Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Post Reply
Arm420
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:38 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: xu4's
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by Arm420 » Thu May 23, 2019 7:16 am

Hello All,
Im an old man, and a complete noob to all things SBC. I just got my first xu4's this year now that I have time to study my passion; HPC/Supercomputing
The H2 was on my "next" purchase list but while reading intels own spec sheet, i wondered if i was reading it wrong or some inorrect data concerning max ram.

Can somebody explain what intel means when it says this processor only supports up to 8Gb. I want to know both as a potential customer but more to understand if i am reading the specs page wrong.
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... apkw=j4105

Peace, Love and Bitcoin.
These users thanked the author Arm420 for the post:
untergeek (Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:49 am)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by odroid » Thu May 23, 2019 8:35 am

Their specification must be wrong since many H2 users already had 32GB system with two 16GB SO-DIMM modules. We also have a couple of 32GB systems too.
Other Gemini-Lake motherboard users also reported they could play with 32GB stably.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
Arm420 (Tue May 28, 2019 10:31 pm)

untergeek
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:44 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by untergeek » Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:50 am

This is also a concern to me. Glad to hear Intel's limit is not necessarily accurate. Are there links to reports by users with 32G in this forum?

back2future
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by back2future » Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:59 am

Anyone ever asked Intel why they did not change their specifications since users showed it's working stable on even 32GB ram (or even 2x32GB tried?)?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by odroid » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:09 am

untergeek wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:50 am
This is also a concern to me. Glad to hear Intel's limit is not necessarily accurate. Are there links to reports by users with 32G in this forum?
Actually, we tried it with 2pcs of Samsung 16GB SO-DIMM modules too.
You can find other users' ID in this WiKi page.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-h2/hardw ... am_modules

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 183 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by odroid » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:13 am

back2future wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:59 am
Anyone ever asked Intel why they did not change their specifications since users showed it's working stable on even 32GB ram (or even 2x32GB tried?)?
I think Intel wants to sell much more expensive Core series CPUs.

Good question about the 2x32GB configuration. We've never tried it.
BTW, what do you want to run on a 64GB powered H2?
If there are some 64GB required application, we will buy samples to test.

back2future
Posts: 245
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 3:19 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by back2future » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 pm

You're a customer of Intel (who might have tested 2x32GB already, but won't tell?) so there's a good chance they provide support to this question, because so many already tested up to 32GB on heavy cpu/memory duty and explained it being a stable advantage.
Showing a system running on 64GB (like for data centers or scientific calculations, If we would tell it's for a special investigations research server supported by AI optimized analysis algorithms, you would be getting to curious ;) ) is an investment in knowledge and for demand in coming years and it supports a recommendation for 32GB usage patterns even more (but mentioning it being out of today's official specs).
Intel's more expensive and capable Core series can't idle at low Watts, because of peripherals on mainboard and ATX (2.4) power supply losses (a tinkerers approach to extremely low idling consumption I know of was ~3-4Watts, but with heavily desoldering components from mainboard around 3 years ago).
Having an H2 rev B with 64GB on odroid bench could be another advertisement goal. From my perspective H2 feels snappier than some energy saving Core i3/i5 sample mainboards.
Thanks for Your interest and suggestions for ram extensions these days.

[ Samsung 1x32GB, 2R8, 2.66GHz 2.4GHz@UEFI, 10nm, 1.4W idle, 4.6W active mode]
Last edited by back2future on Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:28 pm, edited 4 times in total.

fvolk
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:04 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C2, HC1, H2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Intel says 8Gb Max Ram?

Unread post by fvolk » Sat Jun 29, 2019 3:03 am

odroid wrote: BTW, what do you want to run on a 64GB powered H2?
A headless, no local storage, netbooted cluster node has to keep everything in RAM - or swap data over the network.

(Na, I don't need 64GB, currently cheap 8GB from all those laptop upgraders is fine for me :-))

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests