Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Post Reply
Carbaton
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by Carbaton » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:39 am

Hello,
I’ve been trying to start up my Odroid with the maxcpus=4 for power save, everything seems in order but when I tried to re-enable the other 4 Odroid’s Cores sending an echo, it just freeze the terminal...

I’m using the Odroid connector of 5v / 4A, so I don’t know why is this happening.

An extra thing is that when I tried to enable or disable cores when I started up my machines with more than 5 cores, it let me enable or disable the rest of the cores without the freezing terminal problem.

Any suggestion will be appreciate, thank you very much! :D

joy
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:44 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-C1+, XU4, X
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by joy » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:14 am

Hi Carbaton,

I've tried to reproduce the issue and got this result with kernel panic.
I think my test result may be same with yours, is it right?

Here is my test instructions.

1. set maxcpus=4 in boot.ini and reboot, then booting done

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# cat /proc/cmdline 
console=tty1 console=ttySAC2,115200n8 root=UUID=e139ce78-9841-40fe-8823-96a304a09859 rootwait ro fsck.repair=yes net.ifnames=0 maxcpus=4  HPD=true vout=hdmi usbhid.quirks=0x0eef:0x0005:0x0004 smsc95xx.macaddr=00:1e:06:61:7a:39 false s5p_mfc.mem=16M

root@odroid:~# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/online 
0-3
root@odroid:~# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/offline 
4-7
2. set enable to cpu4-cpu7

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu4/online 
(OK)
root@odroid:~# echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu5/online                                                             
(OK)
root@odroid:~# echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu6/online
root@odroid:~# [  108.784426] Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at virtual address 0000000c
[  108.791260] pgd = c0004000
[  108.793879] [0000000c] *pgd=00000000
[  108.797487] Internal error: Oops: 5 [#1] PREEMPT SMP ARM
[  108.802717] Modules linked in: fuse cpufreq_conservative cpufreq_userspace cpufreq_powersave ir_lirc_codec lirc_dev g
pioplug_ir_recv spidev spi_s3c64xx evdev joydev input_leds gpio_keys exynos_gpiomem uio_pdrv_genirq uio sch_fq_codel ip_
tables ipv6 hid_logitech_hidpp hid_logitech_dj usbhid extcon_usb_gpio
[  108.829669] CPU: 6 PID: 1059 Comm: kworker/6:0 Not tainted 4.14.47-139 #1
[  108.836424] Hardware name: ODROID-XU4
[  108.840070] Workqueue: events cpuset_hotplug_workfn
[  108.844916] task: eb989440 task.stack: eb9a6000
[  108.849426] PC is at build_sched_domains+0xe00/0xee0
[  108.854362] LR is at 0xc0dae01c
[  108.857482] pc : [<c0167fc0>]    lr : [<c0dae01c>]    psr: 000f0013
[  108.863721] sp : eb9a7dc8  ip : 00000000  fp : c0d090c0
[  108.868920] r10: c0d03e4c  r9 : 00000400  r8 : eb9aa000
[  108.874119] r7 : d1697c7c  r6 : c0d0416c  r5 : 00000006  r4 : 00000000
[  108.880618] r3 : 00000000  r2 : c2bfd3c0  r1 : 00000008  r0 : 00000008
[  108.887118] Flags: nzcv  IRQs on  FIQs on  Mode SVC_32  ISA ARM  Segment none
[  108.894222] Control: 10c5387d  Table: 420d806a  DAC: 00000051
[  108.899942] Process kworker/6:0 (pid: 1059, stack limit = 0xeb9a6210)
[  108.906355] Stack: (0xeb9a7dc8 to 0xeb9a8000)
[  108.910689] 7dc0:                   ffffffff c0d91f9f c0a4e69c c0d03e4c eb9aa000 ffffb43f
[  108.918835] 7de0: c0d0f60c c0d03e4c 014080c0 c0dd69a0 00000005 c0d91f9f 00000000 c0a4e69c
[  108.926979] 7e00: d1697c7c eb9d8400 eb9a7e34 eb9aa080 c0dadc48 eb9aa080 eb9aa000 00000001
[  108.935125] 7e20: c0d03e4c ffffffff eb9aa080 c0168500 eb9aa000 eb9aa004 00000001 00000001
[  108.943270] 7e40: 00000000 c0dae008 00000000 00000004 ff76abc0 c0d13d50 c0d13d50 00000001
[  108.951416] 7e60: c0d13d50 c0d13e84 00000040 eb9aa080 c0d13dd8 c01b7674 eb989440 c01582bc
[  108.959561] 7e80: c0905004 000000ff eb9aa000 00000000 eedd3780 eb989b00 00000006 c014c638
[  108.967707] 7ea0: eb989b00 eedd3780 eb9a7ed4 c0d13d50 c0dd3a5c 00000000 c0d13d50 c0d13e84
[  108.975852] 7ec0: 00000040 c0d13030 c0d13dd8 c01b94c4 00000000 c01b9568 eedd3380 c0d0cff8
[  108.983998] 7ee0: 00000001 200f0093 eb9a7f0c 00000000 00000003 00000000 eedd33c8 c0d13e90
[  108.992143] 7f00: eced5600 eedd3380 eedd6400 00000000 c0d92434 00000000 eedd3380 c013d7d8
[  109.000289] 7f20: eced5600 eedd3380 eedd3380 eced5600 eedd3380 eced5618 c0d02d00 eedd3398
[  109.008434] 7f40: ffffe000 00000108 eedd3380 c013e650 ffffe000 c0d91f57 c0a4d05c 00000000
[  109.016580] 7f60: ffffe000 ece0bf80 ece0b480 00000000 eb9a6000 eced5600 c013e600 eb8cbd68
[  109.024725] 7f80: ece0bf9c c0143528 00000000 ece0b480 c01433d8 00000000 00000000 00000000
[  109.032871] 7fa0: 00000000 00000000 00000000 c0108868 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
[  109.041016] 7fc0: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
[  109.049161] 7fe0: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000013 00000000 00000000 00000000
[  109.057312] [<c0167fc0>] (build_sched_domains) from [<c0168500>] (partition_sched_domains+0x304/0x43c)
[  109.066581] [<c0168500>] (partition_sched_domains) from [<c01b7674>] (rebuild_sched_domains_locked+0x350/0x47c)
[  109.076633] [<c01b7674>] (rebuild_sched_domains_locked) from [<c01b94c4>] (rebuild_sched_domains+0x18/0x24)
[  109.086337] [<c01b94c4>] (rebuild_sched_domains) from [<c01b9568>] (cpuset_hotplug_workfn+0x98/0x698)
[  109.095525] [<c01b9568>] (cpuset_hotplug_workfn) from [<c013d7d8>] (process_one_work+0x1ec/0x580)
[  109.104362] [<c013d7d8>] (process_one_work) from [<c013e650>] (worker_thread+0x50/0x598)
[  109.112421] [<c013e650>] (worker_thread) from [<c0143528>] (kthread+0x150/0x158)
[  109.119787] [<c0143528>] (kthread) from [<c0108868>] (ret_from_fork+0x14/0x2c)
[  109.126980] Code: e5824068 0a00000c e592c008 e1a0300c (e593100c) 
[  109.133092] ---[ end trace 48820b9dd8b62d3c ]---

Carbaton
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by Carbaton » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:02 am

Hi Joy,

Your results are a little bit different, because i don't get anything when i send the " echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu#/online " command.

When i send it, literrally the terminal just stay freeze, somehting like this.

Code: Select all

root@odroid:~# echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu4/online
 
It's really weird because i don't get any kind of message and the only way to "Unfreeze" is close the terminal... Idon't know how to enable all these cpus now. Also, i made little test and i can't disable the enabled cpus which are from 0 - 3.

Thanks for the fast reply.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29736
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by odroid » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:27 pm

@Carbaton,
Which kernel version do you use?
The latest one seems to be 4.14.52-145 on our side.

Carbaton
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by Carbaton » Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:15 am

Hi Odroid,

My kernel version is the 4.14.5-92. I installed the Ubuntu 16.04.3-4.14-mate-Odroid-xu4-20171212.imf.xz from the official web site.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29736
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by odroid » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:07 am

Update the kernel with sudo apt update && sudo apt dist-upgrade && reboot first to have the same test condition.

Carbaton
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:28 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4
Contact:

Re: Can’t enable Odroid XU4 CPUs after booting with only 4

Unread post by Carbaton » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:23 am

I did what you said and the operative system crashed. SO I decided to re-install it and now it works, maybe it was a problem with the image or something but st least it works.

Thank you very much for all the help!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest