Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post Reply
rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:42 am

I'm with trouble with my android C2 and samsung tv 46"(tested in a 21"dell monitor too).

my version board as rev 0.2 20160226

The blue light goes ok but the intermittent pulse are changing...
When the logo of “hardkernel” appears the image gonna flickering and only stabilize when I go to android apps menu!
The image stops flickering (on - off - on -off tottaly) when in odroid utility
I’m using power supply 5v 2a, changed to a usb in a apple ipad power adapter (15a) and only a mouse in a usb and ethernet plugged

Has a 64gb emmc too and android 6.0.1 (already test ubuntu and other os) but the same result still on the screen...





Please someone can help?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Thu Mar 26, 2020 9:57 am

Remove J1 jumper and let us know the result.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-c2/hardw ... wer_enable

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:26 am

without the jumper sometimes the red led don't come, sometimes work,
with a OTG power supply 5v 2A - same problem

Taked off the emmc 64g and trying a SD card and still flikering

I guess seems something about a HDMI (changed the cable 5x for a 5 different cables too)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:57 am

Do you have a DMM to measure voltage on the 5.0V power rail of 40pin IO header? It must be stable at 4.8Volt~5.2Volt in the booting process.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-c2/hardw ... connectors

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:07 pm

Wow! I’ll do that at morning (midnight here in Brazil!)

Thank you for your help at now

I’ll be back!

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:38 pm

Saddly news

0.87v in 40th pin 🥺

If has a component to change or something else I can do (I can change here a bga or complex parts). It’s about impossible send the board to korea and take back to brazil now

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:49 am

What happened?
Did you measure the voltage between Pin#6 and Pin#2?
Image
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
rubensx (Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:31 am)

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:16 pm

4.97v but won’t boot forever in looping

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:20 pm

Sometimes oscillation has 4.67~5.12

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:29 pm

Voltage drop could cause the boot loop problem.
Try using a thicker and shorter DC cable.

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:33 pm

It never pass of booting process, still same on the video issue, looping in hardkernel first screen, flikering and sometimes goes to “android” name and after reboot

No voltage drop in this clycle and has tried:

- emmc with android (video from youtube above)
- emmc with ubuntu (nothing happens, don’t boot and don’t blink blue led)
- sd with android (last try, looping same as youtube video)
- sd ubuntu boot looping too

I’m using dc power supply in micro-usb otg port (same problem in barrel jack comector and another power supply)

This C2 maybe burned the voltage regulator or, hdmi communication, something else...

Frustrating

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:15 pm

There are many similar PSU or DC cable examples in this forum.
For example, viewtopic.php?f=99&t=37550&p=279430#p279894

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:36 pm

Ok let’s be objective here!

No, is NOT the power supply or cables of the power supply, or hdmi cables or jumper j1 on or off (it’s always the 2 years same cables, power supply and config as ever)

No, is not a significant fallen ground or something else, not too scratches or something else

This board stops for nothing! Really, believe in me nothing happens anormal or take off his acrylic case with his rtc board and config in 2 years enclosed in...

Has a datasheet of this board or something to investigate more deeply now or we will go to other 9 replys here saying the obviously cables, voltages, jumper or something else as normal user can do? And yes, I do it all before 4x, cables and power and usb power, and this things more common before post here.

Leave this C2 alone and bought another board?

I have here ways to solve this problem electronically, soldering or change components...

Can you say a probably responsible for this issue like a hdmi control chip (most probably is fried by a hdmi) or something?

Researched in forum, various c2 board has the same likely trouble “boot loop”

Please don’t take me wrong, but the common ways don’t work and I really not happy with a this “bullet proof” board now

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7914
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 502 times
Been thanked: 350 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by mad_ady » Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:18 am

The power supply suggestion is not that bad. Even if it worked, the components in the psu can age and degrade in time. You could try powering it via the microusb port to bypass the psu.
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
rubensx (Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:31 am)

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:53 am

hi Mad, thank you for your help too

Yes I'm use (not in video) 6 types of power supply:

1- jack barrel 5v 2a
2- microusb 5v 2a (poor quality)
3- microusb 5v 2A (good quality - the same power supply I'm using for 2 years)
4- a multi voltage psu used in arduino projects with 5a
5- a 12v to 5v DC to DC 5a used in carpc/odroid project
6- ipad psu 5v 15a apple psu

All psu above are tested in alternate tests microusb or a jack barrel plug
Yes I'm know about degraded components and do this 12 alternate tests with adapters to change between microusb and barrel jack in the same PSU. Also tried to use power from a macbook pro over usb...
In fact only a difference makes is a 5 hdmi cables and one hdmi to vga DELL adapter...

no lucky

Odroid suggest are great about pin 2 from GPIO to measure corret voltage values, and seems normal (the boot process are looping before the android system comes up, and during all hardkernel bootup logo flickering and... loop... ) and the voltages is not constantly but, 4.8 to 5.2 in all looping boot process

Also tested:

changed from emmc to sd card and same problema happens...


My guests:

- A Power estabilizer from USB controller
- A hdmi processor are fried or damaged (it's my real fear)
- SOC processor are damaged by temperature (original heatsink and never touched


My new project with this board are a LCD cluster dash in a '95 civic coupé using realdash and another interfaces with arduino signal conversion... I'm found my old C2 retired and stored in my desk to candidate for this (for a tests I'm using android x86 in a LG 10.1" netbook) and obvious, C2 are much more capable and fit... but... maybe is the end

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7914
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 502 times
Been thanked: 350 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by mad_ady » Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:45 pm

In that case maybe you should try an sd/emmc flashed with ubuntu. See if it boots. If it does, try to run some stress tests - it would at least validate power and soc stability.

rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:27 pm

Ubuntu same problem

All PSU work fine in other boards like raspiberry, in odroid, if you saw my video in first post, the looping can’t leave me measure much more

Still waiting if someone has a board datasheet to help me benchmark some components

Can someone help?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7914
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 502 times
Been thanked: 350 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by mad_ady » Sat Mar 28, 2020 11:45 pm


rubensx
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:53 am
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: C2
Location: Brazil, São Paulo
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by rubensx » Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:15 pm

guive it up, thank you odroid and mad, I'm leaving Odroid plataform and going to other board

thank you

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34162
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 682 times
Been thanked: 619 times
Contact:

Re: Odroid C2 looping at boot

Post by odroid » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:04 am

rubensx wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:20 pm
Sometimes oscillation has 4.67~5.12
I still have a concern about your PSU since the output voltage was not stable.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests