We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Post Reply
CobraCoral
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4,N2, C2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CobraCoral » Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:52 am

Hello y'all!

Just like some of you, I've been facing issues trying to set Static IP (Ethernet) on my N2 .

I was browsing the forum trying to find a solution to my problem and I was able to spot a few "workarounds" but nothing really conclusive. So I decided to create this post to bring this topic back to light again and try to find a solution.

Is there a way to do it using the Terminal? (I've tried but I think I'll need root access for that)
Am I gonna have to wait for the next Android build and pray for it to have Ethernet settings?

Thanks

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:21 pm

We purchased 50 N2 devices.
Now we realize we can't set a static IP.
Which means we can't do nothing with them.

kafan1986
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:05 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by kafan1986 » Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:47 pm

Static IP is a necessary requirement for many scenarios. Until and unless there is a specific reason for not having this feature, I would like this feature in upcoming android N2 image release.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32166
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by odroid » Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:53 am

We will look into that issue in this week.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
jasonv31 (Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:00 pm)

systemservice
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:39 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: ODROID-N2
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by systemservice » Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:23 pm

CharlesC wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:21 pm
We purchased 50 N2 devices.
Now we realize we can't set a static IP.
Which means we can't do nothing with them.
I also think that static IP is a must-have-feature, but are you really sure that you cannot use static (fixed) DHCP instead of static IP in the device, if you know what I mean?
If you've got 50 devices in a network than it'd much easier to manage them this way.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32166
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by odroid » Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:37 pm

We couldn't find any reference source code for an implementation of the static IP framework for Android 9.0 Pie.
So we need to implement it from scratch and we may need several working days.
We will start it in this week.

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:24 am

Thank you, we really need that.
Even if you find a quick workaround using shell commands we could work very well with that.

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Tue Jul 30, 2019 4:39 am

systemservice wrote:
Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:23 pm
CharlesC wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:21 pm
We purchased 50 N2 devices.
Now we realize we can't set a static IP.
Which means we can't do nothing with them.
I also think that static IP is a must-have-feature, but are you really sure that you cannot use static (fixed) DHCP instead of static IP in the device, if you know what I mean?
If you've got 50 devices in a network than it'd much easier to manage them this way.
All of our devices are installed in various client sites and networks, over which we have no control at all.
The way to go has always been static IP, so we can work even if the client has not even a DHCP server to offer.
With some of our clients it is mandatory, static IP only.

systemservice
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:39 pm
languages_spoken: english, german
ODROIDs: ODROID-N2
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by systemservice » Thu Aug 01, 2019 6:02 pm

It looks like static IP is now available with this update.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32166
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 122 times
Been thanked: 297 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by odroid » Thu Aug 01, 2019 6:23 pm

We are uploading the update packages. Wait a few hours.

Edit: Uploading has been finished. Please try it and get back to us.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
jasonv31 (Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:02 pm)

User avatar
codewalker
Posts: 716
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:03 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: all
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by codewalker » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:05 am

We found a problem that after setting Ethernet configuration you must reboot or reconnect Ethernet.
We will fix this issue in the next version.

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:01 pm

We are going to test that, thank you very much.
The reboot is not a big problem, we often have to do that with a C2 when we set the IP.

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Fri Aug 02, 2019 9:48 pm

We are testing with your new Ethernet Settings panel.
One question: when I use a small VU7 touch screen I can only see the IP address, not the other fields.
I am unable to scroll down to see them.
Is there a way to scroll down?

User avatar
voodik
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:36 am
languages_spoken: english,russian
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by voodik » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:37 pm

On lineage-os on screen keyboard have a "Next" button. I don't know how in AOSP IME.
Buy me a beer ;)
https://www.paypal.me/voodikjan
BTC: 377wXjEr3QsDDzRqfMco3a41wicrsv3Sfs
--------------------------------------------------------
dump logs
(dmesg; logcat -d; lsusb) | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:50 pm

There is no soft keyboard appearing when we edit the Static IP fields.
Should there be one?
It means we can only input those values if we have a physical keyboard connected?

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:54 pm

Ok forget this, we have to enable the virtual keyboard and yes there is a NEXT button.
I can now change all the fields on the VU7.
Thank you.

User avatar
voodik
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:36 am
languages_spoken: english,russian
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 56 times
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by voodik » Fri Aug 02, 2019 11:34 pm

CharlesC wrote:
Fri Aug 02, 2019 10:54 pm
Ok forget this, we have to enable the virtual keyboard and yes there is a NEXT button.
I can now change all the fields on the VU7.
Thank you.
Great!
Buy me a beer ;)
https://www.paypal.me/voodikjan
BTC: 377wXjEr3QsDDzRqfMco3a41wicrsv3Sfs
--------------------------------------------------------
dump logs
(dmesg; logcat -d; lsusb) | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

CharlesC
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 pm
languages_spoken: english, french
ODROIDs: C2, XU4
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: We need to talk about Static IP settings =)

Unread post by CharlesC » Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:23 am

One comment though, when we navigate the IP fields using the virtual keyboard, there is no label indicating what field we are editing.

Post Reply

Return to “Android”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: raidenii and 0 guests