No HDMI output

Locked
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29651
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

No HDMI output

Unread post by odroid » Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:29 pm

If there is no HDMI output even the Blue LED is blinking well, try and check below things.
1. Try other monitors/TVs or different HDMI cable.
Some monitors/TVs need full ground connection while some cheap HDMI cables have no ground shield on Clock/Data0/Data1/Data2.
My LG M2780D monitor doesn't show anything if there is no 4 shields in the cable.
Check below picture. Type-A is a normal size HDMI and Type-D is a micro size HDMI.
hdmi_pinout_new.PNG
Buy our HDMI cable or validated/qualified one.

2. Some monitors have non-standard EDID function.
In this case, you need to select the Non-EDID mode in the odroid-config.

3. Some cable has a shorter plug.
Remove the plastic case for better connection.

4. Some people mentioned a workaround with non-standard HDMI cable.
If there is a USB host port on the monitor, connect the a micro-USB cable to Monito/TV and ODROID.
It can make the ground path between TV and ODROID.

5. Some people also solved the issue by Adding a jumper between micro-HDMI and micro-USB.
http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 894#p69549
It can make the ground path between TV and ODROID.

Harold Ganeyvim
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:51 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: No HDMI output

Unread post by Harold Ganeyvim » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:38 am

Is there a way to check the HDMI port from the Command line with putty?
In other words, no connection to monitor or cable, just to make sure that the port is alive.

User avatar
robroy
Posts: 3398
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:29 am
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: Q2, X, X2, U2, U3, XU-E, XU3, XU4, C1, C1+, C2
Location: San Francisco, California
Contact:

Re: No HDMI output

Unread post by robroy » Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:31 am

Harold Ganeyvim wrote:Is there a way to check the HDMI port from the Command line with putty?
In other words, no connection to monitor or cable, just to make sure that the port is alive.
Look in /var/log/kern.log for an "HDMI plugged" message. You'll have to use an HDMI cable to prompt the message.
Rob Roy, Editor-in-Chief of ODROID Magazine (submit an article | make a donation)

Remorilla
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:31 pm
languages_spoken: english, spanish
Contact:

Re: No HDMI output

Unread post by Remorilla » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:13 pm

Yesterday my U3 arrived and I have this problem using the Android JB BETA 2.3 image. I bought the HDMI cable from Hardkernel and tried two different monitors (Sony and Samsung) with the same results: blue led blinking and no image.
Is anything else I can try?

mdrjr
Site Admin
Posts: 11698
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No HDMI output

Unread post by mdrjr » Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:12 am

Remorilla wrote:Yesterday my U3 arrived and I have this problem using the Android JB BETA 2.3 image. I bought the HDMI cable from Hardkernel and tried two different monitors (Sony and Samsung) with the same results: blue led blinking and no image.
Is anything else I can try?
are both monitors cable of 1080p?
do they have multiple hdmi ports? some HDMI ports on monitors/TV are labeled (HDMI(DVI)) those ports can be.. problematic :)

Remorilla
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:31 pm
languages_spoken: english, spanish
Contact:

Re: No HDMI output

Unread post by Remorilla » Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:39 am

mdrjr wrote:are both monitors cable of 1080p?
do they have multiple hdmi ports? some HDMI ports on monitors/TV are labeled (HDMI(DVI)) those ports can be.. problematic :)
I fanally get it working using the xubuntu image, it isn't a HDMI problem. I think my problem is the low speed when booting from the micro SD card. I didn't wait long enough to see Android booting.

Thank you for your reply :P

Locked

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest