Use telnet with SmartPower2

Post Reply
edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Tue May 01, 2018 10:05 pm

For connect with SmartPower 2 I use Telnet. I tried build and upload the version 1.1 and v1.3. Wiht the last I compiled without errors but I can´t connect with SmartPower. And with the version 1.1 i had error. I have seen that download a file and replaced in the directory of platformio, it will be fixed. But not, and I need help.Attached a file with steps of build and upload firmware v1.1 and v1.3
Attachments
prueba.docx
This is the file
(830.46 KiB) Downloaded 42 times

lsc1117
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:46 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by lsc1117 » Thu May 03, 2018 10:09 am

Hi Edison,

I checked your attached file.

The compile errors about "use of deleted function ESP8266WebServer operator" has been corrected in F/w v1.3.
Please try again after you download the latest F/w source code.
https://github.com/hardkernel/smartpowe ... master.zip

And I will also add a simple upload tutorial in our wiki.

lsc1117
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:46 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by lsc1117 » Thu May 03, 2018 12:42 pm

Hi Edison,

Please review the below link.

I added instructions about simple upload a firmware.
https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/power ... r2#windows

Then, please tell me the result.

Thank you,
-John-

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Thu May 03, 2018 11:23 pm

Thanks for all but I have bad news. I attached the results.
Attachments
prueba.docx
(105.57 KiB) Downloaded 34 times

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Thu May 03, 2018 11:29 pm

Can you ping to "192.168.4.1"?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Fri May 04, 2018 12:08 am

odroid wrote:Can you ping to "192.168.4.1"?
Attachments
forum1.JPG
forum1.JPG (49.13 KiB) Viewed 4404 times

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Fri May 04, 2018 8:32 am

You have to establish a network connection between your PC and Smartpower2 first.
Web access or telnet access should work on your PC if the connection is okay.

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Sat May 05, 2018 6:26 pm

Okay but if I try connect with other PC and I will not connect with SmartPower 2, the problem could from SmarPower. In this case ,how can I fix SmartPower?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Sat May 05, 2018 7:00 pm

I don't understand your question.
Was the telnet working?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Sat May 05, 2018 8:25 pm

I resolved the problem. First I have to connect at wifi of SMartPower2 and then use telnet. Thanks for all

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Sun May 13, 2018 7:18 pm

edison_gdem wrote:I resolved the problem. First I have to connect at wifi of SMartPower2 and then use telnet. Thanks for all
Now I have a other problem. When I connected with Telnet I get the measures, but in a little time my SmartPower is off. Is like that telnet is shut down my SmartPower when telnet stop. I want to know how resolve this. Thanks

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Mon May 14, 2018 5:51 am

How long time you could get data from telnet without smartpower shutdown?
Do you meet the Smartpower off situation when you stop the telnet connection always?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 14, 2018 5:13 pm

odroid wrote:How long time you could get data from telnet without smartpower shutdown?
Do you meet the Smartpower off situation when you stop the telnet connection always?
I get data from telnet in Windows during 1 min.
Every time that I use telnet, telnet finish and shut down smartpower

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6680
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 194 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon May 14, 2018 7:14 pm

Try using putty as a telnet client. Are you using windows telnet?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 14, 2018 8:29 pm

mad_ady wrote:Try using putty as a telnet client. Are you using windows telnet?
I will do it. I have tried telnet in Windows and Linux, with the same result, my SmartPower 2 shut down

lsc1117
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:46 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by lsc1117 » Tue May 15, 2018 2:40 pm

Hi,

Can you tell me about your detailed environment? Which OS do you use?
I can't duplicate the issue on my SmartPower2.

Currently, I'm using the SmartPower2 with telnet and web browser.
Over several hours of telnet access had no shutdown issue.
Even I disconnected/connected the telnet a few times, the Smartpower keeps supplying power to my XU4 without interrupt.

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Wed May 16, 2018 12:18 am

Hi, I use Windows 10 and UBuntu 16.04 , but UBuntu in a virtual machine. I download and installed the firmware which show in the wiki for Windows 10. When I use telnet in WIndows or Ubuntu , and Putty in both, during a few time is ok but suddenly my Smartpower 2 shut down.
Have you modified the firmware of your SmartPower 2?

lsc1117
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:46 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by lsc1117 » Wed May 16, 2018 10:20 am

Hi,

There are no modifications except adding prebuilt binaries.

What power source is connected to your SmartPower2?

I'm using 15V 4A power supply unit.

I didn't find the telnet problem like you.

Could you try to upload firmware again?
https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/power ... r2#windows

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Wed May 16, 2018 5:35 pm

Hi
I will do it. I have the same power supply. When I used telnet, I only write in the console #telnet 192.168.4.1, and then suddenly SmartPower shut down. Did you do the same?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Wed May 16, 2018 7:03 pm

I upload the firmware again and the same thing happens, my SmartPower shut down

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Thu May 17, 2018 12:51 am

edison_gdem wrote:I upload the firmware again and the same thing happens, my SmartPower shut down
Do you mean there is no output power from SmartPower2? or no lighting LED on SmartPower?
We can't understand your situation.
Connect the 16x2 LCD on the SmartPower2.
And make a video to explain your problem.

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Thu May 17, 2018 2:27 am


User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Thu May 17, 2018 4:06 am

Which power supply do you use with the Smartpower?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Thu May 17, 2018 5:03 am

15V/4A

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Sun May 20, 2018 9:21 pm

Anyone know why my SmartPower 2 shut down when I use telnet?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Mon May 21, 2018 10:16 am

Did your SmartPower2 restart automatically around 1min 30sec in your video when you use telnet?
Did you connect XU4 to your SmartPower2?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 21, 2018 5:51 pm

Yes, when I used telnet , my SmartPower 2 restart automatically in 1min more or less.
Yes, I tried telnet with Odroid Xu4 connected and without connect

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Mon May 21, 2018 6:51 pm

It is very weird.
We had no such issue even we ran it over a few hours.

Where did you buy your SmartPower2?
From hardkernel.com? or other distributor?

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 21, 2018 9:37 pm

I have to ask my teacher, because he bought it

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 21, 2018 10:03 pm

One thing more, are there another method for get the measures of SmartPower 2? Because if telnet is not fix, I will need other method. I don´t want the method that I use my phone or PC and search in a navigator with the IP: 192.168.4.1. Thanks

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Wed May 23, 2018 8:12 am

We will check a feasibility of USB communication soon.

lsc1117
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 12:46 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: South Korea
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by lsc1117 » Wed May 23, 2018 10:33 am

Hi Edison,

I attached the firmware which can read the value via a serial interface.
When power is on, the SmartPower send the Power data to the Host PC via microUSB cable.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wzlu8asges2nm ... e.bin?dl=0

Thank you,
-John-

PS/
You need to set the terminal software.
115200bps, N81, no-flow-control.
The serial output is available only when the output power is enabled.

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Wed May 23, 2018 11:26 pm

odroid wrote:It is very weird.
We had no such issue even we ran it over a few hours.

Where did you buy your SmartPower2?
From hardkernel.com? or other distributor?
The Odroid was purchased online in 3DSoma (Palma de Mallorca) in June of last year.

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Fri May 25, 2018 5:43 am

lsc1117 wrote:Hi Edison,

I attached the firmware which can read the value via a serial interface.
When power is on, the SmartPower send the Power data to the Host PC via microUSB cable.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wzlu8asges2nm ... e.bin?dl=0

Thank you,
-John-

PS/
You need to set the terminal software.
115200bps, N81, no-flow-control.
The serial output is available only when the output power is enabled.
Thanks for all. In windows 10 I used putty and it worked, but In my virtual machine I have Ubuntu, and again , I use putty but didn´t let me work with SmartPower 2. I guess it works for Linux and Windows, right? . And other thing, how can make to get this measures in a file? Have you any idea?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Fri May 25, 2018 7:21 am

Yes, it should work with Windows, MacOS and Linux.
You should redirect the USB connection to your guest OS with virtual machine configuration.

The putty should have a feature to capture texts. Try googling first for the generic question.
https://itknowledgeexchange.techtarget. ... ty-client/

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 6680
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1, H2, N2
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 194 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by mad_ady » Fri May 25, 2018 12:53 pm

Under linux you can use screen to connect and write session data to ~/screenlog.0:

Code: Select all

screen -l /dev/ttyUSB0 115200

edison_gdem
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:45 pm
languages_spoken: english and spanish
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU4
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by edison_gdem » Mon May 28, 2018 2:43 am

Thanks for all, I have the measures in a file text

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 32368
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 325 times
Contact:

Re: Use telnet with SmartPower2

Unread post by odroid » Mon May 28, 2018 10:40 am


Post Reply

Return to “Smart Power”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests