External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 7:55 am

Hi

I have a question I just formatted my 1TB external hdd to fat32 from Ntfs using this link
https://youtu.be/CmU8cj_sIM8

But my hdd now shows I have 417gb of space when connected on my windows 7 laptop.
Have I got 1TB of space or 417gb of space ?

If 417gb of space then what tool or how to change it to a full 1TB of space but still on fat32 format

Many thanks
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Wed May 23, 2018 10:07 am

What happens if you use NTFS?
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby rooted » Wed May 23, 2018 1:03 pm

What is the output of

Code: Select all
fdisk -l /dev/sda


or it may be /dev/sdb
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby phaseshifter » Wed May 23, 2018 2:39 pm

i think the reason your seeing what you are..
is that you formatted to fat32..
use ntfs or an linux partition type and you will see a difference..fat 32 is limited by size..
Odroids
phaseshifter
 
Posts: 2935
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N-1..c1+ ..c-2..xu3 lite,xu4...u-3..
u-2...other odroid acc`s as well

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 4:50 pm

odroid wrote:What happens if you use NTFS?


If it is ntfs then it shows 950gb so it’s about right,

I only wanted to format it to fat32 because I want to have all my roms, emulators etc on the hdd and not on the emmc
Like this video.. https://youtu.be/P1etPYvWBZU

That is the only reason why I formatted it to fat32
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 4:54 pm

rooted wrote:What is the output of

Code: Select all
fdisk -l /dev/sda


or it may be /dev/sdb


Rooted- what’s all that :shock: :oops: :?

I guessed you would have briefly known me by my previous post that I haven’t got a clue what that means lool

Where do I type that ? [code] ?? What do I type in here ?
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 4:55 pm

phaseshifter wrote:i think the reason your seeing what you are..
is that you formatted to fat32..
use ntfs or an linux partition type and you will see a difference..fat 32 is limited by size..


Hi thank you for your reply,
See my response to odroid message
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Wed May 23, 2018 5:21 pm

Try to change the allocation unit size to 32KB from 16KB when you format the 2.5" HDD.
https://www.techrepublic.com/blog/windo ... 2gb-limit/
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 6:42 pm

odroid wrote:Try to change the allocation unit size to 32KB from 16KB when you format the 2.5" HDD.
https://www.techrepublic.com/blog/windo ... 2gb-limit/


That’s the tool that I used, however allocation size I selected 4096 as that is what the YouTube video said to select as apparently he found the hdd run a lot better ?
To be honest I do not even know what the allocation size actually does or what it means !
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed May 23, 2018 8:05 pm

fat sustems can address a maximum number of chunks. Having bigger chunks means you can use more disk space, but at the same time having a 1kb file will consume 32kb on disk because a chunk can't be shared between files (fragmentation loss). So many small files would waste your disk, but it's fine for large files.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 9:20 pm

mad_ady wrote:fat sustems can address a maximum number of chunks. Having bigger chunks means you can use more disk space, but at the same time having a 1kb file will consume 32kb on disk because a chunk can't be shared between files (fragmentation loss). So many small files would waste your disk, but it's fine for large files.


So what do I need to do then please ?

My hard drive is going to be for just retro games, up to n64, ps1, PSP dream cast games

I just want to make sure I have the full 1TB available to use.
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Wed May 23, 2018 10:14 pm

Those games' ROM size should be several mega-bytes at least, 32KB or 64KB allocation size shouldn't be a problem at all.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed May 23, 2018 10:15 pm

Format it as odroid suggested with 32k chunks
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed May 23, 2018 10:40 pm

Will try that
Bit I have been told that some games on Dreamcast and also PSP can be upto 4gb in size !
Would this cause an issue or a problem ?
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Wed May 23, 2018 10:45 pm

Fat32 supports a maximum file size of 4G. You should try either exfat/ntfs/ext3/4. They are supported by odroids
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Thu May 24, 2018 2:36 am

odroid wrote:Those games' ROM size should be several mega-bytes at least, 32KB or 64KB allocation size shouldn't be a problem at all.


Hi I don’t have those options

I have the following options in allocation unit size
512
1024
2048
4096
8192
16384
32768
65536

I’m confused
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Thu May 24, 2018 2:51 am

32768=32k
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Thu May 24, 2018 3:14 am

Thank you
I’ve done it, I have no idea what I have just done or what it’s meant to do
It it is showing 931gb so thanks

In simple terms by changing the allocation size what effect are there or pros and cons of there is any ?
So I know of o ever do run into trouble
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Thu May 24, 2018 8:25 am

Search google for a generic question.
https://superuser.com/questions/1286135 ... e-in-fat32

Anyway, Is the "USB ROM Service" feature in RetroPie (ORA) working with your 1TB storage now?
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Thu May 24, 2018 7:55 pm

Hi

Thank you all for your help.

I can confirm my external hdd is working with odroid arena as how I wanted it to , happy days.

My fat32 1TB also shows almost 1TB of memory space as well after what mr odroid said to do so thank you.

Now is to download all the roms and play ...
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:38 pm

Hi

Got a problem , for some reason my xu4 will just not read or detect my hdd

The hdd works absolutely fine , it works quietly when plugged into my laptop when transferring files to it but from day one when it is connected into the xu4 when it’s starts to read my hdd it always makes a metal clunking noise.

Today I transferred more roms onto the hdd and when I plugged it back into the xu4 the red light on the data connector does not flash
It’s not reading my hdd ?

I removed the roms that I newly added and tried it again but still it doesn’t read the hdd.

I reformatted my hdd , created a new folder retropie-mount , plugged in back into the xu4 it suppose to detect my hdd and retropie would create folder on my hdd (as it should) bios, splash screen , rom folders etc.

Plugged my hdd back into the laptop so I can transfer roms
But no folders have been created on my hdd - only the folder I created (retropie-mount.

So for some reason my xu4 will just not read my hdd - the red light in my data connector just stays solid red so I know it is not getting read
Please help .... I’m really upset as from working absolutely fine to just not picking up my hdd.


USB is enabled in retropie,
My wd hdd does work flawlessly and quietly when connected into my laptop.
Xu4 is booting up as normal and loading retropie and emulation station perfectly

My image is odroid arena and is fine

Please help
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm

Sounds like it doesn't get enough power. Can you use a powered usb-sata bridge with it?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:14 am

mad_ady wrote:Sounds like it doesn't get enough power. Can you use a powered usb-sata bridge with it?


Hi what’s one of those pal ?
Any pics

I am using the hard kernel usb 3.0 to sata bridge board

As I was assured that this along with the xu4 would have plenty of power for a 2.5” hdd
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:23 am

Indeed, it should have. What are the specs of your hdd? What model is it?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:41 am

mad_ady wrote:Indeed, it should have. What are the specs of your hdd? What model is it?


Wd Black 1TB hdd 2.5”
Brand new purchased just for the xu4
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby rooted » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:54 am

Try a different cable is my advice.
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby mad_ady » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:47 am

According to the specs https://www.wdc.com/content/dam/wdc/web ... 771435.pdf the peak current is 1.1A - which is huge and over the 900mA limit of the xu4.
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby rooted » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:09 am

1.1A is huge for a 2.5"
User avatar
rooted
 
Posts: 5607
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1, C1+, C2
XU3 Lite, XU4
N1
VU7+
HiFi Shield 2
Smart Power (original)

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:04 am

We tested WD Black 1.0 TB on HC1 long time ago and it worked well.
Image

The actual maximum current in USB 3.0 ports is slightly higher than 2 Amp.
So if you don't plug two HDDs, it should be fine.

Do you use this 5V/4A PSU?
https://www.hardkernel.com/main/product ... 3652955378
or this 5V/6A PSU?
https://www.hardkernel.com/main/product ... 6977556615

Also try to use other USB 3.0 cables.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:57 pm

Hi I purchased the upgraded psu 5v 6amp because because I was advised I need that little extra power if I am using a hdd

And I purchase the wd Black hdd as odroid suggested to me that they have tested this in the past and was absolutely fine and also wd is a reputable brand.

What type of usb cable to try ? I know the same but are there any specific ones that pass through a bit more power etc ??

It’s happened again I managed to get it to work yesterday switched it off and switch it back on again it was fine (all though still making that metal cluncking sound )

So I thought it was probably because I am disconnecting it and attaching it every time I am transferring toms - so today I thought I would transfer via WiFi , switched the xu4 on and boom not reading my hdd again no consoles showing up on retropie just the image

Red led light still on the bridge board.
Switched the power off and switched it back on again and magic my roms are all showing and console list are back

I did notice that at first when I power up the xu4 the fan noise is slightly higher pitch due to all the power going to it as soon as the red led light comes on , on the bridge board the fan noise tones down a tiny bit - guessing not all the power is going to the fan now

What can I do cus I can’t afford to keep powering off and on and off just to try making it work,
I don’t really want to be spending another £45-£50 on a hdd again

What modifications can I do to get more power going to the hdd ?
And also hopefully to stop this metal cluncking sound ?
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:48 am

Do you use ORA OS image?

I meant a cable something like this.
https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Goflex-E ... B06XX1VX5L

What happens if you use USB 2.0 port on XU4?
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:53 pm

odroid wrote:Do you use ORA OS image?

I meant a cable something like this.
https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Goflex-E ... B06XX1VX5L

What happens if you use USB 2.0 port on XU4?


Yes I do , but I have the image and boot up on the emmc

And never tried plugging it into usb 2 as it says it’s for usb 3.0 but can try it, but the problem I have then is my Bluetooth dongle ! Blue tooth only works properly and get distance if it’s in usb 2.0
If you recall my last post about Bluetooth issue
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:59 pm

Yes, I remember that.

But please try to use USB 2.0 port to narrow down the root causes.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:47 pm

odroid wrote:Yes, I remember that.

But please try to use USB 2.0 port to narrow down the root causes.


Yes will do .

And as for the cable I meant is their specific brands or type of the usb cable I need to try ?
As in are there any known usb cables out there that tend to deliver better power output or faster data transfer etc ???

The cable I am using came with the bridgebosrd
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:55 am

I tried putting the hdd into usb 2.0 but I guess not enough power as the hdd just made a ticking sound
(The red led was on , on the bridge board) didn’t show any of my consoles on the home page

Put it back in the usb 3.0 made that metal cluncking sounds but I can see my consoles on the home screen
Well for now any way until next time it decides not show up

Any other suggestions ?
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:27 am

I've ordered a WD WD10JPLX sample to test the power issues.
We will try to reproduce the issue early next week and get back to you.
Give us a few more days to find a solution.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:11 pm

odroid wrote:I've ordered a WD WD10JPLX sample to test the power issues.
We will try to reproduce the issue early next week and get back to you.
Give us a few more days to find a solution.



No problem odroid - thank you so much
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby joshua.yang » Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:40 pm

Hi @atarioldskool,

I've tested with a WD 1TB Black (WD10JPLX) which is just delivered to us.
And I used our USB 3.0 to SATA bridge to connect to the HDD and a PC / XU4: https://www.hardkernel.com/main/product ... 0462654346

20180628_171614.jpg
20180628_171614.jpg (169.14 KiB) Viewed 796 times


To tell you the conclusion first, it works flawlessly as I expected. Seems like there's no issues including power something, which is measured maximum 10~13W on my side, so I think 5V 6A is enough to use, by far. :shock:

FYI, here is my test instruction. Please refer to.

1. Format as FAT32 (http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index. ... format.htm)
I did in Windows 10.
Since the HDD was in fully empty state so I made a MBR partition and formatted it as FAT32 with following the guide, using provided GUI tool.
When I was in format procedure, I selected 32KB as the sector size.
The HDD was formatted successfully, it shows me it has about 931GB remains.

2. Import roms (https://retropie.org.uk/docs/First-Inst ... rring-roms)
1) Create "retropie" directory on the top of the HDD.
2) To getting the skeleton files, inserted it to one of the USB 3.0 ports of the XU4 installed XU4-ORA-Base-RP-Pub-v1.1.img.gz (http://odroidarena.com/downloads/).
3) When the status LED on the bridge board stops blinking, I ejected it from XU4.
4) Inserted it to host PC again and copied my games into the retropie/roms/{SYSTEM}/.
5) Inserted it to XU4 again and waited for the status LED stops blinking.
6) Restart EmulationStaion.

And I found somethings during the test.
1. ORA mounts it to /media/usb0 automatically when a USB drive inserted.
2. It finds changes with rsync tool. If it found some new games from retropie/roms in the external drive, sync them to /home/pigaming/RetroPie/roms in XU4.
3. After rsync acts, ORA un-mount the drive automatically.

Thus, the inserted drive has not been used after synchronize finished. We can notice that as seeing the status LED stops blinking.
So the only moment the HDD used is the time rsync acts, and the power measurements I said is from that time. I tried to synchronize PSP games relatively having big size, total 3GB.

I think there's something wrong associated with mounting a USB drive(including the USB cable) or rsync acts, or your ORA system itself.

Thanks.
joshua.yang
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby joshua.yang » Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:35 am

I have tested with 5V 4A PSU, and this is the results.

To play a game, I used G3w game pad sold in our websites: https://www.hardkernel.com/main/product ... 2605577891
And as I used before, our USB 3.0 to SATA bridge is also used: https://www.hardkernel.com/main/product ... 0462654346
HDD is WD 1TB Black(WD10JPLX).

What I intended to test is to ensure 5V 4A is enough to use with a HDD.
So I was going to play a N64 game while rsync acts. We could think there's a lots of power consumption in this situation ;)
And I created 50ea dummy files which has 1GB for each file for test, fortunately ORA synced them very well as I expected.

Played N64 Super Smash Bros for about 20 minutes, and I can play the game without any issues.
Approximately 30GB of dummy files were synced to the eMMC on XU4, and in progress.

One weird thing is that XU4 couldn't notice the HDD when I inserted that for a second time to sync the dummies. So I rebooted with the HDD installed, then it worked.
joshua.yang
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:54 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: XU4, XU4Q + Cloudshell2

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:01 pm

Hi
So what is it that you are asking me to do / try ?

What does rsync mean?

If it helps ... the way I set up my system

Burnt the ora image into the emmc 16gb -

Formatted my hdd to fat 32 and also change the kB to exactly what odroid and what you have just said , also formatted my hdd to fat 32 using the software that u just mentioned.

Created a folder called retropie-mount in my hdd
Then plugged my hdd into xu4 using usb 3.0
Restarted emulation station waited for the lights to stop flashing, took it out plugged it back into my laptop and all the roms folders, splash screen folders etc all had been created.

I do not have trouble playing any roms,
The problem I am having is as soon as I switch power on xu4 and when it needs to read my hdd it makes a metal cluncking sound, sometimes all my consoles and roms are missing so I switch it off and then power it back up again and that normally brings all my consoles and roms back

Roms always load and are playable that is not the issue.
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:45 am

I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s definitely to do with lack of power
As I finally managed to get ssh work
I was transferring a rom and it was transferring perfectly till it made that metal cluncking sound and the red light stopped blinking solid red and FileZilla said error failed

Tried it again and same thing happens again
Transferring perfectly red light blinking on the sata board then metal clunk sound and the red light static and failed to transfer the rom

I really I do not want to be buying another external hdd
Is there a modification I can do or what can I do to send abit more power to the hdd ???

Their must be away ??
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby odroid » Tue Jul 03, 2018 7:59 am

Your PSU or SATA cable might be a root cause.
I sent you a PM.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 28738
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby joeyjohnson » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:18 am

Is this a standard hd not an SSD?

I am running a 500gb samsung SSD with about 400GB of roms on it for months without an issue. I have it inside my ogst case running retropie.

Maybe an ssd would solve your issue.

Joey



atarioldskool wrote:I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s definitely to do with lack of power
As I finally managed to get ssh work
I was transferring a rom and it was transferring perfectly till it made that metal cluncking sound and the red light stopped blinking solid red and FileZilla said error failed

Tried it again and same thing happens again
Transferring perfectly red light blinking on the sata board then metal clunk sound and the red light static and failed to transfer the rom

I really I do not want to be buying another external hdd
Is there a modification I can do or what can I do to send abit more power to the hdd ???

Their must be away ??
joeyjohnson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:00 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Xu4

Re: External 2.5 hdd using the bridge board plus

Unread postby atarioldskool » Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:19 am

Hey mr odroid

It’s been a few months not being on here,

Unfortunately my troubles with my hdd have never gone away.

Which I thought had settled down after a change of psu and usb cable it’s making that metal clunck sound again and now hat my cu4 is a bit more advanced with the ora image mexampleci have I scraped my roms got my own splash screen playing ,
And roms for Dreamcast , n64 and psx
Every time I scroll through the games list the art work would disappear and the hdd would make this pod metal clunck sound.
Sometimes my whole system would crash and then retropie would say no system detected,
And now that I’ve got psx roms I’ve tried a few games while playing all of a sudden I would hear that metal clunck sound and he music in the game would go silent , then game would either freeze when it is trying to load the next stages or just completely crash with script writing all over the screen.

I have lots of screen shots of hear error.

I have been speaking to ora testers and he has suggested to start again from scratch re flash format etc and to set it up differently to how I originally did (taking advise from here and YouTube videos )
So hopefully I will have to do it all again and let’s see if their method works.
atarioldskool
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:51 pm
languages_spoken: english


Return to Hardware and peripherals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests