[SOLVED] HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

[SOLVED] HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:24 am

Hi I tried to get a HC1 working without much success .
I tried theese images :
ubuntu-16.04.2-minimal-odroid-xu4-20170516.img.xz
and
ubuntu-16.04.3-4.9-mate-odroid-xu4-20170824.img.xz
Both dont seem to boot ( red led is on , green led is on , power consumption is at about 400 mA , no blue led is on . .
What image should i use ? Do I need to change anything in the config ( boot.ini ?! )

I got an sd card from a friend who received it with his odroid hc1 . With that one the HC1 boots , but doesnt activate the network interface ( no dhcp request seen on the network ) . I inserted a few commands in rc.local and found out that the interface eth0 doesnt exist.....
Unhappily I don't have an uart card available ....

any ideas ?
Thanks
Bernd
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby odroid » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:07 am

If the blue LED didn't flash, the board couldn't boot OS Kernel.

Which power supply do you use? You must have a stable 5V/4A PSU.
Did you flash the OS image with Etcher?
https://wiki.odroid.com/troubleshooting ... s#flashing
You can find the latest Ubuntu minimal image in this link.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-xu4/os_i ... .9/minimal
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 24662
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:50 pm

I think that the problem with older images is that they load the xu3 dtb which results in no network adapter on xu4. As far as I know the newest image has an uboot which can do board detection and load the correct dtb file. A quick fix is to check if boot.ini loads the xu4 dtb file instead of xu3.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi,
@odroid :
- I Use a Lab Power source able to deliver 6 Amps . The 5 V are stable on the display.
- If I use the other image ( from my friend ) it boots in the same power config ( with or without harddisk by the way ) . but as said without network .
I did a lsmod and a ifconfig -a and saved the result . The lsmod is verry short (only 4-5 'generic' things ) , can post it later I'm not at home .....
- Yes I did flash my image with etcher it didnt report any problems . ( and I tried dd and win32diskimager too , same results )
- I tried ubuntu-16.04.3-4.9-minimal-odroid-xu4-20170824.img.xz and ubuntu-16.04.2-minimal-odroid-xu4-20170516.img.xz same with the same result .

@mad_ady : Which setting in boot.ini do you mean ?
Thanks .
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby odroid » Thu Oct 12, 2017 3:37 pm

I see. Your HC1 seems to be damaged.
Please contact "odroid at hardkernel dot com" with a link of this thread.
She will help your RMA process if you purchased the board from us directly.
Otherwise, contact your local distributor. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 24662
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:03 pm

Somewhere near the end of the boot.ini you should have this section:
Code: Select all
# Load kernel, initrd and dtb in that sequence
fatload mmc 0:1 0x40008000 zImage
fatload mmc 0:1 0x42000000 uInitrd
fatload mmc 0:1 0x44000000 exynos5422-odroidxu4.dtb

Make sure that the last file is odroidxu4.dtb and not odroidxu3.dtb.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:41 am

@mad_ady : I tried to do that , but then it doesn't get as far as before .....
In my boot.ini there was something like :
if test "${board_name}" = "xu4"; then fatload mmc 0:1 0x44000000 exynos5422-odroidxu4.dtb; setenv fdtloaded "true"; fi
if test "${board_name}" = "xu3"; then fatload mmc 0:1 0x44000000 exynos5422-odroidxu3.dtb; setenv fdtloaded "true"; fi
if test "${board_name}" = "xu3l"; then fatload mmc 0:1 0x44000000 exynos5422-odroidxu3-lite.dtb; setenv fdtloaded "true"; fi
#failsafe
if test "${fdtloaded}" != "true"; then fatload mmc 0:1 0x44000000 exynos5422-odroidxu4.dtb; fi

I exchanged it to what you wrote .... But then as said it doesnt get as far ...
I found this in my kernel logs :
[ 0.000000] OF: fdt:Machine model: Hardkernel Odroid XU3 Lite
Is that normal for an HC1 ?!

By the way I tested a second HC1 with the same result ( boots , but without network card .... )
Somethings is really wrong here ...
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby phaseshifter » Fri Oct 13, 2017 8:25 am

what brand of media are you using..???
4.9.xx.xx odroids
phaseshifter
 
Posts: 2455
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: opp sys.. ubuntu .kernel 4.9.xx.xx.c1+ ..c-2..xu3 lite,xu4...vu7,vu8,c-shell -II..c-shel-II,uart,hi-fi ,,hi-fi2,,show,w-board,6x16GB emmc`s 3.5 inch touch...other odroid acc`s as well

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:02 pm

@bschrott1: It seems I have an older boot.ini and possibly u-boot. Actually, it seems my development board is running 3.10 :) Oops...
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:03 pm

hi,

as explained , tested on a second odroid , with original Power supply from Hardkernel, with original Power supply from Hardkernel and original SD card from hardkernel -> same result . Boots , No Network device I even got a serial cable ( original from hardkernel ) and could log in . What driver would be needed for the network card ? And is the message
[ 0.000000] OF: fdt:Machine model: Hardkernel Odroid XU3 Lite
normal for an HC1 .
thank you all .
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:17 pm

XU4 and HC1 are using r8152 as a network driver. You should see this module when running lsmod. Show us also the output of lsusb -t
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:47 pm

lsmod :
Module Size Used by
fuse 75334 3
cpufreq_conservative 2955 0
cpufreq_ondemand 5766 0
cpufreq_userspace 1799 0
cpufreq_powersave 878 0
exynos_gpiomem 3162 0
ipv6 340705 36

lsusb :
/: Bus 04.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 5000M
/: Bus 03.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci-hcd/1p, 480M
/: Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ohci/3p, 12M
/: Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=exynos-ehci/3p, 480M

Also I found this in the bootup sequence :
[ 9.866624] odroid-tweaks[843]: /bin/odroid-tweaks: line 2: echo: write error: Input/output error
Starting LSB: Start NTP daemon...[ 9.895717]
odroid-tweaks[843]: /bin/odroid-tweaks: line 3: /proc/irq/144/smp_affinity_list: No such file or directory
[ 9.920613] odroid-tweaks[843]: /bin/odroid-tweaks: line 4: /sys/class/net/eth0/queues/rx-0/rps_cpus: No such file or directory
Starting LSB: disk temperature monitoring daemon...
Starting /etc/rc.local Compatibility...
[FAILED] Failed to start ODROID Specific System Tweaks.
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:54 pm

Strange. it looks like there are no devices connected to your USB bus. No ethernet and no SATA adapter either...
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby bschrott1 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:12 am

Hi,
problem solved . It was a combination of a bad SD card and it seems the HC1 doesn't 'Like' my Lab power supply :-)
I tried another power supply and another SD card but as it seems only alternating :-)
Sorry for this ..
All is fine now.
bschrott1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1

Re: [SOLVED] HC1 doesnt activate Network card.

Unread postby mad_ady » Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:12 pm

I'm glad you solved it. It was behaving strangely...
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2603
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2


Return to Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests