Alpine on HC2

Post Reply
R2d26
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 5:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Alpine on HC2

Post by R2d26 »

:ugeek:
Hi all,

Is it possible to run alpine on the HC2? I can’t find any definite info or guide. There is a generic arm tar.gz file on the alpine site but so far I only managed to run it on my raspi3.

Best regards,
Oliver

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 38033
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1999 times
Been thanked: 1206 times
Contact:

Re: Alpine on HC2

Post by odroid »

If Alpine developers didn't make a specific OS image for HC2, it will not run on the HC2.
Post a question on the Alpine community forum.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 9689
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 609 times
Been thanked: 721 times
Contact:

Re: Alpine on HC2

Post by mad_ady »

if their arm tgz is a rootfs contents, you can try the following:
* flash ubuntu 20 on your sd card, boot it and update the packages
* remove it, mount the second partition on a linux pc
* delete everything except /lib/modules
* untar the rootfs contents on this partition
* check that users/rights are ok
* correct /etc/fstab and add entries for / and /media/boot (create the necessary mount points). Preserve entries from the original /etc/fstab
* boot and hope it works

R2d26
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 5:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Alpine on HC2

Post by R2d26 »

Hi,

yes it is a rootfs content. I might try it. Thanks. I just though there might be an easier way to do it using some kind of fusing script that would fix the uboot stuff.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 9689
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 609 times
Been thanked: 721 times
Contact:

Re: Alpine on HC2

Post by mad_ady »

You could do it the other way around, but it's more work. It's way easier as I suggested - at least the board boots...

User avatar
DylanVanAssche
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:21 am
languages_spoken: English
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Alpine on HC2

Post by DylanVanAssche »

There's now a postmarketOS port (which is actually Alpine LInux with a small number of packages on top of it, like device support packages): https://wiki.postmarketos.org/wiki/ODRO ... droid-hc2)
I use it myself on 2 ODROID HC2 devices for my selfhosted infrastructure.

If you want to try it out, you can our tool: pmbootstrap to create a bootable microSD card.

Disclaimer: I ported it to postmarketOS and I'm part of the postmarketOS core team.
These users thanked the author DylanVanAssche for the post:
odroid (Mon Sep 06, 2021 9:49 am)

Post Reply

Return to “Other OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest