[SOLVED] [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post Reply
chiefahol
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2x HC2s
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

[SOLVED] [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by chiefahol »

Bought 2 HC2s recently, unfortunately both devices fail to recognize an attached HDD. (Western Digital DC HC530 14TB)

I installed one with the Ubuntu 20.04 image you recommended, the other with the latest Armbian. Here's the errors i see with the Ubuntu image:

Code: Select all

user@moosefspidgey:~$ ls /dev/sd*
/dev/sda
user@moosefspidgey:~$ sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda
fdisk: cannot open /dev/sda: No such file or directory
user@moosefspidgey:~$ sudo mkfs.xfs /dev/sda
can't get size of data subvolume
Usage: mkfs.xfs

Code: Select all

user@moosefspidgey:~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            928M     0  928M   0% /dev
tmpfs           200M  3.4M  196M   2% /run
/dev/mmcblk1p2   30G  1.7G   28G   6% /
tmpfs           997M     0  997M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
tmpfs           997M     0  997M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
/dev/mmcblk1p1  128M   17M  112M  13% /media/boot
tmpfs           200M     0  200M   0% /run/user/1000
Similar errors with armbian:

Code: Select all

user@moosefsrattata:~$ ls /dev/sd*
/dev/sda
user@moosefsrattata:~$ sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda
fdisk: cannot open /dev/sda: No such file or directory
user@moosefsrattata:~$ sudo mkfs.xfs /dev/sda
mkfs.xfs: Volume reports stripe unit of 4096 bytes and stripe width of 0, ignoring.
can't get size of data subvolume

Code: Select all

user@moosefsrattata:~$ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            931M     0  931M   0% /dev
tmpfs           200M  3.0M  197M   2% /run
/dev/mmcblk1p1   29G  1.1G   28G   4% /
tmpfs           998M     0  998M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs           998M     0  998M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           998M     0  998M   0% /tmp
/dev/zram0       49M  1.2M   44M   3% /var/log
tmpfs           200M     0  200M   0% /run/user/1000
The drives are powered and spin up, but i can't do anything with them. Strangely /dev/sda is still there even if the disks are disconnected.

Perhaps someone here knows how i can get these running, any help is appreciated. Cheers.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36385
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1431 times
Been thanked: 980 times
Contact:

Re: [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by odroid »

Do you use our 12V/2A PSU?
https://www.hardkernel.com/shop/12v-2a- ... y-us-plug/

Show me 'lsusb', 'lsusb -t' and 'uname -a' outputs.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
chiefahol (Tue Jan 05, 2021 7:52 pm)

chiefahol
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2x HC2s
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by chiefahol »

Yes I'm using that PSU with the AU plug adapter.

Here are those command outputs on the Ubuntu 20.04 install:

Code: Select all

user@moosefspidgey:~$ lsusb
Bus 006 Device 002: ID 0bda:8153 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8153 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 152d:0578 JMicron Technology Corp. / JMicron USA Technology Corp. JMS567 SATA 6Gb/s bridge
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
user@moosefspidgey:~$ lsusb -t
/:  Bus 06.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 5000M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Vendor Specific Class, Driver=r8152, 5000M
/:  Bus 05.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 480M
/:  Bus 04.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 5000M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=uas, 5000M
/:  Bus 03.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 480M
/:  Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ohci/3p, 12M
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ehci/3p, 480M
user@moosefspidgey:~$ uname -a
Linux moosefspidgey 5.4.77-217 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 16 18:31:42 EST 2020 armv7l armv7l armv7l GNU/Linux
And on the Armbian Buster install:

Code: Select all

user@moosefsrattata:~$ lsusb
Bus 006 Device 002: ID 0bda:8153 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8153 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 152d:0578 JMicron Technology Corp. / JMicron USA Technology Corp. JMS567 SATA 6Gb/s bridge
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
user@moosefsrattata:~$ lsusb -t
/:  Bus 06.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 5000M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Vendor Specific Class, Driver=r8152, 5000M
/:  Bus 05.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 480M
/:  Bus 04.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 5000M
    |__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=uas, 5000M
/:  Bus 03.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 480M
/:  Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ohci/3p, 12M
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ehci/3p, 480M
user@moosefsrattata:~$ uname -a
Linux moosefsrattata 4.14.212-odroidxu4 #4 SMP PREEMPT Fri Dec 11 21:31:14 CET 2020 armv7l GNU/Linux

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36385
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1431 times
Been thanked: 980 times
Contact:

Re: [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by odroid »

We can see a SATA bridge controller Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=uas, 5000M, and the hardware seems to be fine at least.
Can you find a clue in 'dmesg' output? Please share a 'dmesg' output.
Do you have another spare HDD for testing?

Anyway, we will order the same HC530 14TB HDD soon to investigate.

chiefahol
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2x HC2s
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by chiefahol »

You might want to save your money, after leaving it running for a day it now recognises /dev/sda. :)

Here are some related dmesg outputs:

Code: Select all

[   14.855705] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Spinning up disk...
[   21.048080] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 27344764928 512-byte logical blocks: (14.0 TB/12.7 TiB)
[   21.054993] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] 4096-byte physical blocks
[   21.060418] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write Protect is off
[   21.064945] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Mode Sense: 53 00 00 08
[   21.065431] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Disabling FUA
[   21.069106] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[   21.078653] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Optimal transfer size 33553920 bytes not a multiple of physical block size (4096 bytes)
[   21.125207] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Attached SCSI disk

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 36385
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1431 times
Been thanked: 980 times
Contact:

Re: [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by odroid »

Good to hear that.
But we already ordered the HDD. :oops:
It is time to upgrade our internal storage server. ;)

chiefahol
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2x HC2s
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] [help] HC2 - Hard drive not accessible

Post by chiefahol »

Oow darn, sorry about that. :S

Seems to work on Armbian too, strange! To anyone else experiencing this i'd say just wait a day and hopefully it fixes itself for you too.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests