Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post Reply
QingyaZhao
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 07, 2022 4:52 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post by QingyaZhao »

Hi,

Our current project need to build an Android app and we plan to build it on ODROID-M1. This app need to receive and send message by BLE with our sensors.
So, I'm wondering that can I run the Android app on ODROID-M1 when I built the app on it? And whether the Android app have access to the hardware?

best regrads,
Qingya Zhao

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 2513 times
Been thanked: 1382 times
Contact:

Re: Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post by odroid »

We have very limited experience of using a BLE protocol on Android.
Are you going to attached a BLE radio chip to the M1 UART port or USB host?

BTW, a BLE mouse and keyboard worked fine on the M1 Android via WiFi Module 5B and 5BK adapters.
https://www.hardkernel.com/shop/wifi-module-5bk/
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
QingyaZhao (Tue May 10, 2022 1:49 am)

User avatar
voodik
Posts: 2181
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:36 am
languages_spoken: armenian, english, russian
Location: Armenia
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 482 times
Contact:

Re: Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post by voodik »

QingyaZhao wrote:
Sun May 08, 2022 12:46 am
Hi,

Our current project need to build an Android app and we plan to build it on ODROID-M1. This app need to receive and send message by BLE with our sensors.
So, I'm wondering that can I run the Android app on ODROID-M1 when I built the app on it? And whether the Android app have access to the hardware?

best regrads,
Qingya Zhao
Just checked with Beacon Simulator app between my phone and Odroid-M1 with 5B and 5BK adapters.
Both BLE advertise and scan working.
These users thanked the author voodik for the post (total 2):
odroid (Mon May 09, 2022 10:05 pm) • QingyaZhao (Tue May 10, 2022 1:49 am)
Buy me a beer ;)
https://www.paypal.me/voodikjan
BTC: 377wXjEr3QsDDzRqfMco3a41wicrsv3Sfs
--------------------------------------------------------
dump logs
(dmesg; logcat -d; lsusb) | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io
--------------------------------------------------------
ADB enhanced PuTTY :!:
https://github.com/voodik/puttyadb/releases

QingyaZhao
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 07, 2022 4:52 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post by QingyaZhao »

odroid wrote:
Sun May 08, 2022 5:22 pm
We have very limited experience of using a BLE protocol on Android.
Are you going to attached a BLE radio chip to the M1 UART port or USB host?

BTW, a BLE mouse and keyboard worked fine on the M1 Android via WiFi Module 5B and 5BK adapters.
https://www.hardkernel.com/shop/wifi-module-5bk/
Yes, we plan to attach a dongle which support BLE. Since the customize android app requires the BLE module on the Android device to connect to some other devices. Will this app function normally on the ODROID-M1 as on a typical Android devices?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 2513 times
Been thanked: 1382 times
Contact:

Re: Whether the Android app built on ODROID-M1 can access to the hardware??

Post by odroid »

Since we don't have the app source code, we can't confirm.

If you can share a trial apk and send us a couple of BLE devices, we can test that.

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zupet and 0 guests