Running PfSense on H2

Post Reply
dr-rox
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:26 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1, N2, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Running PfSense on H2

Unread post by dr-rox » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:11 am

One of big reasons I got H2 is ability to make it as a router. So I got latest PfSense 2.4.4, flashed to USB and installed. And it looks good with default install. I've read it has some troubles with Realtek drivers and ships with some unstable ones. I did few iPerf runs and got results between 875-941 mbits/s - all looking good. So should I do something with Realtek drivers or the default installation picks up good ones? I've read somewhere it's good to install some "ra" package to get best network performance.

Edit: Well, I kept running iperf again and again and the speed settled for ~840 for a longer time. Maybe I need to install something more than a default drivers?
These users thanked the author dr-rox for the post:
odroid (Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:30 am)

PigLover
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:55 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, XU4, HC1, MC1
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Running PfSense on H2

Unread post by PigLover » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:59 am

IIRC the Realtek issues with PfSense are quite date and the current release has the good drivers already installed. Could be wrong though. You’ll get much better feedback by searching the pfsense forum than you will get posting here.

gordone
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:50 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Running PfSense on H2

Unread post by gordone » Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:44 pm

What version of Pfsense are you using Dr-rox ?

I have problem with 2.4.4-RELEASE-p3 (amd64).

viewtopic.php?p=265272#p265272

powerful owl
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 8:57 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: 6 x HC1, H2
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Running PfSense on H2

Unread post by powerful owl » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:07 am

pfSense still recommend Intel NICs on their website. However I read that the Realtek issue can be triggered with iperf. This exciting graph is 10 minutes worth of iperf from LAN->WAN measured every 10 seconds, throughput is similar to @dr-rox and so far I haven't been able to trigger anything. I guess I wonder if running this for a day would prove anything one way or t'other (thoughts?)

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Other OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests