Adding a power-on switch.

Post Reply
User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:51 pm

1. Prepare a push switch with 2 wires.
sw1.png
sw1.png (511.69 KiB) Viewed 15142 times
2. Connect the 2 wires to Pin1(P5V0) and Pin12(PWRON) on 30Pin IO port.
board_a.png
board_a.png (655.09 KiB) Viewed 15142 times
Refer this pin map
Image


Some monitors/TVs have a reverse current on HDMI signals which prevents the full shutdown of PMIC.
It causes the non-booting issue from time to time.

With this solution of adding a Switch, that issue was resolved.
You don't need to unplug the HDMI cable for power cycling.
PWRON signal on PMIC is resetting the malfunction state.

janrinze
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:31 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU-E
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by janrinze » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:25 pm

Does this work in combination with 'Suspend' where the kernel suspends to RAM?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:30 pm

janrinze wrote:Does this work in combination with 'Suspend' where the kernel suspends to RAM?
There is no relation to the Suspend mode support with this "Switch Implementation".

christof
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:54 pm
languages_spoken: german, english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by christof » Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:58 pm

Would it be possible to connect a switch to the IO port witch selects the boot mode (MicroSD or eMMC modules)?

I do not like always play with the SW1 switch. :(

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:13 pm

The boot mode signals are not connected to the IO port. ;(

jolmer
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:52 pm
languages_spoken: English, Dutch, German
ODROIDs: U2, XU
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by jolmer » Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:07 am

For everyone that missed my 'boot on power up with HDMI connected' fix, here's the howto:

http://forum.odroid.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=2868

~Jolmer

Necrum
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:54 am
languages_spoken: spanish, english
ODROIDs: ODROID-XU
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by Necrum » Fri Dec 27, 2013 4:26 am

Works flawlessly! Many thanks for this!

nexarine
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:29 am
languages_spoken: English & German
ODROIDs: XU Lite
8GB eMMC (Android)
Wifi module
RTC battery
Logitech k400r keyboard/trackpad
And more :-)

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by nexarine » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:21 am

I added a power-on switch (as shown above) to my XU-Lite (running Android alpha 2.4), which is working just like it should.

When I use the 'power' menu in Android to shut down, the XU shuts down and powers off, with only the red LED remaining on.
When I choose 'reboot' instead, well, the XU shuts down and then restarts. So far, so good.

My question, though: Can the HDMI leakage current do any damage to my XU at all (in the long run)? (Specificially the PMIC, if the current won't allow it to completely shut down?)

Which is better: to turn my XU on and off (with the power supply remaining connected), or to have it running 24/7 (Android up and blue LED blinking)?

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:34 pm

We've never heard that HDMI leakage current can damage the PMIC.
The maximum value of the leakage is 5~10mA in most cases. So it should be safe.

nexarine
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 10:29 am
languages_spoken: English & German
ODROIDs: XU Lite
8GB eMMC (Android)
Wifi module
RTC battery
Logitech k400r keyboard/trackpad
And more :-)

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by nexarine » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:44 am

Thank you! What about my second question...? :)

mdrjr
Site Admin
Posts: 11698
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:34 pm
languages_spoken: english, portuguese
ODROIDs: -
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by mdrjr » Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:45 am

nexarine wrote:Thank you! What about my second question...? :)
In both cases XU will be fine ;)

walter
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:26 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: odroid- xu light
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by walter » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:03 pm

Dear Sir
I would like you give me more information about this button .As I understand it is "inheritance" from GALAXY .
My device Is ODROID XU LITE + 10.1 LCD .
When I push the button briefly the screen goes out and is waiting next push
- no problem .
My question is :
What is " logic " and "timing" when I push long time .
It is very important for me .

By the way , may be it is usefull to connect +5 v and PWRON through resistor and
use capacitor.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:37 am

If you push the button very long time, OS will popup a dialog box of POWER-OFF.

nukularpower
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:27 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Xu3
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by nukularpower » Sat Jan 24, 2015 6:23 am

Can someone help? I'm looking to get my odroid to power on/off with the push of a momentary toggle switch. Will hooking it up like this have that effect? Just want to be sure - would this work with something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005GD ... UTF8&psc=1

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:07 pm

I think that momentary toggle switch seems to be an electrically equivalent of the push button.

Arlyss
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:36 pm
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by Arlyss » Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:57 pm

Hello guys !

The idea to have an external power switch is important to my project,
but i'm not sure about a thing, from the first post :

Did you use a switch (keeping state 0 or 1) or a simple button (like a computer power button) ?
I need to know if it's possible (and how) to boot up when i push a push a simple button (which is "1" only if my finger is pushing).

Thanks ;)

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Sat Oct 24, 2015 12:38 pm

@Arlyss
Which board and OS do you use?

IlMagnate
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 11:09 am
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by IlMagnate » Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:30 am

I've used a simple button with 4 contatcs and only two, opposites, connected. All is as in first photo in first post. With 2 second press it starts and on a long press, about 5 seconds, it shut down.

Inviato dal mio SM-G925F utilizzando Tapatalk

Archaon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:31 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by Archaon » Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:36 am

Hi all,

This is definitely something I'd want to do - one question though.

Should the switch be a momentary (just makes brief contact, like a PC power button, for example) or latched type (stays in the on or off position until the switch is moved or pressed, like traditional toggle switch)?

Also wondering if there's anywhere to power a LED from (e.g. one mounted on a power switch), other than to power it from USB?

Thanks

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:37 am

It should be momentary type.

Which board do you use?

Archaon
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 7:31 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by Archaon » Thu Dec 24, 2015 9:19 pm

odroid wrote:It should be momentary type.

Which board do you use?
I don't have one at the moment but the XU4 is the top choice for a project I'm going to do soon.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:27 am

Yes, this XU method can be applicable to XU4 too.

The power source of the extra LED can be conntected to 1.8V rail on the 30pin header via resistor.
http://odroid.com/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=en:xu4_hardware
So you need to consider a low-voltage capable LED.

Otherwise, use the USB bus power as you considered.

BigBCC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:37 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by BigBCC » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:42 am

I'm abput to purchase an XU4, was curious to if wiring a switch like this while on if it loads the shut down script when you press the button, or if it just cuts the power off.

Thanks in advance

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:47 am

It runs the shutdown script once you press the button.

BigBCC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:37 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by BigBCC » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:28 am

odroid wrote:
Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:47 am
It runs the shutdown script once you press the button.
Great! Just what I needed to know, next question.
Is there an easy way to add a secondary switch on another GPIO pin that when pressed, immediately runs a restart switch? The build I'm doing will be housed in an original PlayStation console, and I would like to keep things as functionally "accurate" as possible.

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 29380
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English
ODROIDs: ODROID
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by odroid » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:58 am

A reboot trigger must be feasible with a GPIO.
Do you have a little experience of shell script programming?

BigBCC
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:37 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Adding a power-on switch.

Unread post by BigBCC » Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:30 am

odroid wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:58 am
A reboot trigger must be feasible with a GPIO.
Do you have a little experience of shell script programming?
I may have done it in the past, but if I have it's been since January of 2011 when ubuntu originally switched to Unity, so any sources you can link me to, in order to read up on it/learn more would be greatly appreciated.

It will be a little while before I get on this build though, as I only ordered my xu4 on December 28th. Speaking of which, they're supposed to be dispatching starting tomorrow, correct? Do you all give tracking numbers once shipped??

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest