Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post Reply
Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

I purchased an Odroid N2 from a vendor that told me it was the 4 GB version but I am only getting 1910 MB of ram as shown by my command line below:

Image

I am using Ubuntu MATE 18.04.4.

Is there a way to check on the board itself if it is the 4 GB or 2 GB version? Should I send it back? If so, how can I prove that this is the wrong board?

Edit: Here are pictures of my device:
ImageImage
It looks like the RAM part number is SEC 828 k4a8g165wc-bctd. Looking up the ram chips brings me to this datasheet: https://www.arrow.com/en/products/k4a8g ... lectronics which states that they are actually 8 GB chips, which makes no sense to me.

But judging by how the stickers say "4G", I'm inclined to think that this is indeed the 4GB Odroid N2.
So maybe Ubuntu Mate is reserving 2 GB of RAM for...something? Is there a way to check?

Sentilix
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:54 pm
languages_spoken: English, Danish
ODROIDs: C1+, C2, U3, XU4+CS2, HC1, H2, GO!
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Sentilix »

8GB chips means 8 GBit = 1GByte. So two of those chips could mean you have a 2 Gb version of the board.
These users thanked the author Sentilix for the post:
Master_Shake (Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:10 pm)

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

Sentilix wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:41 pm
8GB chips means 8 GBit = 1GByte. So two of those chips could mean you have a 2 Gb version of the board.
Nice catch there. However, it seems the N2 actually has four RAM chips, according to the images below (there are four areas labelled "B", two at the top and two at the bottom where "B" is a ram chip). That would mean there are four 1 gigabyte chips, would it not? Or am I misunderstanding the diagram?
ImageImage

Can anybody confirm if they have the 2 GB or 4 GB version and how much RAM they are getting and how they measured it?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7974
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 724 times
Been thanked: 243 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by rooted »

Code: Select all

CoreELEC:~ # free -h
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          3.6Gi       452Mi       2.7Gi        12Mi       523Mi       3.1Gi
Swap:            0B          0B          0B
These users thanked the author rooted for the post:
Master_Shake (Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:10 pm)

powerful owl
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 2 x HC1, 3 x H2, 1 x H2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 17 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by powerful owl »

Master_Shake wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:57 am
Nice catch there. However, it seems the N2 actually has four RAM chips, according to the images below (there are four areas labelled "B", two at the top and two at the bottom where "B" is a ram chip). That would mean there are four 1 gigabyte chips, would it not? Or am I misunderstanding the diagram?
Do you have two RAM chips on the bottom of your board? (As well as the top.)
These users thanked the author powerful owl for the post:
Master_Shake (Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:13 pm)

mad_ady
Posts: 8458
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 461 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by mad_ady »

That would be difficult to see without removing the heatsink. But I think the 2GB model uses 4 memory chips as well, but of different type? I could be wrong. Best to wait for an official answer (and try the official ubuntu, just in case).
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
Master_Shake (Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:10 pm)

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

powerful owl wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:01 pm
Master_Shake wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 9:57 am
Nice catch there. However, it seems the N2 actually has four RAM chips, according to the images below (there are four areas labelled "B", two at the top and two at the bottom where "B" is a ram chip). That would mean there are four 1 gigabyte chips, would it not? Or am I misunderstanding the diagram?
Do you have two RAM chips on the bottom of your board? (As well as the top.)

mad_ady wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 3:58 pm
That would be difficult to see without removing the heatsink. But I think the 2GB model uses 4 memory chips as well, but of different type? I could be wrong. Best to wait for an official answer (and try the official ubuntu, just in case).
I removed the heatsink and there were chips under there covered in thermal paste. I am new here, do official HardKernel engineers check these forums? An official answer would be nice.
I posted in the Ubuntu topic, link: viewtopic.php?f=177&t=39502.
Last edited by Master_Shake on Sat Jul 04, 2020 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

rooted wrote:
Sat Jul 04, 2020 2:34 pm

Code: Select all

CoreELEC:~ # free -h
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:          3.6Gi       452Mi       2.7Gi        12Mi       523Mi       3.1Gi
Swap:            0B          0B          0B
I see you have the CoreELEC version but are getting the correct 4 GB of RAM. Thx for sharing, but mine isn't coreELEC.

mad_ady
Posts: 8458
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 461 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by mad_ady »

Yes, they check the forums, but less frequently on the weekend.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35266
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by odroid »

@Master_Shake.

Can you please post a picture of the PCB bottom side?
If there are four K4A8G165 DRAM chips on the board, you must have a 4GB version.

Even if the physical DRAM size is 4GB and OS reports only 2GB, there could be a uncertain hardware problem.
Where/when did you purchase your N2 board?

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

odroid wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:20 am
@Master_Shake.

Can you please post a picture of the PCB bottom side?
If there are four K4A8G165 DRAM chips on the board, you must have a 4GB version.

Even if the physical DRAM size is 4GB and OS reports only 2GB, there could be a uncertain hardware problem.
Where/when did you purchase your N2 board?
ImageImage

There are four kwa8G16 chips so it must be the 4 GB version. I am running Ubuntu mate, which I got from here: https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-n2/os_images/ubuntu. This is supposed to be the officially supported version of Ubuntu for the Odroid N2. Why would it not support the full 4 GB RAM? It was not specified anywhere. Even an old 32-bit operating system can support 4 GB. Is there a different ubuntu operating system that will work? Do you please have a link to an Ubuntu operating system that will support the 4 GB RAM on the Odroid N2?

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 128 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by joerg »

odroid wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:20 am
Even if the physical DRAM size is 4GB and OS reports only 2GB, there could be a uncertain hardware problem.
Where/when did you purchase your N2 board?
@Master_Shake, it seems this is a hardware failure and you should ask your vendor for warranty replacement. Because of this @odroid asked you. ;)
Maybe he has not seen that you already wrote that you purchased the N2 at a vendor and not directly from Hardkernel.

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

joerg wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:48 am
odroid wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:20 am
Even if the physical DRAM size is 4GB and OS reports only 2GB, there could be a uncertain hardware problem.
Where/when did you purchase your N2 board?
@Master_Shake, it seems this is a hardware failure and you should ask your vendor for warranty replacement. Because of this @odroid asked you. ;)
Maybe he has not seen that you already wrote that you purchased the N2 at a vendor and not directly from Hardkernel.
It is unlikely to be a hardware failure but I'll consider it if you can help me out with selecting an OS. I am using Ubuntu mate from this link: https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-n2/os_images/ubuntu
Do you have this operating system installed and is it showing 4 GB of RAM? Do you have a link to another Ubuntu operating system I should try on my N2?

User avatar
joerg
Posts: 1149
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:14 am
languages_spoken: german, english, español
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2, N1, N2, C4
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 128 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by joerg »

I have Armbian with 4.9 kernel installed:

Code: Select all

  ___      _           _     _   _   _ ____  
 / _ \  __| |_ __ ___ (_) __| | | \ | |___ \ 
| | | |/ _` | '__/ _ \| |/ _` | |  \| | __) |
| |_| | (_| | | | (_) | | (_| | | |\  |/ __/ 
 \___/ \__,_|_|  \___/|_|\__,_| |_| \_|_____|
                                             
Welcome to Armbian Bionic with Linux 4.9.205-meson64

System load:   1.61 1.57 1.37  	Up time:       5:47 hours		
Memory usage:  24 % of 3709MB 	IP:            192.168.1.51
CPU temp:      39°C           	
Usage of /:    49% of 15G    	


0 Software-Pakete können aktualisiert werden.
0 Aktualisierungen sind Sicherheitsaktualisierungen.

free --mega
              Gesamt   belegt    frei        gemns. Puffer/Cache verfügbar
Speicher:        3798         904        1543         121        1350        2734
Auslagerungsspeicher:        1048           0        1048
You can find it on the Armbian site:
https://www.armbian.com/odroid-n2/
These users thanked the author joerg for the post:
Master_Shake (Wed Jul 08, 2020 7:19 am)

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

joerg wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:08 am
I have Armbian with 4.9 kernel installed:

Code: Select all

  ___      _           _     _   _   _ ____  
 / _ \  __| |_ __ ___ (_) __| | | \ | |___ \ 
| | | |/ _` | '__/ _ \| |/ _` | |  \| | __) |
| |_| | (_| | | | (_) | | (_| | | |\  |/ __/ 
 \___/ \__,_|_|  \___/|_|\__,_| |_| \_|_____|
                                             
Welcome to Armbian Bionic with Linux 4.9.205-meson64

System load:   1.61 1.57 1.37  	Up time:       5:47 hours		
Memory usage:  24 % of 3709MB 	IP:            192.168.1.51
CPU temp:      39°C           	
Usage of /:    49% of 15G    	


0 Software-Pakete können aktualisiert werden.
0 Aktualisierungen sind Sicherheitsaktualisierungen.

free --mega
              Gesamt   belegt    frei        gemns. Puffer/Cache verfügbar
Speicher:        3798         904        1543         121        1350        2734
Auslagerungsspeicher:        1048           0        1048
You can find it on the Armbian site:
https://www.armbian.com/odroid-n2/
Thx. I just installed Armbian, still less than 2 GB ram. All I do is I flash an OS to an SD card using Etcher and a USB SD card reader. Then I start up the system and I never have more than 2 GB ram, what could be going wrong...

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 5878
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 718 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by tobetter »

If you had 4GB with CoreELEC version on your ODROID-N2, definitely it's not a hardware problem but OS issue. Please try to run Hardkernel's stock Ubuntu image and check if you can have 4GB for sure. If so and you want to run Armbian, you should replace U-boot image after installing Armbian.
https://github.com/hardkernel/u-boot/re ... 132.tar.gz

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 35266
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 1074 times
Been thanked: 821 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by odroid »

I believe the board has a hardware problem something like a cold soldering issue.

Please contact "odroid at hardkernel dot com" with a URL link of this thread.
They will help you if you purchased the board from our web-store directly.
Otherwise, contact your local distributor/reseller.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
Master_Shake (Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:08 pm)

Master_Shake
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by Master_Shake »

tobetter wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:29 am
If you had 4GB with CoreELEC version on your ODROID-N2, definitely it's not a hardware problem but OS issue. Please try to run Hardkernel's stock Ubuntu image and check if you can have 4GB for sure. If so and you want to run Armbian, you should replace U-boot image after installing Armbian.
https://github.com/hardkernel/u-boot/re ... 132.tar.gz
I tried Ubuntu mate and Ubuntu minimum, which I got from the wiki here: https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-n2/os_images/ubuntu. Both showed < 2GB RAM. What makes you say it is definitely an OS issue with CoreELEC versions? I just have a regular N2 but I'm still curious.

mad_ady
Posts: 8458
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 461 times
Contact:

Re: Only getting 2GB ram out of 4GB version

Post by mad_ady »

As far as I know uboot (which is part of the os flashed) does ram detection. You can also try to boot from spi (petitboot) and see if there is any difference.
But it sounds like one bank of ram chips is bad and thus disabled.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests