PXE Network Boot support?

Post Reply
NigelM
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:38 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

PXE Network Boot support?

Unread post by NigelM » Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:54 am

Hello:

Does the firmware of the ODROID H2 support PXE network boot?

Has anyone actually tried it?

(Specifically, has anyone used Ubuntu MAAS to provision a cluster of H2's all the way from PXE boot up to the installation of Ubuntu Server onto the M.2 drive in each H2? Any issues or problems with the PXE booting or full installation of Ubuntu? The use case I'm investigating is a cluster of 50 to 100 H2's to run a mixture of Docker containers and QEMU+KVM VMs, but each node must support PXE boot and automatic provisioning through Ubuntu MAAS (https://maas.io). It must be 100% hands-free after the initial configuration of the H2 node.)

Thank You,
NM

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 31297
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 179 times
Contact:

Re: PXE Network Boot support?

Unread post by odroid » Wed Jun 26, 2019 8:27 am

Yes. User @KuJoe already tried it.
viewtopic.php?f=168&t=33253
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
NigelM (Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:11 am)

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6136
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 81 times
Contact:

Re: PXE Network Boot support?

Unread post by mad_ady » Wed Jun 26, 2019 3:02 pm

The whole maas idea sounds like a great Odroid Magazine article. Please document and share your work. PXE boot can only boot EFI images.
These users thanked the author mad_ady for the post:
NigelM (Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:41 am)

fvolk
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: PXE Network Boot support?

Unread post by fvolk » Wed Jun 26, 2019 10:11 pm

I also consider a headless mini cluster of H2s for testing distributed code (as a replacement for my C2 cluster...)

Is possible to run 2x H2 from one power supply with a Y-cable when there is only CPU load and no local storage devices, no active video, no USB etc.
...60W should be enough for two... or even three H2?
These users thanked the author fvolk for the post:
NigelM (Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:41 am)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 31297
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 179 times
Contact:

Re: PXE Network Boot support?

Unread post by odroid » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:03 am

Yes, you can run two H2 boards with one 60W PSU if you don't attach any peripherals.
I think CPU+GPU(openCL)+DRAM+Ethernet will eat around 20Watt at full load.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
NigelM (Thu Jun 27, 2019 9:41 am)

Post Reply

Return to “Ubuntu”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest