HDMI output as connected display

Post Reply
Sav
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:33 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by Sav » Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:36 am

Is It possible to trick Android to see HDMI output as attached display (like a tablet screen)?
I have an app that won't work on external display.
Thanks


Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
Last edited by Sav on Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 4265
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 235 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:30 pm

Sav wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:36 am
Is It possible to trick Android to see HDMI output as attached display (like a tablet screen)?
I have an app that won't work on external display.
Thanks


Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
Looks like you miss the attachment.

Sav
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:33 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by Sav » Wed Nov 20, 2019 7:59 pm

tobetter wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:30 pm
Sav wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:36 am
Is It possible to trick Android to see HDMI output as attached display (like a tablet screen)?
I have an app that won't work on external display.
Thanks


Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
Looks like you miss the attachment.
My bad.
I used the wrong word. For "attached" I meant "connected".
I need to trick the system that the N2 connected to an external display is a tablet with its own display.
Some apps won't run on external display.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 4265
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 235 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by tobetter » Wed Nov 20, 2019 8:12 pm

Sav wrote:
tobetter wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:30 pm
Sav wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:36 am
Is It possible to trick Android to see HDMI output as attached display (like a tablet screen)?
I have an app that won't work on external display.
Thanks


Inviato dal mio iPad utilizzando Tapatalk
Looks like you miss the attachment.
My bad.
I used the wrong word. For "attached" I meant "connected".
I need to trick the system that the N2 connected to an external display is a tablet with its own display.
Some apps won't run on external display.
Oh...I see what you mean by "attached". :) I believe HDMI is treated as the primary/internal display in the current Android build. Can you share which app is not working with HDMI?

"Tapatalk wishes you to have fun with ODROID"



User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6924
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 278 times
Been thanked: 71 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by rooted » Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:01 pm

I'm guessing it's a HDCP issue with something like the NFL app or something similar. I don't know if there is a way to bypass this but maybe someone does.

I'm also curious what the application is.

Sav
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:33 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by Sav » Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:23 am

I have a regular subscription to a satellite broadcasting provider (SKY), wich also stream over the internet some of its shows (pc web browser, app for smartphones and tablets).
The app is "Sky Go".
I installed the latest Andorid Pie 64 bit by Hardkernel. The app works fine, but when I select to stream something I got a warning message.

Sav
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:33 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as attached display

Unread post by Sav » Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:27 am

rooted wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:01 pm
I'm guessing it's a HDCP issue with something like the NFL app or something similar. I don't know if there is a way to bypass this but maybe someone does.

I'm also curious what the application is.
Can it a cable related issue, as suggested in this troubleshooting guide by HBO https://help.hbogo.com/hc/en-us/article ... t-is-HDCP- ?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6924
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 278 times
Been thanked: 71 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by rooted » Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:29 am


User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 4265
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: X, X2, U2, U3, XU3, C1
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 235 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by tobetter » Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:13 am

rooted wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:29 am
It's by design as I thought.

https://skytv.custhelp.com/app/answers/ ... -sky-go%3F
if the app does not allow to display a content to an external display, HDCP is not an issue but could meet a DRM issue although the display issue is resolved?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6924
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 278 times
Been thanked: 71 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by rooted » Thu Nov 21, 2019 11:17 am

tobetter wrote:
rooted wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:29 am
It's by design as I thought.

https://skytv.custhelp.com/app/answers/ ... -sky-go%3F
if the app does not allow to display a content to an external display, HDCP is not an issue but could meet a DRM issue although the display issue is resolved?
I just meant it's a security measure, not sure if it's HDCP, widevine, or some other means.

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6888
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 181 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by mad_ady » Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:09 pm

Does its web browser version work, or does it need some special plugin?

See if xposed has some module that tricks the app...
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
Sav (Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:45 pm)

Sav
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:33 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid-n2
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by Sav » Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:45 pm

mad_ady wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:09 pm
Does its web browser version work, or does it need some special plugin?

See if xposed has some module that tricks the app...
The web browser version doesn't work: it tells you to use the app.

By the way, you gave me a great idea:

https://repo.xposed.info/module/io.mh0rst.skycast

It's for the german app, but it's worth trying.

To install xposed on Pie can I use this: https://www.xda-developers.com/xposed-f ... droid-pie/ ?

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6888
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 248 times
Been thanked: 181 times
Contact:

Re: HDMI output as connected display

Unread post by mad_ady » Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:45 pm

I haven't heard of anyone running xposed in android 9, but before you try check that the older app version still works:
Does not work with sky go 1.4.0 or later!
Regarding the browser version - what if you set the page in desktop mode?

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest