Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Post Reply
TOMillr
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Unread post by TOMillr » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:29 am

I'm looking into building a fanless, 24/7 Plex Server and I can decide between which of the passively cooled Odroid device I should get.

Any advice on which one (C2, XU4Q or HC1) I should get?

Since hardware transcoding doesn't seem to work when using Plex, is the additional horsepower of the XU4Q or HC1 enough to do some light software transcoding (a single h.264 stream)?

TOMillr
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Nobody?

Unread post by TOMillr » Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:54 am

Nobody tried both a C2 and XU4Q as a Plex server?

I'm still wondering how much difference the additional horsepower of a XU4Q would make for software transcoding of audio/video on a Plex server.

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6298
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Unread post by rooted » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:00 am

Yes the XU4 and variants can software transcode a single stream, the C2 cannot.

TOMillr
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:41 am
languages_spoken: english
Contact:

Re: Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Unread post by TOMillr » Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:59 pm

Sounds good. Will the XU4Q still be able to software transcode a single stream with the CPU clock speed set down to 1,8Ghz?

User avatar
rooted
Posts: 6298
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:12 am
languages_spoken: english
Location: Gulf of Mexico, US
Contact:

Re: Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Unread post by rooted » Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:50 am

TOMillr wrote:Sounds good. Will the XU4Q still be able to software transcode a single stream with the CPU clock speed set down to 1,8Ghz?
Likely

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 5234
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4, C1+, C2, N1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: Plex server: can't decide between C2, XU4Q or HC1

Unread post by mad_ady » Mon Mar 26, 2018 4:01 am

HC1 as well. But there are threads around about hardware transcoding with ffmpeg. If plex uses it, hardware transcoding might work out-of-the box.

Post Reply

Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest