[SOLVED] hc4 only seeing 4 CPU cores

Post Reply
magnum_pi
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:37 am
languages_spoken: English, Japanese, French, Irish
ODROIDs: U2, X2, XU, U3
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

[SOLVED] hc4 only seeing 4 CPU cores

Post by magnum_pi »

Sorry. You can ignore this. I mistakenly thought that hc4 had 8 cores.

Hi,

I had the official Ubuntu distribution on my hc4. I then installed the most recent Buster image, then used dist-upgrade to convert it to Devuan (which is systemd-free).

At some point (not sure when) the system went from 8 cores (Ubuntu) to only 4 cores (Devuan). I can see this from htop output and dmesg output.

As far as I can tell, I'm using the same hardkernel kernel as used by meveric's Buster image.

I tried changing the maxcpus=4 line in boot.ini to maxcpus=8, but it didn't do anything.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Last edited by magnum_pi on Mon Sep 13, 2021 6:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

magnum_pi
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:37 am
languages_spoken: English, Japanese, French, Irish
ODROIDs: U2, X2, XU, U3
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: hc4 only seeing 4 CPU cores

Post by magnum_pi »

Update on this...

I installed device-tree-compiler and used the 'dtc' command to inspect the device tree blob:

Code: Select all

dtc -I dtb -O dts meson64_odroidhc4.dtb |less
There are only mentions of a53 cores in the output, eg:

Code: Select all

cpu-map {

                        cluster0 {
                                phandle = <0x75>;

                                core0 {
                                        cpu = <0x08>;
                                };

                                core1 {
                                        cpu = <0x09>;
                                };

                                core2 {
                                        cpu = <0x0a>;
                                };

                                core3 {
                                        cpu = <0x0b>;
                                };
                        };
                };

                cpu@0 {
                        device_type = "cpu";
                        compatible = "arm,cortex-a53\0arm,armv8";
                        reg = <0x00 0x00>;
                        enable-method = "psci";
                        cpu-idle-states = <0x0c>;
                        clocks = <0x02 0x17 0x02 0x16 0x02 0x00 0x02 0xf8 0x02 0xf7>;
                        clock-names = "core_clk\0low_freq_clk_parent\0high_freq_clk_parent\0dsu_clk\0dsu_pre_parent";
                        operating-points-v2 = <0x0d>;
                        cpu-supply = <0x0e>;
                        voltage-tolerance = <0x00>;
                        clock-latency = <0xc350>;
                        phandle = <0x08>;
                };
Kernel image/dtb supplied by:

Code: Select all

hc4:/boot# dpkg -S /boot/meson64_odroidhc4.dtb
linux-image-4.9.241-arm64: /boot/meson64_odroidhc4.dtb
Assuming that the dtb is not correct, where can I find the correct one?

Thanks again...

magnum_pi
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:37 am
languages_spoken: English, Japanese, French, Irish
ODROIDs: U2, X2, XU, U3
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: hc4 only seeing 4 CPU cores

Post by magnum_pi »

Oh.

HC4 only has 4 cores!

Sorry, my mistake!
These users thanked the author magnum_pi for the post:
odroid (Mon Sep 13, 2021 9:54 am)

Post Reply

Return to “Other OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests