Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Post Reply
User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7113
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 308 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by mad_ady » Sat Dec 28, 2019 2:57 am

I'm speculating here (and hope not to enrage the designers) but what about having an onboard hdmi port and some hardware switch that allows you to toggle output (with a reboot) between onboard lcd and a hdmi display (presumably larger). That would allow better use when near a screen (and not mobile).

Regarding cost - most of the hardware bits should be already part of the board - except the hdmi port and maybe the hdmi controller. I have no idea how much the price would change, but I'm guesstimating it might be around 10$.

Any plans/ideas to implement this in a future version?

(Sorry for always being unsatisfied...) :)


pmprog
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:01 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-GO
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by pmprog » Sun Dec 29, 2019 10:56 pm

I don't know the internal of Linux very well, but I have done some FPGA in generating VGA signals. It might be possible to write a driver that takes the frame buffer and outputs to a VGA connector. There'd be some colour loss, as you'd only be able to output 8bits worth of colour (probably 3R3G2B) and two pins for Horizontal Sync and Vertical Sync.

It'd require a small board as well to convert the RGB digital into analogue and fix the voltage levels, but should be possible.

You can get VGA/Audio to HDMI converters, so you could stick that on the end... Alternatively, it might be possible to add the HDMI out and Audio in onto the "video output" board too, and automatically mix the signals out of both VGA and HDMI ports

In fact, you could almost make it a "docking station" if you added a USB hub in too

I'm not sure where to even start to look at the software side of the this though, but it'd make an interesting project :)

Sotz
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:40 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by Sotz » Mon Dec 30, 2019 1:01 am

I highly doubt it. Even if it were "only" $10, that's about a 20% price increase

maker_gamer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:50 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid Go, Odroid Go Advanced (preordered)
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by maker_gamer » Thu Jan 09, 2020 2:46 pm

What about having TRRS plug to output the classic Composite (the yellow plug) so we could plug in a TRRS > Y/R/W cable to a TV? That would be *awesome*.

Then maybe plug in a second Controller via USB to you can play 2 player games on the TV. :-D

ripper121
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by ripper121 » Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:19 pm

I dont think that HDMI is possible, there is no HDMI Interface.
Or I cant find it.
Image


This Chip RK3399 shows on Page 15 how it should look like with HDMI Interface.
http://opensource.rock-chips.com/images ... 170420.pdf

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7113
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 308 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by mad_ady » Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:45 pm

Yeah, sorry, initially I thought they were doing hdmi to lcd, so I thought there might be a way to route video to an extra connector easily.

User avatar
cdu13a
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:33 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C2, XU4, HC1, N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 40 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by cdu13a » Thu Jan 09, 2020 6:55 pm

ripper121 wrote:
Thu Jan 09, 2020 5:19 pm
I dont think that HDMI is possible, there is no HDMI Interface.
Or I cant find it.
You are not missing anything there is no HDMI on the soc. It could be possible to use a DSI to HDMI chip to add it, but it would be a rather deep rabbit hole to go down, with all sorts of issues and disadvantages to work around on the way.

kamots
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:05 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-GO, C1+, ODROID-GO Advance
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by kamots » Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:15 pm

https://www.amazon.com/Converter-Multip ... 07WTN45ZM/

800x600 supposedly over USB 2.0 :D

....I should make it clear this is a joke. Even if you could get it working performance would be garbage except on the most simple things to emulate. This SOC does have 4 cores to work with, but it would likely use 2 of them just to output some sort of software-rendered video to a USB device.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:33 pm

Perhaps casting the display would be possible, something like moonlight.

crashoverride
Posts: 4630
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 152 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by crashoverride » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:36 am

The block diagram posted above shows "1080p Video Encoder". It is definitely possible to "cast" the screen to another device.
These users thanked the author crashoverride for the post:
rooted (Sun Jan 12, 2020 9:10 am)

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Sun Jan 12, 2020 9:09 am

crashoverride wrote:The block diagram posted above shows "1080p Video Encoder". It is definitely possible to "cast" the screen to another device.
It is a versatile low power SoC, I'm impressed how long the battery lasts with the display at full brightness with WiFi enabled.

Maybe someone with the right knowledge will figure something out.

kelbot
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 12:05 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC2 x2, Go
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by kelbot » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:23 pm

Plus you could turn off the backlight when "casting" to save a lot of battery. Could be really neat if this ever gets figured out.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7113
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 308 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:34 pm

One could use ffmpeg to cast the screen to something running vlc, or maybe a chromecast or dlna, but the latencies and buffering will probably prohibit real-time gaming with this method.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:52 pm

mad_ady wrote:One could use ffmpeg to cast the screen to something running vlc, or maybe a chromecast or dlna, but the latencies and buffering will probably prohibit real-time gaming with this method.
Yeah I'm curious how moonlight manages latency.

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 10649
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105)
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 194 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by meveric » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:17 pm

rooted wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:52 pm
Yeah I'm curious how moonlight manages latency.
it's a 320x480 screen.. do you really think that's a high enough resolution to play PC games?
I'm more worried about the look of these games rather than if moonlight can handle it.
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:34 pm

meveric wrote:
rooted wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:52 pm
Yeah I'm curious how moonlight manages latency.
it's a 320x480 screen.. do you really think that's a high enough resolution to play PC games?
I'm more worried about the look of these games rather than if moonlight can handle it.
No. I'm referring to playing the emulators on a big screen. Not actually using moonlight, possibly some similar method to stream the gaming output from the Advance to a larger display.

Continue using the Go Advance controls but stream the display and audio.

User avatar
meveric
Posts: 10649
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105)
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 194 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by meveric » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:50 pm

well since the Go Advance obvious does not have an NVIDIA GPU it won't be able to be used as a server for NVIDIA GameStreaming.
Overall I think Steam did a better job with their streaming engine, as it works under Windows and Linux alike and they have ARM clients, even if they don't opensource them which makes the RPI the only available platform for it.

I always wonder why Mira Cast doesn't really seem to be a thing outside of Android, as it's a build in feature in most modern TVs.
Maybe this can be ported to ODROID devices: https://github.com/albfan/miraclecast
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:21 pm

meveric wrote:well since the Go Advance obvious does not have an NVIDIA GPU it won't be able to be used as a server for NVIDIA GameStreaming.
Overall I think Steam did a better job with their streaming engine, as it works under Windows and Linux alike and they have ARM clients, even if they don't opensource them which makes the RPI the only available platform for it.

I always wonder why Mira Cast doesn't really seem to be a thing outside of Android, as it's a build in feature in most modern TVs.
Maybe this can be ported to ODROID devices: https://github.com/albfan/miraclecast
I've been playing with mkchromecast on the Advance but so far I can't even get the audio to cast.

I'm pretty sure I'm using it correctly but not positive.

https://github.com/muammar/mkchromecast

*edit*
I did get it to cast a YouTube video from the Advance to my TV, so it does work.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7113
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 308 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:19 pm

@rooted: I too am interested in casting either the desktop or a stream from ffmpeg output to a chromecast. Haven't tested much, but casting from chrome works under linux (haven't tested on arch64), and should work from vlc (maybe even without running the GUI), but most projects try to cast local media, not the screen...

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:24 pm

MKchromecast can cast an X session, (--video --screencast).

I was thinking perhaps it can be modified to cast fbdev.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 7113
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 308 times
Been thanked: 212 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:30 pm

Hmm, didn't know that, thanks. I'll have to look at the code (as you can guess I have hardly any time left), but it might be using ffmpeg to do the encoding. If so, one could intercept the ffmpeg calls and add whatever hardcoded input they desire (/dev/fb0). My goal (for a different project) is to project a section of the screen, not the whole screen to a chromecast (e.g. for multidisplay systems, have one display mirrored on the chromecast).

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:57 pm

mad_ady wrote:Hmm, didn't know that, thanks. I'll have to look at the code (as you can guess I have hardly any time left), but it might be using ffmpeg to do the encoding. If so, one could intercept the ffmpeg calls and add whatever hardcoded input they desire (/dev/fb0). My goal (for a different project) is to project a section of the screen, not the whole screen to a chromecast (e.g. for multidisplay systems, have one display mirrored on the chromecast).
It can use ffmpeg, among other options.

crashoverride
Posts: 4630
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 152 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by crashoverride » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:18 am

Just a reminder that GO Advance uses Linux DRI (/dev/dri/card0) and not fbdev (/dev/fb0). The fbdev is emulated in the kernel for console applications. Graphical applications do not use it, only console text does.
These users thanked the author crashoverride for the post (total 2):
rooted (Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:02 am) • mad_ady (Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:10 pm)

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 7136
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 387 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by rooted » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:05 am

crashoverride wrote:Just a reminder that GO Advance uses Linux DRI (/dev/dri/card0) and not fbdev (/dev/fb0). The fbdev is emulated in the kernel for console applications. Graphical applications do not use it, only console text does.
Yeah I haven't looked at the inner workings much as you can tell, some but not a lot.

nox
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:06 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odriod W
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardware mod - hdmi port with hardware switch

Unread post by nox » Wed Jan 22, 2020 7:51 am

No multiplayer fun on big TV ( Interested in TVout too.

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: midwan and 3 guests