Page 1 of 1

Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:35 pm
by elsmandino
Hello.

I am currently running Openmediavault on a large x86 server, with lots of small hard drives.

The OS runs off a 64GB SSD and I use TVHeadend to record to one of the hard drives.

It was my idea to try and swap this server for a HC2, with a huge hard drive.

I originally thought about using an SD card for the OS, but is this a bad idea?

Openmediavault, itself, barely touches the SD (in terms of writes) but TVHeadend is constantly updating the EPG with new channel information and making new schedules.

Is it better to go with an SSD for the OS instead?

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:39 pm
by igorpec
elsmandino wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:35 pm
but TVHeadend is constantly updating the EPG with new channel information
What about using tmpfs for that directory ?

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:42 pm
by rooted
Or just use the hard drive to store the configuration data.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:01 pm
by elsmandino
Thanks for that - directing that data to the HDD, instead, must be possible.

I was considering using an SSD, plugged into the USB3.0 port, but that seems to be bulking up the HC2 (which I wanted to avoid in the first place).

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:37 am
by igorpec
All tvheadend configuration (/var/lib/hts/.hts/tvheadend or in users home) with everything is <100Mb. You can use memory for that.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:00 am
by rooted
igorpec wrote:All tvheadend configuration (/var/lib/hts/.hts/tvheadend or in users home) with everything is <100Mb. You can use memory for that.
You can't use memory, your recording information will be lost upon rebooting.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:20 pm
by igorpec
rooted wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:00 am
igorpec wrote:All tvheadend configuration (/var/lib/hts/.hts/tvheadend or in users home) with everything is <100Mb. You can use memory for that.
You can't use memory, your recording information will be lost upon rebooting.
He was concerned about this:

"TVHeadend is constantly updating the EPG with new channel information and making new schedules."

Not about recordings which can surely stays on hard drive/ssd.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:31 pm
by rooted
Recording information , the description of each recording is also contained in the hts folder as is the configuration files. That cannot be in memory as it will be lost upon rebooting..

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:10 pm
by igorpec
rooted wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:31 pm
Recording information , the description of each recording is also contained in the hts folder as is the configuration files. That cannot be in memory as it will be lost upon rebooting..
Not sure about if that is saves elsewhere but, in any case you have to do regular resyncing to SD and on shutdown. The same way we have done it for ram logging. Ofc you can lost some data in case of crash, but I guess that's not a problem in this kind of data.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:29 pm
by elsmandino
Thanks for your help on this.

I think my main problem is firstly being a bit of a novice with Linux, generally, and also with not knowing how TVHeadend actually works in practice.

My main options seems to be:

1. Run Openmediavault and TVHeadend from the SD card and use the harddrive purely for storage.
2. Run Openmediavault from the The SD card but put TVHeadend on the Harddrive.
3. Connect something like a USB stick or SSD to the USB2.0 port and somehow use that, instead.

Re: Installing TVHeadend and Openmediavault on HC2 - SD vs SSD?

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:27 pm
by elsmandino
Hi there.

I have been on a few other forums and the general advice is just not to worry about TVHeadend - it mainly runs in RAM and makes very little writes to the card (some users have been using the same card for many years).

One other quick thing - I also need to use the HC2 to host a MYSQL Database to sync the watched status accross all my Kodi clients.

Am I correct in thinking that this should also be no problem at all, to run from an SD card?