Can't change resolution

Post Reply
bloomy72
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 11:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Can't change resolution

Unread post by bloomy72 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:43 am

I'm trying to install Ubuntu 18 on my N2. It's connected to a 4k display. The problem I'm having is when I try to change the resolution, I'm not able to. I get an error, "unknown monitor can't retrieve display settings". Right now I'm stuck at 4k, but I want to change to 1080p. I also connected to a 1080p device and still wasn't able to change resolution and refresh rate.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


User avatar
meveric
Posts: 10528
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105)
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Contact:

Re: Can't change resolution

Unread post by meveric » Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:51 am

check boot.ini there is an option for monitor auto-detection, this has to be DISABLED (false) or else it will always use 4k resolution.

After that you can define 1080p in the boot.ini as well.

There is no good way to switch resolution or refresh rate "on the fly" you have to do it via boot.ini and reboot.
These users thanked the author meveric for the post:
bloomy72 (Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:22 am)
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

bloomy72
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 11:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Can't change resolution

Unread post by bloomy72 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 9:25 am

I did what you said. Resolution changed, but the refresh rate did not. Right now, it's at 0hz. When I go into the display settings, I'm not able to change anything.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


User avatar
meveric
Posts: 10528
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:41 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105)
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Contact:

Re: Can't change resolution

Unread post by meveric » Sat Jun 08, 2019 3:08 pm

once again, you can't change anything from display settings, and the value of 0Hz is not read correctly.
Everything that is not within the boot.ini file can not be changed.
Donate to support my work on the ODROID GameStation Turbo Image for U2/U3 XU3/XU4 X2 X C1 as well as many other releases.
Check out the Games and Emulators section to find some of my work or check the files in my repository to find the software i build for ODROIDs.
If you want to add my repository to your image read my HOWTO integrate my repo into your image.

Post Reply

Return to “Ubuntu”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests