Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post Reply
timleg002
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2020 2:47 am
languages_spoken: english, slovak
ODROIDs: noke
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post by timleg002 » Sun Feb 02, 2020 2:48 am

Looking to make the Odroid N2 4GB my alternate coding station. I want to code in JetBrains' IDEs. Is it worthwhile to use the Odroid? Thanks.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 34142
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean, Japanese
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 675 times
Been thanked: 614 times
Contact:

Re: Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post by odroid » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:55 am

I think the IDE(IntelliJ?) should work once you install Oracle JDK8 for Aarch64.
But I have no idea how it works well.

jgmdev
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:28 pm
languages_spoken: english, spanish
ODROIDs: U2, N2, C4
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post by jgmdev » Mon Feb 03, 2020 3:06 pm

Using vim here with https://github.com/prabirshrestha/vim-lsp and some other plugins to get an IDE like environment and works perfectly!

jgmdev
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:28 pm
languages_spoken: english, spanish
ODROIDs: U2, N2, C4
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post by jgmdev » Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:34 am

Found out that a vscode binary distribution named vscodium which disables telemetry and MS branding has aarch64/arm64 builds of the editor. After testing it on the N2 performance is perfect under a large code base with LSP enabled, and memory usage doesn't seems to exceed 1GB. One can really get work done with it :)

https://github.com/VSCodium/vscodium
These users thanked the author jgmdev for the post:
mad_ady (Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:52 am)

ASword
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 12:48 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, HC1, 2x N2
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Coding on Odroid N2 4GB?

Post by ASword » Sat Mar 07, 2020 1:36 am

The N2 would have been an extremely powerful workstation 15 years ago, and IDEs/etc have been around for a lot longer than that. I have an SSD for swap space on my N2, just in case memory usage temporarily spikes (although I run CLion on my Mac and just compile remotely on the N2).

Post Reply

Return to “Ubuntu”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest