sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post Reply
paulcrawford
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:51 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c2, n2 and n2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Contact:

sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by paulcrawford »

On occasion I need to restart the router that the sp3 is connected to. When this happens the sp3 wifi connection is lost meaning that udp connection is gone as well so no data can be seen.

Is it possible to change the firmware so that if wifi is lost that there is an active reconnection? This is the only device I have on wifi that cannot survive a router restart.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 1594
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 185 times
Been thanked: 199 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by mctom »

And what do you do to reconnect SP3? Turn it off and on again?
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

paulcrawford
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:51 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c2, n2 and n2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by paulcrawford »

Worse than that. I have found that I have go through the entire configuring WiFi via the serial port(as per the wiki) to get reconnected. Even then it may take a restart of the sp3 to get the UDP to actually start running. A very awkward and totally manual procedure that should not be required IMHO.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 2513 times
Been thanked: 1382 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by odroid »

We will try finding any possible way to implement an auto-reconnecting feature.
But it may take a long time since the default ESP-Arduino WiFi framework library didn't support that natively.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
paulcrawford (Tue Apr 26, 2022 5:54 am)

rpgfun
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 4:10 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: HC1, HC2, C1, SP3
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by rpgfun »

I also experienced that my SP3 lost the wifi configuration once, but it was not related to a router restart and it did not happen again. No idea how that could have happened, very strange.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 39117
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 2513 times
Been thanked: 1382 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by odroid »

We've tried to reproduce the issue with the latest firmware : Build date : Feb 22 2022 17:53:42 version 1.9
https://wiki.odroid.com/accessory/power ... 3_firmware

We ran the following steps.
1. SP3 UDP setup (WIFI AP, UDP IP/Port settings)
2. Client PC Setup
3. Client ran a terminal with netcat -u -l {Port_numbers}
4. Checked log-data on the terminal
5. Turned off the WiFi AP
6. Checked WiFi connection status Icon on the SP3. It disconnected as expected.
7. There should be no Data log on the Client PC.
8. Turned on the WiFi AP power.
9. Wait around 10 ~ 20 seconds and the WiFi connection was established automatically. :o :D
10. We could see log-data on the Client PC.

I've just heard the latest version already had the auto-reconnecting feature when February firmware released..
In fact, I've used a slightly old January version which had no auto-reconnecting function. :oops:

If you run an old firmware, update it first.
These users thanked the author odroid for the post:
mctom (Tue Apr 26, 2022 4:20 pm)

paulcrawford
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:51 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c2, n2 and n2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by paulcrawford »

Thanks @odroid. I am running the latest firmware so I will dig a little deeper to try to establish specifically what is happening with my particular set up.

paulcrawford
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 11:51 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: c2, n2 and n2+
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 14 times
Contact:

Re: sp3 seems to lose wifi connection if router restarted

Post by paulcrawford »

@odroid, I did a test in exactly the same way as you described but even waiting for several minutes a wifi connection was not made by the sp3. I also made a change in the settings on the wireless router, which causes a restart of the router but no loss of power, and got the same result that the sp3 did not reconnect. When I disconnected power to the sp3 and reconnected power, contrary to my earlier concerns, the wifi connection came back on the sp3 and the logging could be seen in the terminal without putting the wifi AP name and password or the host ip address and port. So I was wrong about that needing to be redone.

My wireless router is a Linksys Model A03V2 which uses wifi 5 (802.11ac). Also connected to it wirelessly are a Canon printer and Belkin WEMO Smart Plug both of which reconnect to the router on either a router restart or shutdown and power-up, so the sp3 is the only device that does not reconnect without disconnecting power and reconnecting.

Post Reply

Return to “Smart Power”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests