Noob looking for media center solution

bluesboy1987
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Noob looking for media center solution

Post by bluesboy1987 »

Hi all,

I'm a complete noob concerning Odroid and other mini-PCs.

However I'm looking for a device that is capable of playing netflix with VPN and playing 1080p movies and series from an external HDD on my TV.
(and preferably also a torrent download setup)

Would it be better to purchase the C1+ or the XU4?

And how about file support? Does it support most files (including subs)?

Thanks for the answers!

Ciao,

Nils

meveric
languages_spoken: german, english
ODROIDs: X2, U2, U3, XU-Lite, XU3, XU3-Lite, C1, XU4, C2, C1+, XU4Q, HC1, N1, Go, H2 (N4100), N2, H2 (J4105), GoA, C4, GoA v1.1, H2+, HC4, GoS

Re: Noob looking for media center solution

Post by meveric »

If you want to run multiple programs at once (watching movies, while downloading torrents) you are probably better off with an XU4, since the C1 has some issues due to only 1GB of RAM.

Movies, in 1080p over external HDD shouldn't be an issue for either C1 or XU4.
XU4 can play all formats but, H.265 on the XU4 is only software decoded, since it does not have a hardware decoder, but tests indicate, that 720p and even 1080p H.265 movies should work fine on the XU4 in software decoding.
C1 can play hardware decoded H.265 but had issues with MPEG2 and sometimes MPEG4 in the past. Which means you probably won't be able to play DVDs or DVD rips on the C1.

Subs shouldn't be an issue.

I'm not sure about Netflix, there are some guides for this, but I never tried and don't have an account.