MINING MAGI COIN (XMG) ON A ODROID XU4 WITH UBUNTU

Moderators: odroid, mdrjr

Unread postby BuckoNZ » Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:36 am

~ by BuckoNZ (Jan. 2018) ~

Intro, Disclaimer and Credits
I have no idea what I’m doing. I know little to nothing about cyrpto currencies and I did a little linux when I was at a technical institute about 17 years ago and I’ve done nothing with it since. However, that’s part of the reason that I decided to give this a crack. At least I might learn something right? So, I am not an expert and you follow these instructions at your own peril.

Many thanks to various forums for their assistance, especially in here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=735170.0

Other key resources were:
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@gri ... spberry-pi
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-xu4/odroid-xu4
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1645
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page= ... px=MTI0MjI
https://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/ARM-Options.html
https://github.com/magi-project/magi
https://github.com/magi-project/m-cpuminer-v2

Initial XU4 Setup and Preparation

1) Grab a Linux image for your XU4 and flash it on your MicroSD using Etcher or similar. The build I used was this one:
https://odroid.in/ubuntu_16.04lts/ubunt ... 212.img.xz

2) Once flashed, booted and logging in for the first time, perform the following admin tasks:
- Setup your region, time zone, clock, etc.
- Configure your network settings how you ant them (DHCP? Manual IP?)
- Change the default password for both the ordoid user and the root user:
$ passwd
- Following the linux build release notes, ensure that everything is up to date:
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-xu4/os_i ... st-upgrade

3) After the reboot, there were quite a dependencies that the software we are to use needs, that is not part of the standard linux build. I will apologise in advance if I have missed any as I found the odd one here and there as I was working through this process: