How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post Reply
sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Hi!
I have a problem installing a hard drive (Toshiba DT01ACA300 3.0 TB) on my Odroid HC4.
I formatted the disk in Windows (GPT, NTFS).
After installing the disk in HC4, I launch Petitboot (dev.20201222) and type fdisk -l.
Image
The photo shows that the disk exceeds 2 TB, although everything was fine in Windows.
I tried to run the parted command, but it doesn't run in Petitboot.
So I ask for your advice on how to install a disk larger than 2 TB on HC4.
I have Coreelec installed on my Odroid HC4 and Windows 10 on my home computer.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

This may be a limitation of fdisk. Try gdisk if available.

More specifically: gdisk -l /dev/sda
These users thanked the author mctom for the post:
sawas (Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:54 pm)
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

Most likely petitboot only comes with fdisk. However, you shouldn't be partitioning from petitboot directly, but from an jnstaller image that is loaded from petitboot.

What are you trying to do with the disk?
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
sawas (Mon Jan 03, 2022 9:54 pm)

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

I assume CoreElec is already working on HC4 and that 3TB disk is supposed to be "added" to existing installation somehow. Hence manual formatting is necessary, I think?

Anyway I think it is partitioned correctly, it's just fdisk showing nonsense.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

If so, partitioning/formatting is best done from coreelec, not petitboot.

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Thank you for your answers!

About gdisk: when I try use this command I got this:
Image
,,,jnstaller image that is loaded from petitboot. What are you trying to do with the disk?
I don't know how to use Jnstaller image...
As for the use of this disk, I want to use it as 1) my home multimedia library, normally for HD video, because my home network is quite old (100 Mb), and
2) if possible as a seedbox
partitioning/formatting is best done from coreelec, not petitboot.
Yes, coreelec is installed and is working good, but coreelec don't see my HD:
Image
I don't know if it is possible to format disk and make patitions from inside Coreelec, is it possible?

By the way when I use a disk of lower capacity (for example 500 Gb), there is no problem, HC4 and coreelec can see it without any efforts from my part:
Image Image

So I am confused about what I should do to make my 3 Tb HD work on HC4...
Maybe there is some special procedure for installing disks with capacity more 2 Tb?

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

Well, if it said once that gdisk is not found then I wouldn't count on trying that again and again. :)

Yes, you should follow some instructions how to format your drive from coreelec. You have nothing to do in petitboot.
Your 3TB drive is not recognized by Coreelec probably because it doesn't like the way it is formated. Nothing to worry about.

The reason is old formatting styles had a capacity limit that people in the 90s never thought would be achieved in 2020s. ;)
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Hmm, it seems that Odroid (i. e. hardware) should see the disk first, after that Coreelec (software) will see it either...
In coreelec I can't find options about formatting and partitioning disks...

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

If you mean that screen with blue background, it seems it lists mounted partitions, not physical disks detected by OS.
Your HDD does not appear on the list because it is not formatted correctly, or simply not mounted.
Certainly it doesn't tell the HDD is not detected or anything like that.

I can't help you much more because I've never used coreelec.

IF there is a terminal in coreelec, you may try that gdisk command I wrote before to see if and how the drive is recognized.
Other than that, I hope someone more familiar with coreelec will help you out very soon.
These users thanked the author mctom for the post:
sawas (Tue Jan 04, 2022 5:48 pm)
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

IF there is a terminal in coreelec, you may try that gdisk command
I'll try it.. Anyway thank you for your answer :)

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

Coreelec's fdisk should show it correctly (I think).
From coreelec (with the disk attached) try running these commands:

Code: Select all

lsblk
blkid

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

From coreelec (with the disk attached) try running these commands:
with Putty I got this:
Image

Hmm, I can see that the command "parted" is working here, I'll try to use this command

...And I got this:
Image
Last edited by sawas on Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

I can see a /dev/sda with a protective MBR, indicating the HDD is recognized.
Yes, try with parted.

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

In Putty I use these commands and get this screen:
Image

but after reloading I see this:
Image Image

Coreelec don't see harddisk yet, maybe I should format it first..
It's a pity there aren't clear instructions about installing disk of big capacity on HC4 :(
Last edited by sawas on Tue Jan 04, 2022 4:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

Looks ok. But remember, you still need to format it before use. See if coreelec has a mkfs.ntfs command, and if it does, try mkfs.ntfs /dev/sda1
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
sawas (Tue Jan 04, 2022 3:41 am)

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Yes, it works) But very slow.. Waiting...

Image

In 5 minutes only 2% formatted, well, I'll keep it formatting all through the night...

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

NTFS isn't the best supported filesystem under linux because it's closed source and was reverse engineered. The mkfs command may have a "quick" option too.

brad
Posts: 1488
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:22 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2 C4 HC4 N1 N2 N2+ H2 H2+ (64 bit ftw)
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 142 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by brad »

mad_ady wrote:
Tue Jan 04, 2022 2:07 pm
NTFS isn't the best supported filesystem under linux because it's closed source and was reverse engineered. The mkfs command may have a "quick" option too.
NTFS on Linux was significantly improved in 5.15 :)

https://www.techrepublic.com/article/li ... tfs-users/

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

I knew about adding ACL support, but didn't know it was a brand-new driver. Interesting.... No more big_writes, I suppose...

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9004
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 745 times
Been thanked: 422 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by rooted »

mad_ady wrote:I knew about adding ACL support, but didn't know it was a brand-new driver. Interesting.... No more big_writes, I suppose...
I don't think it's needed, the Paragon based driver is fast.

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Well, now I have:

Initializing device with zeroes: 100% - Done.
Creating NTFS volume structures.
mkntfs completed successfully. Have a nice day.

Now I have to mount the disk, right?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10177
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 632 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mad_ady »

Yes. See if coreelec mounts it automatically on boot for you.
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
sawas (Tue Jan 04, 2022 5:44 pm)

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Yes, after restart the disk is mounted automatically:

Image Image

Thank you for your help! :)

I think that it would be nice to make an instruction (step by step) about installing HD of big capacity on Odroid and place this instruction in Wiki (https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-hc4/odroid-hc4)

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

Why do you still believe there is anything special about disks bigger than 2TB? The steps are the same for all disks.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

sawas
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:23 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid-HC4
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by sawas »

Well, when I use a disk of lower capacity it is mounted itself from the start without any efforts from my part :)

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1008
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: N2+, Game Advance, a few XU4
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 123 times
Contact:

Re: How to install a disk more than 2 TB?

Post by mctom »

Your findings would be conclusive if you confirmed that you used exactly the same formatting method for your 500GB drive beforehand.

I'm just trying to isolate a meaningful lesson from this thread, and not spread misinformation that all HDDs above 2TB need special treatment.
For now I suspect it's Windows formatting tool that does something differently than linux tools - can't say which of these is "wrong".
The procedure that mad_ady guided you through will work for any HDDs regardless.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest