Building 6 Bay NAS

tmihai20
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, french, italian, romanian
ODROIDs: XU4, Go, H2, N2 (4GB)
Location: Romania
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tmihai20 »

I just finished setting up and migrating stuff from XU4 to H2. For anybody thinking about making their own NAS with oDroid H2, in the form shwon here in the thread or in the classical form (with 2 HDDs), while transferring from an USB 3.0 HDD to the SATA HDD I got speeds of 120-130 MB/s (it took about 8 hours to transfer 3.5 TB from the external HDD to the internal one just because I had small size files, besides large multimedia files). I am more than pleased with it. It looks very, very cool with the transparent case and it handles operation gracefully. I got around 100 MB/s on Samba transfers to my desktop. H2 is a beauty and a beast.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
I write (in Romanian mostly) on a blog (see my profile)

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

tmihai20 wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:22 pm
I got around 100 MB/s on Samba transfers to my desktop.
This is not the limit, some have already received 14...15 Gbit/s (1.6-1.8 GB/s) ;)
viewtopic.php?p=263622#p263622
These users thanked the author RomaT for the post:
tmihai20 (Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:46 pm)

mad_ady
Posts: 8475
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 464 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by mad_ady »

@RomaT: don't spoil the man's fun :D Now 100MB/s will look inadequate :D
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
tmihai20 (Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:50 pm)

tmihai20
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, french, italian, romanian
ODROIDs: XU4, Go, H2, N2 (4GB)
Location: Romania
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tmihai20 »

@RomaT @mad_ady: I am more than ok with transfers over or around 100 MB/s in my local network (I do not plan to go over 1 Gigabit for now, it would cost too much). I know that this setup is capable of more or that we can achieve more. That test is a theoretical speed obtained with iperf, not bad, but hardly not a real life scenario. I got arount 930-950 MB/s with my XU4 in the past, I did not test H2 as I am more than pleased with its setup now.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
I write (in Romanian mostly) on a blog (see my profile)

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by Mullcom »

tmihai20 wrote:@RomaT @mad_ady: I am more than ok with transfers over or around 100 MB/s in my local network (I do not plan to go over 1 Gigabit for now, it would cost too much). I know that this setup is capable of more or that we can achieve more. That test is a theoretical speed obtained with iperf, not bad, but hardly not a real life scenario. I got arount 930-950 MB/s with my XU4 in the past, I did not test H2 as I am more than pleased with its setup now.
I need 1gbit in local network. We can have up to 1gbit fiber in to the house. And soon all children going to download and streaming a lot of things.

So i have now start to upgrade my local network between server and router so it can Handel all workload.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk


User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

Have you thought about thin and fat clients and booting PXE?

mad_ady
Posts: 8475
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 464 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by mad_ady »

Where can you find a thin client terminal these days?

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

this must be sought not in the store, but in the head, the rest is done by hands ;)
start, for example, by moving client drives to the server, and the client simply mounts them as network drives.
and the client can be both a PC and laptop and a smartphone and TV and Odroid boards, etc.
i.e. just create your own data cloud in your basement.
Last edited by RomaT on Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

mad_ady
Posts: 8475
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 464 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by mad_ady »

Yes, I meant a laptop-like device that acts as the client. Back in the day SUN would sell thin clients without a disk where you would do everything over the network.

But today, I'm not so sure about use cases. A gaming pc needs local cpu and fast local storage. A "chromebook" doesn't need much local storage, but may need loads of ram. The disadvantages of a thin client in a chromebook role are:
1. you need ethernet
2. you can't use it outside of your home.

The big advantage of thin clients was client roaming from terminal to terminal. Unless you have a really big house/loads of terminals, it's not an advantage...
But maybe I'm wrong and there are other valid use cases.

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

mad_ady wrote:
Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:46 am
A gaming pc needs local cpu and fast local storage.
This is a fat client, which has a powerful processor and memory and a graphics card and a small SSD for OS
fast storage is just a high-speed network and a mounted network drive.
I repeat, "thin" or "fat/thick" clients are just a name, and the implementation depends only on savvy.
Last edited by RomaT on Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

mad_ady
Posts: 8475
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 464 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by mad_ady »

I don't know... Unless you go with @domith's 40/56Gbps network, 1Gbps over LAN is much slower throughput than 400MB/s local ssd. I agree, it vastly depends on one's needs. Maybe 10Gbps will bridge the gap without burning a big hole in our wallets.

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

the essence of is if you invest in infrastructure, you will save on each item separately.
which ultimately costs less than with poor infrastructure.
IMHO: I’m saying that doing NAS with the 1GbE network interface today is a bad idea,
5GBE in the short term is normal, 10GbE - good,
more than 10GbE- it's overkill for today, but it's good for the long term and not with Odroid-H2.
P.S.: in odroid H2 limitation PCIe bus - four-lanes v2.0 is the maximum speed of 2GB/s (16Gbps)

tmihai20
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, french, italian, romanian
ODROIDs: XU4, Go, H2, N2 (4GB)
Location: Romania
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tmihai20 »

To overcome a possible saturation of the 1 Gbit network I would use several small servers like the HC1 or HC2, all connected through Gigabit. I mean you really need like constant transfers from capable devices to actually fill 1 Gigabit. Internet providers offer 300 and 500 Mbit connections for a fair price. If everybody is streaming their own 4K content independently, downloading through Steam and through on several PCs, then 1 Gbit will definitely not be enough. I would actually use managed switches, load balancing and so on, there is much optimization to be done. There are still people with 100 Mbit wired houses and 56 Mbit Internet connections. I think 5 Gigabit would become the norm in about 5 years, when 8K content would probably be as mainstream as 4K content is now.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
I write (in Romanian mostly) on a blog (see my profile)

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

1. Actually, that’s about NAS, not about Internet content (speed Internet access nothing to do with).
2. motherboard manufacturers have already launched integrated network interfaces 2.5/5Gbps
NAS manufacturers already release with 10GbE
i.e. it’s already going on, and after 5 years everyone will have it, as 1GBe now.
3. Well, about the speed of Internet access https://www.speedtest.net/result/7914234600

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by Mullcom »

To get good stability in local network you need have good backbone capacity. The other is how how setup up the connections.

I have AA house that are tre floors and basement.
So backbone need to be slot more BW then out to the clients. Then if you use one Nas that constant uses you also need to have overflow of bandwidth. If you not you going to notis that you not get that capacity that you Wish you.

Less jump between to Mitch switch and switch. And don't put all floor on same switch. I am going to put one switch on every Flor and fiber between this switch. An fiber between router and fiber switch. I can have then 10 clients att the same time running 1gbit locally streaming or copy between clients Without noticing any loss.

Notis we have 3 children and one on the way ;)

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk


mad_ady
Posts: 8475
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, C4, N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 578 times
Been thanked: 464 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by mad_ady »

Congratulations! Parenting these days involves doing backbone capacity upgrades it seems :lol:
I took the opposite approach. The kids are on dial-up until further notice. Not bandwidth hogs in my network :D
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post (total 2):
Mullcom (Thu Aug 08, 2019 10:54 pm) • tmihai20 (Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:10 pm)

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

These users thanked the author RomaT for the post (total 2):
Mullcom (Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:03 pm) • odroid (Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:30 am)

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

Finally I got a network cards 10GBE, more details here:
viewtopic.php?p=265986#p265986
I begin installation in the chassis:
.
P8091053s.JPG
P8091053s.JPG (277.99 KiB) Viewed 7499 times
.
P8091071s.JPG
P8091071s.JPG (261.53 KiB) Viewed 7496 times
.
P8231098s.jpg
P8231098s.jpg (196.09 KiB) Viewed 7165 times
.
P8101095s.JPG
P8101095s.JPG (172.26 KiB) Viewed 7462 times
.
P8101088s.JPG
P8101088s.JPG (371.31 KiB) Viewed 7463 times
Last edited by RomaT on Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
These users thanked the author RomaT for the post (total 5):
Mullcom (Sun Aug 18, 2019 12:22 am) • domih (Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:42 am) • odroid (Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:35 am) • Luke.go (Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:06 pm) • rooted (Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:38 pm)

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

SATA SSD Caching array LVM2 on SATA HDD

Code: Select all

# References
# https://www.digitalocean.com/community/tutorials/how-to-use-lvm-to-manage-storage-devices-on-ubuntu-18-04
# https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=773731
# http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man7/lvmcache.7.html
# http://strugglers.net/~andy/blog/2017/07/19/bcache-and-lvmcache/
# https://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/precise/man8/update-initramfs.8.html
#
# /dev/sda is the big slow hard disk (ada1)
# /dev/sdb is the fast small SSD (sdb1) use 99% for meta 1/1000
sudo apt update
sudo apt install lvm2 thin-provisioning-tools
# view devices supports LVM2
sudo lvmdiskscan
# create storage
sudo pvcreate /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1
sudo vgcreate storage-vg /dev/sda1
sudo vgextend storage-vg /dev/sdb1
# Let's use the dm-cache based version (write through caching)
sudo lvcreate -n storage-origin-lv -l 100%PVS storage-vg /dev/sda1
sudo lvcreate -n storage-cache-meta-lv -L 512M storage-vg /dev/sdb1
sudo lvcreate -n storage-cache-lv -l 99%FREE storage-vg /dev/sdb1
sudo lvconvert --type cache-pool --poolmetadata storage-vg/storage-cache-meta-lv storage-vg/storage-cache-lv
sudo lvconvert --type cache --cachepool storage-vg/storage-cache-lv storage-vg/storage-origin-lv
sudo mkfs -t ext4 /dev/storage-vg/storage-origin-lv
sudo mount /dev/storage-vg/storage-origin-lv /mnt/storage
# copy UUID device storage from view:
sudo blkid /dev/storage-vg/storage-origin-lv
sudo vi /etc/fstab
# insert new line storage-origin-lv as UUID device, paste from "blkid"
UUID=1234-5678-91011 /mnt/storage auto nosuid,nodev,nofail 0 0
# save and exit

# Check all one last time
sudo pvscan
sudo vgscan
sudo lvscan

# Update the initial ram fs so that the LVM2 volume shows up
sudo vgchange -a y storage-vg
sudo update-initramfs -u
sudo reboot
# if not /dev/storage-vg/* then 
sudo vgchange -a y storage-vg
speed transfer network file system:
.
954 MBytes/s = 5840 Mbits/s (from NAS Odroid-H2 to PC)
test5_h2_from_LVM2_to_pc.jpg
test5_h2_from_LVM2_to_pc.jpg (20.92 KiB) Viewed 6809 times
.
730 MBytes/s = 7632 Mbits/s (from PC to NAS Odroid-H2)
test8_pc_to_h2_on_LVM2.png
test8_pc_to_h2_on_LVM2.png (12.53 KiB) Viewed 6809 times
.
for comparison, the network speed of a single SATA HDD
157 MBytes/s = 1256 Mbits/s = 1.2 Gbps (from Odroid-H2 to PC)
test6_h2_to_pc.png
test6_h2_to_pc.png (12.99 KiB) Viewed 6802 times

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

Alternative chassis for 6-disks NAS FRACTAL DESIGN Node 304
.
case.jpg
case.jpg (43.7 KiB) Viewed 6763 times
These users thanked the author RomaT for the post:
tmihai20 (Mon Oct 07, 2019 11:02 pm)

doughnut
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C1+ XU4 H2
Location: So. Fla. USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by doughnut »

OK, here is my dilemma. When I use the ADP6ST0-J05 port multiplier, I am only able to get about 80-100MBs throughput to a raid 5 (mdadm) 5 disk array. Based on this level of throughput, I think the device is stuck in CIS (command) mode. In order to get 2-400 MBs throughput on writes to my 5 disk array, I think I need to be using FIS mode. I turn write cache on for each drive. Is there a trick to get this device to go into FIS mode on the H2? I am using linux 18.04 lts.

I picked up a 5-port PCIe 3.0 x4 sata card and I am able to get 375-400 MBs on my Raid-5(mdadm) writes, but then I lose the ability to have >1Gbs network. So I know the H2 is capable of sustaining that level of throughput. Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get that level of Raid-5 write performance using the ADP6ST0-J05 port multiplier, so I can add a multi-gigabit network interface to the H2 to feed it the data needed to sustain that level of IO performance?

doughnut
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid C1+ XU4 H2
Location: So. Fla. USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by doughnut »

By the way, I have one of these left over from my old NAS. This is a nice box, so I am sure the Node 304 is nice too!. Plenty of room for fans to cool the drives etc. Image I will probably reconfigure this with an H2 inside to act as my backup server.

This beast holds 10-3.5 in Hdds. Not hot swap,, but they all fit nicely inside. I like the drive spacing, so there is plenty of air flow over the drives. I also have a Lian-Li PC-08? It doesn't show as an active product, but it holds 6 HDDs plus a 5.25 bay for optical (itx) . It will probably be repurposed for my 5-6 drive NAS.

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »

doughnut wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:12 am
5-port PCIe 3.0 x4 sata card
there are not x4, but 2 lanes of PCIe
doughnut wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:12 am
PCIe 3.0 x2 to 5-port sata card, but then I lose the ability to have >1Gbs network. Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get that level of Raid-5 write performance
To do this, persuade HARDkernel to throw out two network interfaces 1GbE, thereby freeing up two PCIe lanes, install a second connector M.2, for connecting a SATA controller,
then the first M.2 connector will remain for connecting a 10GbE network card.
It is for this reason that I had to abandon H2, selling her, acquiring a regular miniITX motherboard, with two M.2 M connectors, one M.2 E and PCI-E x16 slot,
installing in the first connector M.2 M SSD NVMe, in the second M.2 M network card 10GB, in the M.2 E connector an additional SATA controller, In the same M.2 E connector there is an I2C interface for LCD
.
connector pin M.2 E:
m2e.jpg
m2e.jpg (94.46 KiB) Viewed 6472 times
.
Now I have this speed when copying files over the network (1.14 GB/s = 9.12 Gbits/s):
netspeed01.png
netspeed01.png (11.51 KiB) Viewed 6458 times
.
network speed Test:
netspeed04.jpg
netspeed04.jpg (80.75 KiB) Viewed 6458 times
These users thanked the author RomaT for the post:
Mullcom (Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:29 pm)

User avatar
Mullcom
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by Mullcom »

RomaT wrote:
doughnut wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:12 am
5-port PCIe 3.0 x4 sata card
there are not x4, but 2 lanes of PCIe
doughnut wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 6:12 am
PCIe 3.0 x2 to 5-port sata card, but then I lose the ability to have >1Gbs network. Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get that level of Raid-5 write performance
To do this, persuade HARDkernel to throw out two network interfaces 1GbE, thereby freeing up two PCIe lanes, install a second connector M.2, for connecting a SATA controller,
then the first M.2 connector will remain for connecting a 10GbE network card.
It is for this reason that I had to abandon H2, selling her, acquiring a regular miniITX motherboard, with two M.2 M connectors, one M.2 E and PCI-E x16 slot,
installing in the first connector M.2 M SSD NVMe, in the second M.2 M network card 10GB, in the M.2 E connector an additional SATA controller, In the same M.2 E connector there is an I2C interface for LCD
.
connector pin M.2 E:
m2e.jpg
.
Now I have this speed when copying files over the network (1.14 GB/s = 9.12 Gbits/s):
netspeed01.png
.
network speed Test:
netspeed04.jpg
This is good results.. good work.

Skickat från min SM-G955F via Tapatalk


ravikiranmn
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 3:59 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID HC2 and ODROID XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by ravikiranmn »

Hi,
From where to source SATA expansion card that supports 4 SATA connectors to M.2 slot

Regards,
ravi

User avatar
RomaT
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:48 pm
languages_spoken: Russian
ODROIDs: -H2 rev.B, -XU3, -XU4, -C1, -C2, -W, -VU, CloudShell
Location: Perm, Russia
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by RomaT »


tmihai20
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, french, italian, romanian
ODROIDs: XU4, Go, H2, N2 (4GB)
Location: Romania
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tmihai20 »

I jumped the gun and I bought an used Fractal Design Node 304 white case and I will be transferring my H2 in it. I am using it now with 2 HDDs and at some point the noise was so high I was not able to sleep. Now I have to find a way to put it inside this case. This case should be good for future setups, should I need more HDDs, even if I will be using those via USB (I do not want to give up on the M.2 SSD).
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
I write (in Romanian mostly) on a blog (see my profile)

tony124
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:48 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odriod-H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tony124 »

Do you have a complete parts list? I am considering making your build, but am looking for a complete list of items I would need.

joshua.yang
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2, H2, N2
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 102 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by joshua.yang »

tony124 wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:49 am
Do you have a complete parts list? I am considering making your build, but am looking for a complete list of items I would need.
Hi.

Please see this link: https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/appli ... th_sw_raid
This describes all the parts you may need if you make one.

tmihai20
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:56 pm
languages_spoken: english, french, italian, romanian
ODROIDs: XU4, Go, H2, N2 (4GB)
Location: Romania
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Building 6 Bay NAS

Post by tmihai20 »

I got a Fractal Node 304, after a little fumbling around with placing the H2 on the 3D printed part, I was able to have almost functional. The only issue is that the case needs power from an ATX power supply for the fans, but I think it is a little overkill to have a PSU just for that. The case has a 4 pin plug that is supposed to be connected to the PSU (I am attaching a photo, the plug I am talking about is the white male one).
power-connector.jpg
power-connector.jpg (15.6 KiB) Viewed 4115 times
I just want to be able to power the 3 fans with H2 somehow. I will be looking for a splitter that I can connect to the SATA power port. I will let you know if I find any.

Lated edit: I did find a 12V 2.5 Amps power supply, but it will not work as intended, because the case has a controller that says 5 - 7 - 12 V, so I actually need a small PC power supply like INTER-TECH VP-M300 (it has 80mm fan, a P4 connector, 2 IDE- and 2 S-ATA) and it should work perfectly with the case (I plan to power the HDDs with the separate power supply as well). I will let you know hoe it went. If you plan to power more than 2 HDDs, a bigger power supply with more SATA power plugs is needed.
Riddle me this, riddle me that
Who is afraid of the big, black bat?
I write (in Romanian mostly) on a blog (see my profile)

Post Reply

Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests