Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post Reply
Eric10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english,dutch,german,french
ODROIDs: M1 4Gb
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by Eric10 »

Hello,
I'd like to build my M1 into a recycled computer cabinet, to turn it into a kind of home cloud. I'll probably be using the screw holes in the heat sink to mount it.
Now my question is probably silly, but I want to make sure: is it OK if the heat sink is electrically connected to the computer cabinet? Is it advisable to connect the minus of the power supply for the M1 also to the computer cabinet?
Thanks,
Eric

User avatar
odroid
Site Admin
Posts: 40074
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:14 pm
languages_spoken: English, Korean
ODROIDs: ODROID
Has thanked: 2841 times
Been thanked: 1602 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by odroid »

The ground(GND) should be 0 volt.
Do not connect it to -12 Volt from the PC PSU.

Which power supply do you want to use with ODROID-M1?
Does your power supply AC input connect to the ground(earth) of the wallet output?

Eric10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english,dutch,german,french
ODROIDs: M1 4Gb
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by Eric10 »

odroid wrote:
Tue Nov 22, 2022 6:20 pm
The ground(GND) should be 0 volt.
Do not connect it to -12 Volt from the PC PSU.
The original PC power unit has been removed, I'm not using it.
Which power supply do you want to use with ODROID-M1?
I'm using a 12V 3A power supply that used to belong to an LG monitor (I like to re-use old stuff).
Does your power supply AC input connect to the ground(earth) of the wallet output?
It does have a wall plug with ground, but the multimeter shows that the ground is not connected to the 12V + or - output.
Obviously, the metal PC cabinet should be connected to the wall socket gnd.
But should the -12V also be connected to the gnd/cabinet?
Thanks.

L67GS
Posts: 908
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 3:02 pm
languages_spoken: English, Jibberish, Pig Latin
ODROIDs: XU4, M1 8GB, C1+, (3) C0's, H3+, N2L 4GB, and a whole big pile of accessories, VU7A Plus,, MIPI-CSI Camera Kit, etc....
Location: Great Lakes Region, U.S.A
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 114 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by L67GS »

Typically an enclosure would be tied to earth ground, the one that comes in with your AC, and I personally would not bother tying the DC- into it at the same time. If there's no AC physically coming into the case, grounding the case isn't really a concern in the first place, but you could tie the DC- into the chassis with no repercussion. Realistically, it's only 12V so it's not like you're doing anything dangerous. More than likely when you mount the SBC to the case it will ground through the heatsink whether you want it to or not.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by mctom »

Agreed, no need to worry about anything. And forget -12V, your power adapter should have only +12V and GND output.

And as @L67GS said, don't bother connecting old PC chassis to anything.

I hope you don't mind me asking, by would you put a small and elegant computer like M1into a big PC box? Or is it smaller than I imagine?
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

Eric10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english,dutch,german,french
ODROIDs: M1 4Gb
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by Eric10 »

L67GS wrote:
Wed Nov 23, 2022 6:14 am
If there's no AC physically coming into the case, grounding the case isn't really a concern in the first place, but you could tie the DC- into the chassis with no repercussion. Realistically, it's only 12V so it's not like you're doing anything dangerous. More than likely when you mount the SBC to the case it will ground through the heatsink whether you want it to or not.
Thanks for your answer. Actually, AC is coming into the case because the power supplies for the M1and the hard disk will be in there. I will probably place a 3-socket block inside the case. I will connect the case to the AC gnd and follow your advice and not bother about the DC -.
mctom wrote:
Wed Nov 23, 2022 7:56 am
I hope you don't mind me asking, by would you put a small and elegant computer like M1into a big PC box? Or is it smaller than I imagine?
It's not smaller than you think - it's an Optiplex 960 case.
Elegance is not going to be the strongest point of my project. I just want something that I can leave on all the time and that I can run things on like web/media/file server.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by mctom »

Eric10 wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 5:35 am
the power supplies for the M1and the hard disk will be in there. I will probably place a 3-socket block inside the case.
Well, can't you use a single PSU for both M1 and HDD?
Or if that's Optiplex 960 case, perhaps using the original PSU isn't the worst idea after all?
And third option, a HDD supply mod for M1:
viewtopic.php?p=346588#p346588

I do own M1 server with 3.5" HDD, no case is involved. I had similar choice to make, and since 3,5" spinner requires both 12V and 5V I did the mod, rather than using more than one PSU.
viewtopic.php?f=217&t=45659
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

User avatar
mad_ady
Posts: 10955
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 5:00 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: XU4 (HC1, HC2), C1+, C2, C4 (HC4), N1, N2, H2, Go, Go Advance, M1
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 996 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by mad_ady »

I'll be doing the mod as well (when I get to it). I plan on adding a salvaged 2.5" enterprise disk, that requires 12V as well.

Eric10
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2022 1:02 am
languages_spoken: english,dutch,german,french
ODROIDs: M1 4Gb
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by Eric10 »

mctom wrote:
Thu Nov 24, 2022 7:09 am
Well, can't you use a single PSU for both M1 and HDD?
Maybe, if it works for you (and if the mod works) then it will probably work for me to have both on the 3A supply.
Or if that's Optiplex 960 case, perhaps using the original PSU isn't the worst idea after all?
I'd be using only a fraction of the power of that PSU. So it's not my favourite option.
And third option, a HDD supply mod for M1:
viewtopic.php?p=346588#p346588
Interesting, but I don't want to modify the M1.

User avatar
mctom
Posts: 2254
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:44 am
languages_spoken: english, polish
ODROIDs: OGA, XU4, C2, M1, H3+, SP3, Vu8M
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Has thanked: 280 times
Been thanked: 368 times
Contact:

Re: Mount M1 in computer cabinet

Post by mctom »

Eric10 wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 5:07 am
I'd be using only a fraction of the power of that PSU. So it's not my favourite option.
That doesn't mean it will draw more power than the small power supply, if that's what you're worried about. I use 300W power supply for my server, because I've got plans for additional features.
Using ATX power supply will give you flexibility to add more peripherals to your server in the future, even those you're not even aware of right now. Also it fits in the case nicely. The only drawback I can think of is a fan, if it's a noisy one.
Eric10 wrote:
Fri Nov 25, 2022 5:07 am
Interesting, but I don't want to modify the M1.
Fair enough. That's yet another reason in favor of using a built in PSU. :)
Punk ain't no religious cult, punk means thinking for yourself!

Maintainer of PiStackMon

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests