Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Moderators: mdrjr, odroid

Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Unread postby venkatbo » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:02 pm

I installed the latest minimal image on a Samsung 64GB EVO SDXC Class 10 sd card for HC1:
ubuntu-16.04.3-4.9-minimal-odroid-xu4-20170824.img.xz

Appears to boot fine, with blue LED flashing ok.

When I try to access the HC1 from a Windows 10 system (putty) or C2 (minicom), I get a login failure if I use:
userid: odroid
password: odroid
It says "Access denied" for Win10, and "Login failed" for C2.

What is the id/pwd for the minimal image on HC1 ? Could not find in wiki.

Also, the HC1 appears to be connected to gigE switch only at 100Mbps (yellow led on Netgear GS108PE). The same cable and same port on switch, when connected to an XU4 or C2 shows up with a green led (1gb). Why would this be the case with HC1 settling down at the lower speed ?

Unaltered, that SD card boots on an XU4 ok, but the id/pwd of odroid/odroid doesn't work either. But the XU4 shows it is using 1gb eth connection.
User avatar
venkatbo
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:10 pm
Location: Bay Area, California
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C0/C1+/C2 U3+ XU3-Lite/XU4 VU/VU7+ Touchscreen Show TFT Cloudshell SmartPower mAHRS DAC GPS Multiscope

Re: Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Unread postby odroid » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:12 pm

I've added the default access credentials on WiKi page. The Minimal image has a root account only.
https://wiki.odroid.com/odroid-xu4/os_i ... .9/minimal
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID

Re: Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Unread postby mad_ady » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:49 am

What does ethtool eth0 show on the hc1?
User avatar
mad_ady
 
Posts: 2386
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2

Re: Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Unread postby venkatbo » Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:32 pm

Code: Select all
root@odroid:~# ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
        Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
        Supported pause frame use: No
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
        Advertised pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Link partner advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                             100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                             1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
        Link partner advertised pause frame use: No
        Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Speed: 100Mb/s
        Duplex: Full
        Port: MII
        PHYAD: 32
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        Supports Wake-on: pumbg
        Wake-on: g
        Current message level: 0x00007fff (32767)
                               drv probe link timer ifdown ifup rx_err tx_err tx_queued intr tx_done rx_status pktdata hw wol
        Link detected: yes

RJ45's green LED is ON, NETGEAR switch LED is yellow - also indicating its is only 100.

An XU4 connected to the same ports and using the same cable shows it is linked at 1000Mb/s. On the XU4 I see an additional advertised link mode: 1000baseT/Full
Code: Select all
        Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
User avatar
venkatbo
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:10 pm
Location: Bay Area, California
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C0/C1+/C2 U3+ XU3-Lite/XU4 VU/VU7+ Touchscreen Show TFT Cloudshell SmartPower mAHRS DAC GPS Multiscope

Re: Cannot access HC1 with minimal image

Unread postby odroid » Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:55 pm

Few people reported the RJ45 jack had a mechanical tolerance issue.
Try other Ethernet cable or slightly pull out the Ethernet plug.
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
 
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID


Return to Other OS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests