriver to fit it on the case with the nut.
Image

kibergus
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: U2 X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by kibergus » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:23 pm

Hamiko wrote:Hello and be welcome. That's a nice idea with the dualboot. :)
Is this possible on an Odroid-U2 too? :)
No. X2 has hardware jumpers for this. deurkruk just replaced jumpers with switches. U2 doesn't have them.

deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:38 am

kibergus wrote:No. X2 has hardware jumpers for this. deurkruk just replaced jumpers with switches. U2 doesn't have them.
Did not know this. Do now :-). So U2 auto-detects what to boot?

kibergus
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: U2 X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by kibergus » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:44 am

deurkruk wrote:Did not know this. Do now :-). So U2 auto-detects what to boot?
No. It boots at 720p by default. There is a set of boot*.scr files on boot partition for different resolutions. You just copy needed file as boot.scr and on next boot appropriate settings would be used.

deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:04 am

kibergus wrote:No. It boots at 720p by default. There is a set of boot*.scr files on boot partition for different resolutions. You just copy needed file as boot.scr and on next boot appropriate settings would be used.
I meant the choice between SD and eMMC boot. :-).
But thanks for clarifying the resolutions. Also new info for me.

kibergus
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: U2 X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by kibergus » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:35 am

It boots to eMMC if it is present or to SD otherwise. If I understand right, it is possible to put special boot.scr on eMMC which would make U2 to boot from SD. So it is possible to implement "reboot to another OS" feature which would change boot.scr anr reboot. But it is not possible to select OS during bootup.

User avatar
sert00
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:26 am
languages_spoken: english,italian
ODROIDs: ODROID-U2*2__ODROID-U3__ODROID-XU-E__ODROID-XU-Ebeta__ODROID-C1__ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by sert00 » Thu Feb 28, 2013 1:09 pm

no the boot.scr not switch\choose on the boot storage typo.it detect which resolution video to load (720p vs 1080p)
2x Odroid-U2
2x Odroid-XU-E
Odroid-U3
Odroid-C1+
Odroid-XU4
Lcd touch panel 10.1"
....and many of the goodies available....

kibergus
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:23 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: U2 X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by kibergus » Thu Feb 28, 2013 2:40 pm

sert00 wrote:no the boot.scr not switch\choose on the boot storage typo.it detect which resolution video to load (720p vs 1080p)
mdrjr somehow uses it to select boot media:
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f ... t.scr#p105
And I guess that in line

Code: Select all

setenv bootcmd "fatload mmc 0:1 0x40008000 zImage; fatload mmc 0:1 0x42000000 uInitrd; bootm 0x40008000 0x42000000"
"mmc 0:1" means second partition on first mmc card. The line itself tells where kernel and initrd are located.

User avatar
robroy
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:29 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: Q2, X, X2, U2, U3, XU-E, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2
Location: San Francisco, California
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by robroy » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:40 am

I'm installing the same type of switches onto my Odroid X2 case which is the same as yours.

I thought the case maker already included two holes in the top, labeled "power" and "hdd", at least on my case. I haven't soldered the switches in yet.. was going to use shrink wrap instead of solder.
Rob Roy, Editor-in-Chief of ODROID Magazine (submit an article | make a donation)

deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:43 am

robroyhall wrote:I'm installing the same type of switches onto my Odroid X2 case which is the same as yours.

I thought the case maker already included two holes in the top, labeled "power" and "hdd", at least on my case. I haven't soldered the switches in yet.. was going to use shrink wrap instead of solder.
In my case it's power and reset. It's for the buttons underneath. In the beginning I used a toothpick to get to them through those holes. Later I just made a switch on my power adapter to turn it on and off.

User avatar
robroy
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:29 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: Q2, X, X2, U2, U3, XU-E, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2
Location: San Francisco, California
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by robroy » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:13 am

Yes, you're right, my buttons are "Power" and "Reset" too, I didn't have my Odroid with me at the time..

How did you make the switch on your power adapter? I ended up buying a 5V Power Adapter with USB cable, but I unplug the USB cable when I want to reboot.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009PB7N6E/
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009RXU59C/

I ordered this USB Hub with Power Switches to evaluate whether it would carry enough power to the Odroid
http://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-4-Port-In ... 005SZ66XM/

But you seem to be making your own attachments :)
Rob Roy, Editor-in-Chief of ODROID Magazine (submit an article | make a donation)

deurkruk
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:46 pm
languages_spoken: english dutch
ODROIDs: ODroid X2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: USER: deurkruk

Unread post by deurkruk » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:15 pm

Well I have the X2.

And have this adapter
Image

I cut the cable somewhere near the end and put something like this in between:
Image

Cost me less than a euro :-)

Post Reply

Return to “Introduce Yourself”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest