[SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post Reply
squitel
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:45 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Two ODroid H2+ cards
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

[SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by squitel »

Dear Hardkernel support,

I recently received two Odroid H2+ 5Rev B+) bought from your web store (along with the official 15V/4A PSU).
I wanted to do the initial installation, so I connected the following hardware to each board:
- 2 x Crucial 8GB DDR4 SO-DIMM CT8G4SFS824A 2400 CL17 (Confirmed by @powerful owl on https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardware/ram)
- Kingston A2000 M.2 NVMe SSD (250GB, M.2 2280) SA2000M8/250G
- usb keyboard, mouse and a monitor

When I plug in the DC power cable, on the board the two blue and the red LED light up permanently (solid) and nothing happens nor is shown on the monitor (even after several minutes).

My two Odroids H2+ behave the same so I do not suspect a hardware issue.
I've tried:
- with two different hdmi monitors (different cables) and one Display Port monitor
- only with a single RAM module installed (tried different modules, one at a time on both slots upper/lower on both Odroid cards)
- with or without NVMe SSD
- with or without bootable USB key
- with or without the small battery provided
- with or without an Ethernet cable plugged in
- to remove the cmos battery for a cople of minutes to reset the bios
- to press the power button or reset button (if I press the power button for 5 seconds, all 3 leds go off, then back solid on ; and if I press the reset button, one of the blue leds brieffly goes off before going solid on again)
- to press [Suppr] on keyboard when powering on

Nothing worked and the behaviour is allways the same (nothing is shown on the monitor), on each board.

As written on https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardw ... _alive_led page, as long as a RAM module is detected and supported, the Odroid H2+ should boot, at least into Bios. For me it's not the case despite the fact that my RAM module are supposed to be fully supported (see above).

I'm afraid I'm in a dead end.
Does someone have something to suggest please?
Thank you very much in advance.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35266
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by odroid »

We've shipped around 2,000 H2+ boards after launching it a couple of weeks ago. But there was no hardware failure yet as far as I heard.
So I believe your both two H2+ boards shouldn't be dead on arrival at the same time.

Anyway, I think you already did as much as you could and I guess a new production batch of the Crucial DRAM module seems not to be compatible (just an assumption).
Can you please borrow any other DDR4 SO-DIMM module from other laptops or neighbors to narrow down root causes?

powerful owl
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2 x HC1, 3 x H2, 1 x H2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by powerful owl »

squitel wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:48 am
I wanted to do the initial installation, so I connected the following hardware to each board:
- 2 x Crucial 8GB DDR4 SO-DIMM CT8G4SFS824A 2400 CL17 (Confirmed by @powerful owl on https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardware/ram)
It's weird that I had no issues with this RAM module but others do. I will try mine with H2+ in the next couple of days.

squitel
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:45 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Two ODroid H2+ cards
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by squitel »

Thank you odroid and powerful owl for your answers. ;)

@odroid:

I did not suspect a hardware problem as I have the exact same issue with both cards. I agree on the fact that it might be a slight change in the production batch of the Crucial DRAM modules that led to an incompatibility.
As I cannot borrow other DDR4 SO-DIMM modules I just bought two different models to test on the Odroid board (however I should receive them on July, 15th only because of Covid associated delays).
Obviously I'll share the results of these tests here.

@powerful owl:
Thank you for testing, I do really appreciate. However the assumption regarding the possible new incompatible production batch of these RAM modules may explain why it works for you who (I guess) bought yours a while ago and not for me who bought it recently...
My RAM modules are labeled as follows:
Crucial CT8G4SFS824A.C8FBD1
8GB DDR4-2400 SODIMM 1.2V CL17

Thanks again ; I'll keep you updated.
These users thanked the author squitel for the post:
domih (Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:15 am)

squitel
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:45 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Two ODroid H2+ cards
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by squitel »

Hi,

I can confirm that my Crucial RAM modules (Crucial CT8G4SFS824A.C8FBD1 8GB DDR4-2400 SODIMM 1.2V CL17) were the root cause of my boot problem. It seems they are no more compatible with ODroid H2+ unfortunately.

I've tested with two other RAM modules and both are working correctly (Bios version 1.1.0).

Hereunder are the references of these two types of RAM modules that are OK:

SAMSUNG S24ZA1094334DF88A9 1943
1x4GB
1Rx16 PC4-2400T-SC0-11
M471A5244CB0 - CRC

(Kingston) HYPER X HX424S14IB2K2/16
2x8GB
DDR4 - 2400 CL14 260 SODIMM
DPMK0842003
99U5700 - 007 - A00LF

Thank you very much for your answers.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35266
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by odroid »

Glad to hear that.
We've added CT8G4SFS824A.C8FBD1 in the incompatible list. https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardw ... am_modules

powerful owl
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2 x HC1, 3 x H2, 1 x H2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by powerful owl »

Maybe it's related to the country/plant of manufacture? These are the ones I have, they are now working in H2+ also (altho I'm currently still runnimg full memtest)
Odroid H2 memory cropped.jpg
Odroid H2 memory cropped.jpg (163.48 KiB) Viewed 491 times

squitel
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:45 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: Two ODroid H2+ cards
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by squitel »

I suppose that while they are both Crucial CT8G4SFS824A, mine are .C8FBD1 while yours are .M8FD.
This might be the explanation...

powerful owl
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2 x HC1, 3 x H2, 1 x H2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by powerful owl »

Must be. I bought these maybe a year ago, however I suppose I should not buy any more in case of same issues as you experienced.

memtest86 on these modules completed without error

Anyway, glad you got things sorted out. OT Linux Mint 20 on 4k screen from H2+ looks gorgeous, a bit slower than i5 on window operations but fine enough.

User avatar
galvatr0n.ver5
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 2:43 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2 4gb x 2
odroid h2+ w/16gb ram + 1tb nvme
odroid n2+ 4gb w/64gb emmc
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 23 times
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by galvatr0n.ver5 »

squitel wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:44 am
I suppose that while they are both Crucial CT8G4SFS824A, mine are .C8FBD1 while yours are .M8FD.
This might be the explanation...
same her.... 16gb - two 8gb modules
no probs on my end either

Impetus
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:46 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by Impetus »

Hello,
Unfortunately, I think I can relate to this issue.
Just received my H2+, much excited.
One week ago, after checking the incompatibility list, I ordered one 16Go Crucial dual rank RAM (CT16G4SFD824A.C16FDD1)
Too bad, nothing on screen with the 3 solid leds on the side of the board, as described previously.

I'm buying a new one, I'll keep you posted and let's hope it could help someone else to make a better choice of RAM.
Not sure what's the best brand to have less chance to experiment such issue, maybe samsung?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35266
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by odroid »

As far as I've seen, Samsung RAM had no issue so far.

Impetus
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 3:46 am
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: H2+
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Odroid H2+ new install: nothing shown on monitor / does not boot

Post by Impetus »

Took me some time to finish my installation and have a proper feedback to make after buying new RAM modules, because I went on holidays, but here what I got:

The Samsung 16go was either expensive or too long to deliver for me.
I read a bit the forum, and it seems some brands can be ok with only one 16go module, but may not work with 2, while I was planning to upgrade it up to 32go later... So I decided to try a 2x16go kit directly.

I tried the (Kingston) HyperX Impact DDR4 HX424S14IBK2/32 (so CAS 14, not 15) that was listed as ok in the compatibility list.
And they worked.
Though, the first boot was quite long without nothing on screen, several seconds, and I thought first that they were not working. It boots faster (normally, I would say) since.
I installed a Windows 10 on my H2+, that I started using as a media center and cloud gaming station, and it seems to work well.
These users thanked the author Impetus for the post:
odroid (Mon Sep 14, 2020 10:34 am)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests