Hello, I tried to build and make SP3 firmware (to potentially fix some bugs) and ran into several issues. I may be doing something wrong, but at this moment don't see what that may be. Any help resolving this would be appreciated.
First of all, upgrading to standard provided precompiled v1.9 .img image works as expected and the device also works as expected.
1. I tried to follow the instructions at [https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/power ... ource_code][/https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/power ... ource_code] and ran into compile issue described in https://github.com/hardkernel/smartpower3/issues/10. After adding the header file, the compile and upload process seemed to work fine, but when the SP3 is reset after the process, the blue LED stays on and the power supply info on the main screen (top left corner) stays red and shows "0.0V 0.0A" even with regular power supply connected. Removing and restoring power does not help. Turning SP3 on/off via "ON/OFF/Menu/Cancel" button does not help either - the only difference being that when turned on, the power supply info changes color - "0.0" is grey and "V"/"A" are green and the blue LED is off. SP3 outputs no power. Channel switches seem to have no effect, but changing output power settings via encoder is possible. Serial seems to work, as well as connecting to WiFi, output logging (no changes in output values).
2. I tried different combination of libraries, different IDEs (Platformio for VSCode, Eclipse) on Fedora 36 x86_64 and different ways to flash the device:
2.a. - Updating TFT_eSPI to latest version the firmware compiles but does not work - the screen stays gray - no Hardkernel logo and no flashing blue LED.
2.b. - Trying to erase the ESP32 before flashing does not help either - uploading firmware and FS image works, but the SP3 seems to stay dead afterwards. The only solution being to flash the precompiled Hardkernel provided binary, which restores functionality.
2.c - I was not able to start debugging session neither via VSCode nor via Eclipse Platformio.
3. Tried to build and flash the original tagged v1.9 firmware from repo master branch to eliminate any changes I may have made to the code and that may have occured in master since release, with the same above results.
At this point I totally don't know what I may be doing wrong or if the problem is somewhere else. It seems to me that when flashing original firmware versus home-compiled firmware different ESP32 address ranges are erased and written to. Also, It's not clear to me how the precompiled .img is build/combines the firmware and fs. Somehow, I have a hunch that when I compile the firmware myself, something is missing or wrong /even though it compiles fine) - the blue LED not flashing seems to indicate that something is not working as it should and power checking does not start.
So in the end I have couple questions:
1. Anybody has any ideas what I may be doing wrong? Or what to check, how to proceed further?
2. Was anybody able to compile the firmware and after flashing the device worked as expected?
3. How is the manufacturer provided .img built?
Problem building and function of SmartPower3 firmware
- odroid
- Site Admin
- Posts: 40798
- Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
- languages_spoken: English, Korean
- ODROIDs: ODROID
- Has thanked: 3089 times
- Been thanked: 1703 times
- Contact:
Re: Problem building and function of SmartPower3 firmware
We will try reproducing the issue since the latest firmware was built near one year ago.
Give us a few days.
Give us a few days.
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2023 11:48 pm
- languages_spoken: english, czech
- ODROIDs: SmartPower3
- Has thanked: 0
- Been thanked: 0
- Contact:
Re: Problem building and function of SmartPower3 firmware
@odroid Thank you very much - will be eagerly waiting for a reply.
Please let me know if you need any more info.
Please let me know if you need any more info.
-
- Posts: 13
- Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:57 am
- languages_spoken: english
- ODROIDs: H2 H2+ H3+ C4 HC4 SmartPower3
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 5 times
- Contact:
Re: Problem building and function of SmartPower3 firmware
I experience the same problem: The firmware compiles and loads fine, but the device shows "00V 00A" in red in the upper left corner.
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest