external psu to power 4 HC2

Moderators: odroid, mdrjr

external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby golgoth » Wed Oct 10, 2018 7:03 pm

Hello,
i wish to power all of my HC2 using a single PSU, if possible small and if possible beeing 80+.
have anyone worked that way?
Any advice, for exemple would a "computer" psu be mandatory or any 12V PSU would be enough?
like this one for example
if not what is the caracteristics that would not fit?
golgoth
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english

Re: external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby odroid » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:52 am

HC2 consumes up to 2Amp/12Volt if you install a normal 3.5" HDD.
So the PSU in your link can handle 4~5 HC2 units.

You have to consider buying good DC plug cables something like this.
Many users reported this 18-AWG cable was very good.
http://a.co/auEGRaq

Refer this original thread.
viewtopic.php?f=95&t=29158
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 29121
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby golgoth » Thu Oct 11, 2018 7:26 pm

Thanks a lot,
for instance is a PFC mandatory?
And what should be the line regulation?
For example would this: one be suitable to power about 6 devices?
golgoth
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english

Re: external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby phaseshifter » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:14 pm

YES that "one: will be adequate ..
line regulation is on the D.C side of the supply and switch modes are hard to judge but the lower the ripple current the better..that to should be in the specs sheet..
PFC if your "referring to "Power Factor Correction.." i would not worry about..efficiency is more a thing to consider

80-90% rating is the best you will find... which should be listed there somewhere..in the specs..
Build It And They Will Come...Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid..!!!
phaseshifter
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N-1..c1+ ..c-2..xu3 lite,xu4...u-3..
u-2...other odroid acc`s as well

Re: external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby golgoth » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:08 pm

Thanks a lot,
the efficiency is rated at 93%! that's why that one seems pretty interesting.

the (max) ripple is rated 240mVp-p, if i understand it corretly that would be 2% so that seems pretty good?
golgoth
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english

Re: external psu to power 4 HC2

Unread postby phaseshifter » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:01 pm

@ 12.4 volts adjusted out put you could power 8 HC-2`s... and that ripple seems ok ..you could add 10000 Mfd 16volt cap to it but prolly wont be of much assistance
it would be a concern.,.. i found with s-modes mostly this hinder`s audio quality..issues...not much else..1/4 of a volt ripple is not that much and would not matter to the HC-2 board..

however you dont have really anything other than a processor and a usb sata bridge to power ..which really most of the power go`s by means of processing data to the eth port ..draws little current as eth has it`s own power rail generally aided by a router..etc..

most prolly the hdd could draw more current than the HC-2 it`s self...something to think about...if they are spinners and how aged they are the more aged the more current required to run them ssd`s use next to nothing..1tb ssd`s are pretty cheap these days..if your powering 6 HC-2`s you could put an in-line ammeter before your d,c supply rail network.. that you could look at a glance of how much current is being drawn at any one time weather it be a fancy digital or an analogue....
Build It And They Will Come...Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid..!!!
phaseshifter
 
Posts: 3001
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: N-1..c1+ ..c-2..xu3 lite,xu4...u-3..
u-2...other odroid acc`s as well


Return to Hardware and peripherals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests