RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Third party OS images and hardware mods
escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

1. http://ix.io/2yj4 (I'll make something easier to read at some point)

2. No standby support at the moment. Sleep modes have always been flaky under Linux, not really that keen on enabling it on this stone age kernel. I know there's been issues with the OGA and sleep/hibernation as well. I think it's not necessary when boot time is about 10 seconds and RetroArch has automatic savestate functionality.

Appreciated :)
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

BowserG
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:37 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go / Odroid Go Advance (ver. 1 and BE)
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by BowserG »

Hi all. I really like this Retroelec image, and I am currently using a OGA version 1 with a wifi dongle which works with other images. However, I cannot for the life of me get the wifi configured in Kodi or Retroarch. My wifi networks just don't show up and I can't understand why. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated and thanks to all the devs for their hard work!

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

Which wifi dongle is it? There's only a few enabled in this image. If you can tell me the driver name I can enable it.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

mattlovell
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:37 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, C4
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by mattlovell »

Hi escalade,
escalade wrote: ↑
Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:30 am
Updated images uploaded:

- Integrated the Cava visualizer as a screensaver in Emulationstation (replaced the "dim" option with "visualizer" under screensavers) - fully controllable with the OGA gamepad
- Added cava-listener.service - this service will activate Cava when there's audio playing
- Separate AntimicroX profiles for Cava/Weston
Do you have Cava integrated well with Kodi in this distribution? Does Kodi on the Odroid Go use ALSA in a similar manner as it would on an Odroid C2 or C4?

I ask since I'm interested in playing with a 128x64 OLED display using mpd_oled on one of those Odroid boards, and it leveraged from C.A.V.A. for its audio data input mechanism:

https://github.com/antiprism/mpd_oled#readme

Per its name, mpd_oled is mostly focused on the MPD audio distributions -- MoOde, Volumio, and Rune. Volumio is available for the C2 and C4, so I thought it at least provided one route for getting things going.

I'm truly just getting started on this -- I don't even have the display in-hand yet. Everything is very Raspberry Pi focused for these audio distributions, so I don't know how straightforward it will be to
  1. get the display alive and communication working and
  2. get audio data from Kodi (or somewhere along the audio path) to form the spectrum display (while not disturbing the actual playback).
If I stay with Kodi, there would be the additional challenge of getting other audio information, like track title, duration, etc. to mpd_oled. Right now, I believe that portion of the program indeed relies upon MPD integration.

On the Kodi forum, resurrecting an old thread, I asked about exposing AudioData to more than just a Visualization addon:

https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?ti ... id2977505

I've also asked for any pointers or suggestions for such a project on the CoreELEC forum:

https://discourse.coreelec.org/t/graphi ... play/12932

but not too much of a response from either place yet. I realize the Odroid Go is likely quite distinct from the C2 and C4, but your distribution combining Kodi with Cava piqued my interest. Any suggestions you might have would be greatly appreciated!

I also have a character LCD display on order, just to play a little with LCDproc in Kodi. Having some form of spectrum display is really my goal, though.

Thanks,
Matt

BowserG
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:37 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go / Odroid Go Advance (ver. 1 and BE)
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by BowserG »

escalade wrote: ↑
Tue Sep 22, 2020 10:16 am
Which wifi dongle is it? There's only a few enabled in this image. If you can tell me the driver name I can enable it.
Hi and thank you. The brand name is the EDUP and it is supposed to be the same as the ODROID model 5 wifi model. The listing on Amazon says that it is "Chipset RTL8811AU - Realtek, Standard IEEE802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, Supports soft AP, USB 2.0 interface, Antenna Type:Internal Omni-directional Antenna."

Here is the Amazon link. Thanks again.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07M6 ... UTF8&psc=1

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35591
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1199 times
Been thanked: 877 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by odroid »

@BowserG,
Can you check the USB VID/PID of the WiFi adapter. Our official module 5A shows 0BDA:A811.

BowserG
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:37 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go / Odroid Go Advance (ver. 1 and BE)
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by BowserG »

odroid wrote: ↑
Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:40 am
@BowserG,
Can you check the USB VID/PID of the WiFi adapter. Our official module 5A shows 0BDA:A811.
Hi. Under Hardware IDs it says VID_0BDA PID_A811. Thanks!

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35591
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1199 times
Been thanked: 877 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by odroid »

Yes, the stock driver in the official kernel should support the same chipset in the WiFi module 5A.

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

New image uploaded:

- Kodi 18.8
- Added RTL8812AU wireless driver
- Separated Weston into two services, one that runs without taskbar to let windows fill the screen
- Firefox entry in "Ports" collection, overhauled button mapping (enter fullscreen with F5, tab on F1, arrows on d-pad)
- Re-arranged control panel
- Kodi on Weston without taskbar
- Added ScummVM initial config with theme/extra paths and fluidsynth set
- Flashback game-speed issue fixed
- Updated libretro cores
- Added urxvt, wmctrl, netplay-mitm-server (these are for testing, may be removed later)
- Fresh new "over the top" bootplash!
header.png
header.png (38.73 KiB) Viewed 992 times
Download link
These users thanked the author escalade for the post (total 2):
EpicGoogle (Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:58 am) • odroid (Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:51 am)
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

Liquidream
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 1:51 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by Liquidream »

Thank you @escalade for adding PICO-8 support to RetroELEC.
I struggled adding this myself a while back (still a bit of a linux noobie!), so this looks awesome.
Can't wait to give it a go! 😁

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

@mattlovell

I think you've got something wrong, there's no integration between Kodi and Cava. Cava is an audio visualizer, normally you connect it to either ALSA or Pulseaudio and it'll visualize the source device of your choosing. Any audio going through that device will be visualized, be it Kodi or any other application.

On the topic of C.A.V.A., I've just uploaded an update that uses Cava's ncurses mode in rxvt to apply a color gradient.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

New image uploaded:

- Removed my Emulationstation visualizer hack
- Modified Cava's sleep timer to also turn off the backlight (sleep kicks in after 10 seconds)
- Added some basic Xresources config and color schema to rxvt and made it the default terminal
- Weston RDP now uses FreeRDP 2.2.0
- Improvements to the start-up sequence of Cava and Weston
- Added progress bars for the auto-installers of certain ports
- DevilutionX now has true wide screen support and fills the OGA's screen
- Samba 4.13.0
- OpenSSL 1.1.1h
- Version bumps for RetroArch/cores
These users thanked the author escalade for the post (total 2):
odroid (Tue Oct 06, 2020 9:09 am) • EpicGoogle (Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:31 am)
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

Really liking this build. It's the only one I see with already-working Kodi, and you keep shoving in extras like Flashback-Reminiscense and all the Quakes.

A few questions if you have time:

1: What's the difference between starting a SCUMMVM or PSP game from the main menu, and going to the "Ports" section, starting SCUMMVM, then starting the game? Does one method save on RAM/resources over the other?

2: How can I update without losing my ROMs and settings? Linux noob, but I made a Linux laptop (Mint) to better interface with my OGABE. So I should be able to follow whatever commands are required.

3: Is the infinity engine still a part of this build? I bought Baldur's Gate 2, but I don't see where to put it. I'm still in the return window... if it doesn't run on the OGABE I don't think I want to play it on the big screen. Seems like a perfect, engrossing travel experience.

4: In Retroarch, if I change the hotkeys and save the config, a file is written to the config folder (for example quicknes_libretro.cfg). But on exit and restart, Retroarch will load retroarch.cfg instead of my preferred cfg file. For now, I've copied the contents of my config file into the default retroarch file, but I assume that'll get wiped out with updates. What's the permanent solution to changing configs in Retroarch?

5: Is there a way to change emulationstation hotkeys as well? I see es_input.cfg, is that the one?

6: I downloaded a theme and put it in storage/.config/emulationstation/themes, following a guide from emulationstation's website. But I can't activate it. Is there a way, or does this build prohibit user themes?

Thanks! I'm aware you're probably doing this in your free time and you don't owe me anything. I'm just having a great time trying to force more and more functionality out of this thing, and your build has been the most fun so far!
These users thanked the author RexDart for the post:
escalade (Thu Oct 08, 2020 11:35 am)

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

1. No difference, some times it's useful to start the frontend without launching a game (just for changing settings for example).

2. Copy the image.gz file to /storage/.update (also available as "Update" through SMB) and reboot.

3. Had to remove it as it doesn't downscale to 480x320.

4. That should work, if you look in /storage/.config/retroarch/config, you will find .cfg overrides for lots of cores included in this image.

5. Yes, you can find it in /storage/.config/emulationstation/es_input.cfg or change it through the menus.

6. You're on an old image, update as it's been fixed.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

Thanks, especially for telling me how to update. Was easy and worked. And it didn't wipe out my config changes!
I found out about Pico 8 because of this build. Awesome.

macifom
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:34 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go, Odroid Go Advance BE
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by macifom »

Huge thanks to escalade for creating and improving these RetroELEC images! They really bring out the potential of the device and brightened up quarantine significantly. I wanted to let you know that I've run into a couple of showstoppers after upgrading to the latest (RetroELEC-OdroidGoAdvance.aarch64-9.2-devel-20201008042823) build.
1) Attempting to launch a PSP game from ES results in '/usr/bin/ppsspp.sh not found'. Trying to launch from within PPSSPP, which will launch from 'Ports' results in a 'Could not load game. Failed to load executable: File corrupt' error.
2) I can no longer cleanly reboot or shut down the device from Emulation Station. The device appears to hang but ultimately drops me back to console with the note 'Failed to reboot system via logind: Connection timed out / Failed to start reboot.target: Connection timed out'. It appears the file system isn't flushed to flash either because all of my ES settings revert when I'm forced to hard shutdown and start up again.
These issues occurred with both an upgrade from an earlier release and a clean flash of the image. I'd much appreciate a fix as I deleted my backups of your earlier builds and I am THIS close to finally beating Persona 3: Portable ;)

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

New image uploaded, fixed missing ppsspp.sh and also RetroArch netplay is fixed. I couldn't reproduce the reboot issue, so I suppose that might be fixed too.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

macifom
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:34 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go, Odroid Go Advance BE
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by macifom »

Thanks for the quick turnaround on the first PPSSPP issue. Unfortunately after PPSSPP launches I'm still getting a the corrupt executable error and the Shutdown / Reboot issue remains. I'm on an Odroid Go Advance BE Rev 1.1 and didn't have this issue on 20200902, the build I was using prior to upgrading yesterday. I'm going to try another SD card just to eliminate that possibility.

macifom
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:34 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go, Odroid Go Advance BE
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by macifom »

No change in behavior on a known good Samsung 32GB SD card. I dug RetroELEC-OdroidGoAdvance.aarch64-9.2-devel-20200902212513-odroidgo2_v11 out of an automated system backup and am using it without issues, but also without the shiny new features :(

supercom32
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:54 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by supercom32 »

Maybe this is a dumb question, but I couldn't find information about how to configure RetroELEC. For example, how do you configure KODI, which I can't seem to find in the menu carousell? Or how do you back out of a game (SMS for example) when it is running? I tried all kinds of button combinations, etc but I wasn't able to figure it out. I also tried running DOSBOX, but couldn't figure out how to enable analog stick as a mouse. I probably need to go into the config menus to change things, but no buttons seem to map to that.

I'm guessing the missing link is maybe I need to plug in a real keyboard and mouse for setup purposes at least once, since not everything can be done via gamepad?

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

@supercom32

There really should be no need for configuring anything. The user expects to be able to just dump the bios files in the correct place and transfer roms. Everything that you see at first boot should be in a proper working state already set up.

You can find Kodi under the "Ports" section, can't believe you missed it :P

Regarding dosbox, I think analog stick mouse emulation can be enabled in core options or similar. It's certainly doable in RetroArch. Don't be afraid to explore a bit and let me know if you see anything that doesn't work like you expect it too. If you feel the need to reset RetroArch configuration there's an option for that in the control panel in "Ports" section.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

@Supercom32

I had trouble with that at first. The way you exit a running game at first is to hit button V + VI together, which takes you to the Retroarch menu, then exit Retroarch. I was able to configure my own exit keys, along with save/load, fastforward, and so on, in settings/input/hotkeys. Then there's another step to make the changes permanent, you can see that solution in my question to escalade above.

If I remember correctly, DOSbox in Retroarch will allow you set your input to the universal settings "Keyboard and mouse" or just "Mouse." If you choose "Keyboard and mouse," Retroarch will not allow the left analog stick to be used as mouse input; it only allows the right analog stick to be mouse, which the OGA doesn't have. You have to choose the "Mouse" input option, which severely limits the versatility of your buttons. It's a big pain.

@escalade

I'm having the same trouble with PPSSPP and "Corrupt file" as the user above. I have another card with Batocera on it, though I prefer your build. The same ISO files do run in Batocera.

supercom32
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:54 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by supercom32 »

@RexDart & @escalade: Thanks for the input. That was incredibly helpful! With the right key combination, I was able to break out of the menus and get to the configuration screens. I would have never guessed it without a keyboard inserted or something (which I didn't have at the time).

In regards to DOSBOX, I'm disappointed that Keyboard & Mouse doesn't support the left analog stick for mapping. It seems like a terrible oversight to artificially restrict button mapping in such a strange way. In fact, I'm kind of curious if anyone actually compiled a new binary that fixes this, since surely I can't imagine we're the only people who hate this limitation?

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

@RexDart

Really weird, I can't reproduce here on 20201010131051. God of War and Sega Rally Revo launches fine. I haven't tested on a clean memory card, but can't see what would be the issue. Anything in the logs?
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

@escalade

You know, this morning I tried with a few more files. Little Big Planet launched. Metal Gear Solid Portable launched (Unplayable framerate though). But Tactics Ogre and Mega Man Powered up failed with a "corrupt file" error, and both of those did start under the Batocera build.
It might just be my inexperience with PPSSPP. I'm trying to sort out the issues that I should be solving myself, and issues that actually concern your build.
Where are the logs stored?

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

@supercom32
I took another look, and here's what it is specifically:

Retroarch lets you choose a "device type." If you choose "gamepad" or "joystick," it will emulate a mouse with the left joystick BUT it will not let you input keyboard commands on the other buttons. It only offers you gamepad or joystick buttons. If you choose the "keyboard and mouse" input type, you are able to map buttons to any keyboard key, BUT Retroarch will not use the left joystick for mouse input.

It's not a problem with any of the builds on this forum, it's a limitation of Retroarch+DOSbox. It might be easy enough to fix with a config file, I just don't know where it is. I'd like to find it, though, because we also need an onscreen keyboard in dosbox and scummvm.

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

All emulator frontends log to files under /var/log. There's also the "Logfiles" SMB share that will automatically generate a zipfile containing every log there is, and you can view logs from the control panel under "Ports".

I build ppsspp from git, there could be issues from time to time. I'm wondering if there's any point in having ppsspp, it's far too heavy for the OGA to run any relevant games at full speed. I know there's a ppsspp/libgo2 port, but I haven't tried it myself. Anyone know how it runs in comparison?
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

macifom
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:34 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go, Odroid Go Advance BE
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by macifom »

escalade wrote: ↑
Mon Oct 12, 2020 9:13 am
I'm wondering if there's any point in having ppsspp, it's far too heavy for the OGA to run any relevant games at full speed. I know there's a ppsspp/libgo2 port, but I haven't tried it myself. Anyone know how it runs in comparison?
Whoa there! With the proper settings I haven't found any PSP games that WON'T run at nearly full speed. Turn on auto frameskip, Vsync, 2-4x anisotropic filtering and possibly a few other minor tweaks I'm forgetting and most games play perfectly well. As I said, I've nearly beaten Persona 3: Portable on it and apart from the occasional hiccup, performance is not noticeably different from on my old PSP-2000.

It seems likely that PPSSPP git master is currently semi-broken.

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

Well, I did say "full" speed :) Personally I don't care much for emulation if it can't be done accurately, and frame skipping certainly isn't very accurate.

New image have been uploaded, now with Diablo: Hellfire support!
These users thanked the author escalade for the post (total 2):
odroid (Tue Oct 13, 2020 10:21 am) • EpicGoogle (Wed Oct 14, 2020 4:47 am)
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

RexDart
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 1:39 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid go advance be
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by RexDart »

PPSSPP certainly can be pretty heavy, but not all games require so much muscle. I just gave the Emuelec build a try and it runs PSP games fairly well. It is interesting that between Batocera, Emuelec, and Retroelec, the same game might work or not, and might run well or not. For example, NFS Most Wanted doesn't start on Batocera, doesn't run well on Retroelec, and is barely playable on Emuelec. I'm testing with six games, and only Emuelec has actually run all six. But it's definitely worth keeping for the 2d or lite 3d games on PSP.

Again, I'm not diving into core configurations here, so there's probably a way to get consistent performance from each build.

escalade
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 pm
languages_spoken: english and norwegian
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: RetroELEC for the Odroid Go Advance (AArch64)

Post by escalade »

Your tests are inaccurate, you are simply not taking into account differences in build time options, core configuration, versions, etc. The same software will perform pretty much the same on any distribution. Shanti might build with an older PPSSPP version, or he might use the libgo2 tree from Crashoverride. Maybe he's adding a default configuration that optimizes performance, I don't know. There's no magic going into any of the available images that will make them perform any better, given that they aren't bogged down with heavy services. If PPSSPP is running faster in his image, the same modifications could be done in mine and vice versa. I'm building from the default git tree with the latest and "greatest" code. I am aware that the consensus is older versions perform better on weak hardware though.
Maintainer of RetroELEC (XU4 / OGA / x86_64)

Post Reply

Return to β€œProjects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Erol and 0 guests