G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post Reply
mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Hi,
Switched from PIE32 to PIE64. Google Maps acts weird...
Zoom in works ok, but if I try to pan, it resets to default view i.e. zooms out to max.


Tried both pie_64_20190927 and pie_64_20191018

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by codewalker »

I tried to use a touchsceen (VU7) and a mouse. It didn't work that you said.
But when it worked well on Google Photo app, I tried to pan a image.

Is it bug in the Google Maps?

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

codewalker wrote:
Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:35 pm
Is it bug in the Google Maps?
I do not think so.

I tried older versions of gmaps in PIE64 (mouse/keyb/touch) - same result. But all works OK in PIE32.

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Installed pie_64_20191025 - same issue :(

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Found a clue... The issue exists only in certain resolutions. Tested some of them:
480p - OK
720p - OK
1080p - OK
800x600p - fail
1024x600p - fail
1024x768p - fail
1280x800p - fail
1600x900p - fail

I've got HSD080IFW1 1024x600 display.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 8039
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 724 times
Been thanked: 254 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by rooted »

Seems it doesn't support nonstandard resolution.

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by codewalker »

We released new ODROID-N2 firmware for 32-bit android.

https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-n2/os_im ... _201901028

we don't know why Google maps work so far yet.

If you don't need Android 64-bit, Try this version.
These users thanked the author codewalker for the post:
rooted (Tue Oct 29, 2019 7:01 am)

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Ok. Went bak to 32bit version.
G-Maps app works OK in 20191028.
Thank you!

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Since 32bit Android images are not supported anymore, I'd like to "resurrect" the issue.
Please fix it =)

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by codewalker »

I'm sorry. I couldn't help it.
How about you report a bug to google development team?
mr1173 wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:21 am
Since 32bit Android images are not supported anymore, I'd like to "resurrect" the issue.
Please fix it =)

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by codewalker »

I've installed Chrome browser and Google Maps Go and it worked without zoom out problem when dragging.

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

Maps Go do work, but they are ugly :)
I just hope that I'm not the only one who likes to use GMaps for navigation in CarDroid setup.
BTW: Same issue in x64 LineageOS 16/17.1 by voodik

mr1173
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 3:35 pm
languages_spoken: english, russian
ODROIDs: C1+/C2x2/N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by mr1173 »

FYI: Looks like Google gods have heard my prayers (and bug reports) and finally fixed the issue. Latest Google Maps (10.52.2) works fine on x64 (20200924) in 1024x600 resolution.
(gmaps 10.47.1 does not work)
These users thanked the author mr1173 for the post:
odroid (Tue Oct 13, 2020 9:40 am)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35591
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1199 times
Been thanked: 877 times
Contact:

Re: G-Maps in PIE64 issues

Post by odroid »

Glad to hear that finally. :)
Thank you for sharing the good news.

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests