odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Share here your ideas for new projects
Post Reply
sydarn2
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:36 pm
languages_spoken: English, German, Swedish
ODROIDs: Go, Go Advance
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by sydarn2 »

Hi,

the Amlogic A311D2 was recently released, and it has some benefits over S922X that is in the N2+, namely:

- 2 more A53 cores
- Better GPU, 8 EE instead of 6.
- More RAM, up to 16GB.
- And more see: https://www.cnx-software.com/2021/10/21 ... -16gb-ram/

Since the amount RAM was increased it should now be much more feasible to use this in desktop scenario.

Do you plan to release a new board that utilities this new SoC?
These users thanked the author sydarn2 for the post (total 2):
MichaelHart (Wed Nov 03, 2021 9:21 pm) • elatllat (Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:56 am)

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mctom »

There is something wrong with this world that 4GB of RAM is not enough to use a computer as a desktop. :/

And the chip must have been around for a while, seems that Khadas has already released a board with it.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

crashoverride
Posts: 5747
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 8:42 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: C1
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 590 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by crashoverride »

mctom wrote:
Thu Oct 21, 2021 8:10 pm
seems that Khadas has already released a board with it.
I don't think those are actual product photos. In the top view, the SoC looks photoshopped. The bottom view is clearly marked as an existing product.

My hope would be that since this is so similar to N2, an updated vendor kernel (5.4) and Mali driver will be provided that works on N2/C4.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mctom »

That explains a lot. :D
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

chewitt
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:27 pm
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 134 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by chewitt »

The vendor kernel for A311D2 is based on Linux 5.4 but it's basically the same 4.19 bits forward-ported and make to fit. There is a hint of convergence with upstream in a couple of not-very-exciting places but that's all. On the upside it means upstream support shouldn't be too complicated. Upstream media capabilities will be the achilles heel that forces people to use the vendor kernel (no change).

MichaelHart
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 10:49 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: ODroid C2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by MichaelHart »

This looks very promising. HDMI 2.1 Input and also AV1 support from AMLogic.
This would make a great media box with Kodi or Android TV

Edit: Seems the Khadas VIM4 isn't released/announced yet and is said to be the first board using this SoC

sydarn2
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:36 pm
languages_spoken: English, German, Swedish
ODROIDs: Go, Go Advance
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by sydarn2 »

It would be cool if this could be put inside a keyboard like RPI400, the benefit here is that it can have 8GB or 16GB or RAM which should be sufficient for desktop needs.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mctom »

No idea why on earth would anyone want to be forced to use one specific keyboard, especially a crappy one without numpad. But that's just me.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

sydarn2
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2019 9:36 pm
languages_spoken: English, German, Swedish
ODROIDs: Go, Go Advance
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 13 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by sydarn2 »

I think the idea is that it is relatively portable one piece system, and probably people use it as a secondary desktop solution to their main x86 based one anyway. And while monitors usually have several inputs having the keyboard already available would eliminate need of KVM switch or manually swapping keyboards. That, and that it is an homage to 80's home computers which often had this design.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mctom »

Well, to me it's a fill between SBCs and laptops that has no advantage of neither of those.
Unless someone really wants a portable system that stills needs a display and power adapter to work. And a mouse, presumably.
Or someone actually wants to keep a secondary desktop right next to their primary desktop, and refuse to use VNC or something.

Anyway, like I said that's just me an my reasons why I'd never buy such a thing. But I've seen comments on social media regarding Rpi400. Literally thousands of hyped out people who really wanted to get one, so it's definitely not a commercial flop.
RasPi's marketing is excellent right from the very beginning in 2010-ish. So perhaps a similar product from other manufacturers could become just as popular. As long as the hype doesn't originate from fanboys that'd buy anything from RPi, even the official sack of potatoes.

On the other hand, I just checked and it seems right now Pi400 4GB costs the same as Pi 4B 4GB. In this case I could imagine a scenario where this would be a feasible option. A kiosk, or a computer plugged right into the TV for family members that never had one. If it could do video calls, that would be great for seniors.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10955
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4 (HC1, HC2), C1+, C2, C4 (HC4), N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance, M1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 996 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mad_ady »

And while monitors usually have several inputs having the keyboard already available would eliminate need of KVM switch or manually swapping keyboards.
There are software tools like synergy and its clones that allow you to share a keyboard/mouse seamlessly
That, and that it is an homage to 80's home computers which often had this design.
That is true, but by using the same logic, it should ship with a CRT TV attached Image
The 80's were great, but they're a long way off.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by mctom »

mad_ady wrote:
Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:50 am
There are software tools like synergy and its clones that allow you to share a keyboard/mouse seamlessly
I was thinking the same thing, but then you'd need another display for RPi400 which defeats the purpose of dedicated keyboard. ;)
mad_ady wrote:
Tue Nov 16, 2021 1:50 am
That is true, but by using the same logic, it should ship with a CRT TV attached Image
Or at least provide composite video output, like the original Pi did.

Back at the time of release of the very first Pi, the whole reasoning behind this SBC was to provide accessibility to computing in the poorest corners of the world. That explains dead low price, cheap SD storage, composite video output, audio jack output, and powering from mobile phone charger.
They quickly drifted apart from these ideas, sadly.
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

Glorious1
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2022 3:53 am
languages_spoken: english
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by Glorious1 »

So here we are a year later. Is Hardkernel working on an Odroid using the A311D2?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9723
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 767 times
Been thanked: 526 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by rooted »

Glorious1 wrote:So here we are a year later. Is Hardkernel working on an Odroid using the A311D2?
They don't reveal this information.

User avatar
istanbulls
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 10:18 pm
languages_spoken: Turkish
ODROIDs: ODROID; N2, C4, XU4, N2+, CH4
Location: Istanbul-Turkey
Has thanked: 481 times
Been thanked: 150 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by istanbulls »

A powerful Odroid SBC with 8gb ram s922x and above has been the expectation of all Odroid fans for a long time.
Every year we wait for this year to be that year.

phaseshifter
Posts: 3784
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: U-2,U3+,,XU-3,,XU3-LITE,,XU-4
C1+,,C-2,,,n2+2G and n2 4G
cloudshell I and shell II
N-1,,N-2,...other odroid acc`s as well..vu7 etc..all sorts of sbc`s these days
Has thanked: 69 times
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by phaseshifter »

with why not gddr5 ram at say 2100 or more at 4 gig for Linux is good enough been... not many apps that need more ram rather the faster the peripherals are the better the system will run .... how about faster internal cache/// yes i agree why not an 8 core..

are you shure an rpi400 does not have a 3.5 with composite out put...
necessity the mother of all creation and invention..!!!..check out the world ...long live rock and roll.....

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 9723
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Has thanked: 767 times
Been thanked: 526 times
Contact:

Re: odroid N3 with Amlogic A311D2?

Post by rooted »

4GB isn't really suitable for a desktop environment these days, webpages being so large is the reason.

Otherwise 4GB is usually enough for day to day tasks.

Post Reply

Return to “The Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest