[SOLVED] Android bootloop after first initial update

Post Reply
mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

[SOLVED] Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Hi,
Got an odroid N2 coreelec edition (2gb) a while ago and got an emmc recently to gain some reactivity on kodi.
Coreelec is working fine on emmc, like it was on the sandisk industrial SD 8gb shipped with it.
I also wanted to try android but I have an issue that can we hardware related.
I tried 4 versions of android (TV and not, 9, 10 & 11) and they all come with the same issue. Tried 2 SD cards and always check flash integrity with dd.
After the flash, android boots correctly and makes an update successfully.
Then the reboot comes on a black screen with a get/loss of the hdmi signal on a loop. Every android versions I tried are bootlooping this way.

Has anyone ever experienced an issue like that? What can I test to check what's bad on my unit?

Thanks!

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 6622
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 921 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by tobetter »

I think running Android 2GB would be not stable, Android is quite heavy OS.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
mattamore (Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:17 am)

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

ow thanks;
Is there a lighter version of android that I can test to validate this theory?

mad_ady
Posts: 8825
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 586 times
Been thanked: 529 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mad_ady »

I'd try to flash android on emmc (and run coreelec on sd). I/O speed might make a huge difference

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Same behaviour on emmc too, ram issue seems to be the one :/

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1106
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by codewalker »

Do you show me your eMMC pictures?
Try Etcher instead of dd.
https://www.balena.io/etcher/

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Already flashed with etcher, just double checked the checksum with dd to be sure the SD cards are correct.
What do you mean about emmc pictures?

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1106
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by codewalker »

What is the color and size of eMMC?
I used 2GB n2 and eMMC with android, but It works well so far.

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

I ordered a 32gb linux edition (red dot). I have just booted once on ubuntu and it worked. Flashed coreelec after that, worked too.
Android images are not working neither on emmc, nor on sd cards.

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1106
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by codewalker »

If you've installed latest android firmware, there is no update.
Do you try this?
https://dn.odroid.com/S922X/ODROID-N2/A ... 105.img.xz

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

I think I tested this one yes, but there were also an update.
I'm currently downloading this image and will check.

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Same results :(
First boot is updating the system and bootlooping after it.

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Just figured out!
Just pluged the odroid on my monitor and it worked.
So my TV (panasonic FZ800) can't handle the default hdmi signal of Android :(
Any way to change this?

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1106
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by codewalker »

Is right your prcessure?
write Self-install -> recovery -> android boot -> notify update -> reboot -> recovery -> boot fail

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1106
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by codewalker »

If you know default your TV input, Adjust HDMI output with Odroid Settings on your Monitor.
Try to setting 1080p60hz.
These users thanked the author codewalker for the post:
mattamore (Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:47 pm)

mattamore
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:53 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: odroid n2, odroid go advance
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Android bootloop after first initial update

Post by mattamore »

Finally the TV handle the signal correctly but the bug is on my AV receiver (samsung HW-N950).
Will check this side if I can do something.
Thanks for all guys! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests