Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post Reply
kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

Hi, i was playing around with trying to install ubunto 22.04... and trying to get it to startup from my rufus created bootable usb -- sofar no success

I also enter the command : fw_setenv skip_spiboot true (maybe that was not good idea afterall)

and now i only get a screen showing the "HARDKERNEL" logo..

Tried holding spi recovery button without success

1) how can i get back into my spi boor menu ?
2) how can i boot from a rufus created usb stick ?

i only have an m.2 ssd in the system (no emmc) -- i assume (hope) the system can boot from ssd ...

also wireless keyboard attached (may not work at this stage)

thx koen

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

Two problems here,
1) Back to SPI bootloader, flash the image in the link to SD card and try to boot from is on your ODROID-M1. When you have Petitboot, run fw_setenv skip_spiboot false in the command line and reboot without SD card. Check if your Petitboot is back.

2) USB Stick, booting from other storages rather than eMMC or SD is only possible with Petitboot. If you have M.2 storage in a USB storage, check if you can access the storage in the Petitboot commnad line and it has partitions. Ubuntu 22.04 can be installed from Petitboot directly. Run netboot_default in the command line and back to Petitboot menu, then select Ubuntu 22.04 Netboot Installer.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:16 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

hi, thx, so i guess i need at least one micro-sd or emmc card to get this one going again ... ? right?

So what is that button for named RCY (spi recovery) ? It does not seem do do anything ?

And is there any way without micro-sd or emmc card to get this one going again ?

I do not have an micro-sd or emmc card yet (i can purchase one if really needed ...but it will take me a day)

I just have a large 2tb samsung ssd in the system ..

thx for any responses

PS - hope i can also do with usb native keyboard (only have few wireless keyboards - with usb dongle btw)

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:59 am
hi, thx, so i guess i need at least one micro-sd or emmc card to get this one going again ... ? right?
You need SD card, not eMMC, to recover SPI.
So what is that button for named RCY (spi recovery) ? It does not seem do do anything ?
It's to recover SPI when it's completely messy. Notthing can be recovered automatically without nothing, you still need SD card when the button works.
And is there any way without micro-sd or emmc card to get this one going again ?
Sorry, not at all for your case.
I do not have an micro-sd or emms card yet (i can purchase one if really needed ...)
Please purcahse Sandroid UHS-I degree for easy recover, cheapy or non-brand SD would not work.
I just have a large 2tb samsung ssd in the system ..
So it's not M.2 storage...right?
What's the vendor/model of it?
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:16 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

samsung 970 evo plus 2tb
its m.2 nvme

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »


User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:12 am
https://www.bol.com/nl/nl/p/samsung-evo ... modal_open


guess this one is ok ?
This would be ok, but small capacity like 8GB is fine if you do not consider to install an OS to SD card.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 1:07 am
samsung 970 evo plus 2tb
its m.2 nvme
You are confusing me with USB storage and M.2 NVME.
Please share the exact product page you have and picture how you connected it to ODROID-M1.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

the samsung 970 evo pro is an m.2 ssd directly mounted on the board in the m.2 slot (so not talking about sata ssd and also not talking about usb attached disk).

https://www.reichelt.nl/nl/nl/samsung-s ... os_0&nbc=1
Last edited by kdwykleingeld on Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

when i refer to "usb" i mean: i have created a bootable usb stick using rufus and an ubuntu .iso i downloaded.. so that one was in one of the USB ports of the board and i tried to boot from there ... i set the boot device to usb but that did not work

after that i screwed up the system with that command

will purcahse micro sd to get it going again and hopefully be abl;e to store the OS on the m.2 ssd

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:01 am
the samsung 970 evo pro is an m.2 ssd directly mounted on the board in the m.2 slot (so not talking about sata ssd and also not talking about usb attached disk).
So please show me the product page of your M.2, I guess your storage would not be compatible.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:04 am
when i refer to "usb" i mean: i have created a bootable usb stick using rufus and an ubuntu .iso i downloaded.. so that one was in one of the USB ports of the board and i tried to boot from there ... i set the boot device to usb but that did not work
If you mean the Ubuntu ISO from Canonical site, it won't work. You need to use the customized Ubuntu for ODROID-M1.
after that i screwed up the system with that command

will purcahse micro sd to get it going again and hopefully be abl;e to store the OS on the m.2 ssd
Better to continue once you recover SPI/Petitboot. But meanwhile, again, please share the exact product page of your M.2 storage.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:24 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

the ssd: https://www.reichelt.nl/nl/nl/samsung-s ... os_0&nbc=1



ps - it is the 970 evo plus (not the pro as i mentioned - sorry for that)
Last edited by kdwykleingeld on Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

its m.2 nvme 3 -- so why should it not be compatible ?

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

and where do i download the odroid-m1 ubuntu ?

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

sd card ordered ...

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:20 am
its m.2 nvme 3 -- so why should it not be compatible ?
I assumed your NVMe is SSD, not PCIe type. Apparently it's not after checking the product page about your NVMe.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:23 am
and where do i download the odroid-m1 ubuntu ?
No need to download, you can install from Petitboot through network when you recover SPI.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:55 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

hi thanks, so my m.2 samsung 970 evo plus is supported ?

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

maybe one other question : exactly what should i put on this micro sd card in ordrr to get it going again ?

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 3:55 am
maybe one other question : exactly what should i put on this micro sd card in ordrr to get it going again ?
Flash this image to your new SD card and boot from it, this will start the Petitboot from SD card. Then run fw_setenv skip_spiboot false in the command line, this will let you have Petitboot again without SD card.
http://ppa.linuxfactory.or.kr/images/pe ... 304.img.xz
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Tue Jun 21, 2022 10:28 pm)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

Hi gm, thanks, will try that. Thx for all support !

reg koen

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

hi, fixed that one ! Many thanks !!

used balenaetcher but that one only seems to work from local storage (not when the image is on network drive) -- but it worked ..
Last edited by kdwykleingeld on Tue Jun 21, 2022 10:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

Next question:
1) i have set Boot Order in System Configuration to (0) disk: sda1 [uuid: xxxxxx] --> so it seems to find my m.2 disk .....
2) I have issued the commands "udhcpc" and "netboot_default"
3) now i select one of those 5 software images (for example ubuntu 22.04) and press enter
4) I see a message "booting Ubuntu 22.04 ..." on the bottom of the screen ----- but nothing happens ??

am i missing something ?

thx koen

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

-- when i

1) change the Boot Order in System Configuration to (0) net" eth0 .....
2) run thos commands again
3) select the ubuntu 22.04 image

it starts downloading something -- and at the end a complete messages --> but nothing else happens

so where did that download go to ? and how would i boot from there ?



ps -- after ower off/on it now says : probing from ... and after that PXE autoconfiguation failed
Last edited by kdwykleingeld on Tue Jun 21, 2022 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

and maybe a stupid question ... is there a "shutdown -Fr" kind of command ? i cannot find a shutdown command and have to switch off power all the time to reboot the system to test something out ??

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

update - when i select the last one from the list (something like ubuntu live experimental) it seems to install something but i end up with an login screen

odroid/odroid works and i can login to work

no clue what the root password is in this image ..

AND -- when i restart the system it is gone again ?

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 10:37 pm
and maybe a stupid question ... is there a "shutdown -Fr" kind of command ? i cannot find a shutdown command and have to switch off power all the time to reboot the system to test something out ??
Ctrl-Alt-Del

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 11:47 pm
update - when i select the last one from the list (something like ubuntu live experimental) it seems to install something but i end up with an login screen

odroid/odroid works and i can login to work

no clue what the root password is in this image ..

AND -- when i restart the system it is gone again ?
This is only to run the OS temporarly without a disk where OS installed. If it boot, your ODROID-M1 works and can say hardware is ok.

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Tue Jun 21, 2022 10:22 pm
Next question:
1) i have set Boot Order in System Configuration to (0) disk: sda1 [uuid: xxxxxx] --> so it seems to find my m.2 disk .....
Confusing again...Isn't there like /dev/nvme0n1p1 instead of /dev/sda1? /dev/sda* prensents that you have USB storage or SATA storage. NVMe (PCIe) must be presented like /dev/nvme0n1*. What do you have when you run fdisk -l in the command line of your Petitboot?
2) I have issued the commands "udhcpc" and "netboot_default"
3) now i select one of those 5 software images (for example ubuntu 22.04) and press enter
4) I see a message "booting Ubuntu 22.04 ..." on the bottom of the screen ----- but nothing happens ??
It could take some time, maybe several minutes, it depends on how your network is stable or how server is busy. Try a couple of time again and let me know if the blue LED blinks.
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Wed Jun 22, 2022 1:31 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

fdisk -l --> /dev/nvme0n1 (forgot to remove an old usb stick from the usb port ) ... sorry for that .. my bad)

0) i have set (in the petitboot configuration menu) the boot order to "any disk device" --> no clue if that is good or bad
1) i have reissued the udhcpc and netboot_default commands
2) i selected from the list of OS images the upper one (22.04 tls) again end pressed enter

It seems to do something and it ends up with an all grey screen --> i guess that is related to my monitor (i have 3440x1440 kind of monitor attached) --> so have to resolve that

but just in general ? Would this mean that the ubuntu code has been written to my m.2 nvme drive now ?

Because when i restart the system (power off / on) i am presentend again with that petitboot menu... while i was expeting ubuntu to boot up now ?
--> certainly hope i do not have to do that every time ?

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

---> after that restart i did the same again --- now it says for several minuted : "Download complete: Image.gz" and blue led keeps blinking twice every time

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Wed Jun 22, 2022 1:16 am
fdisk -l --> /dev/nvme0n1 (forgot to remove an old usb stick from the usb port ) ... sorry for that .. my bad)

0) i have set (in the petitboot configuration menu) the boot order to "any disk device" --> no clue if that is good or bad
This does not matter, you can change it after any OS is installed.
1) i have reissued the udhcpc and netboot_default commands
2) i selected from the list of OS images the upper one (22.04 tls) again end pressed enter

It seems to do something and it ends up with an all grey screen --> i guess that is related to my monitor (i have 3440x1440 kind of monitor attached) --> so have to resolve that
You should try with a regular FHD TV first (1920x1080), I am not sure if 3440x1440 resolution can be supported. Never seen and never tried. :(
but just in general ? Would this mean that the ubuntu code has been written to my m.2 nvme drive now ?
The menu what you selected is to bring you to installer and you have to answer several things, but if you haven't and not seeing anything on the screen - never been asked to enter your name - which does mean that you have not installed any OS yet.
Because when i restart the system (power off / on) i am presentend again with that petitboot menu... while i was expeting ubuntu to boot up now ?
In which state, did you restart??
If the Netboot Installer is went without an issue, you will see the boot entry in the Petitboot and can select one. Otherwise, OS is not installed.

Alternatively, you could try to flash an OS image instead of installing one through the network.
Ubuntu 20.04
Ubuntu 22.04

Then follow up the instruction, but use ums /dev/nvme0n1 insteard of /dev/sda such that your NVMe on ODROID-M1 can be attached to your PC and flash the image from your PC to ODROID-M1 directly.
viewtopic.php?p=346557#p346557
These users thanked the author tobetter for the post:
kdwykleingeld (Wed Jun 22, 2022 1:31 am)

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

ok i will give that a try

btw no i never did answer any question so i did not enter an installer yet

keep you posted thanks !

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

hi, just directly flashed the m.2 970 evo plus from the ubuntu 22.04 image (through the link you gave me above) and it worked ! It boots up and shows a login panel with 2 accounts : odroid and ubuntu ?

It even works om my large iiyame display (3440x1440) now without problem !

I purchased a cheap acer monitor (1920x1080) with vga input in the local recycling store but that does not present the UI after bootup .. it works with the spi menu ..it also works on my w10 laptop . it is connected via a hdmi to vga adapter .. could that be an issue ?

So the odroid password is odroid ... what would be the ubuntu password in this image ?

And - is this a pre-configure image as i am not taken through any install dialogue ?

thx koen

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Wed Jun 22, 2022 8:56 pm
hi, just directly flashed the m.2 970 evo plus from the ubuntu 22.04 image (through the link you gave me above) and it worked ! It boots up and shows a login panel with 2 accounts : odroid and ubuntu ?

It even works om my large iiyame display (3440x1440) now without problem !

I purchased a cheap acer monitor (1920x1080) with vga input in the local recycling store but that does not present the UI after bootup .. it works with the spi menu ..it also works on my w10 laptop . it is connected via a hdmi to vga adapter .. could that be an issue ?

So the odroid password is odroid ... what would be the ubuntu password in this image ?

And - is this a pre-configure image as i am not taken through any install dialogue ?

thx koen
It's preinstalled image and its default account/password are odroid/odroid.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

I was able to logon using odroid/odroid and change the other passwords .. thx

So could a vga monitor (full hd 1920x1080) which is connected using a hdmi to vga adapter be an issue for the m1 board ? it worked for the spi boot menu and also on my laptop --> however on the m1 it looks like it is not and the screen does not come up

strangely my 340x1440 monitor seems to work

I must also say i am not very impressed with the speed of this system -- it is very slow in everything - for example starting a firefox web browser takes 20 seconds ................ maybe something is holding things up ?
--> my n2+ with home assistant is way faster !

reg koen

User avatar
tobetter
Posts: 10043
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:55 am
languages_spoken: Korean, English
ODROIDs: Many
Location: Paju, South Korea
Has thanked: 640 times
Been thanked: 1714 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by tobetter »

kdwykleingeld wrote:
Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:53 pm
I was able to logon using odroid/odroid and change the other passwords .. thx

So could a vga monitor (full hd 1920x1080) which is connected using a hdmi to vga adapter be an issue for the m1 board ? it worked for the spi boot menu and also on my laptop --> however on the m1 it looks like it is not and the screen does not come up
Not sure, I also need to check if I found FHD monitor but what I can guess is they uses the different kernel. Petitboot use 4.19 (official) kernel whilist Ubuntu 22.04 uses 5.18 which is recent version (unofficial).
strangely my 340x1440 monitor seems to work

I must also say i am not very impressed with the speed of this system -- it is very slow in everything - for example starting a firefox web browser takes 20 seconds ................ maybe something is holding things up ?
--> my n2+ with home assistant is way faster !

reg koen
You are comparing different grade SBCs, different number of CPU cores and their speed.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

yhx, yeah i know that these are different boards but was not expecting the m1 to be so slow ... maybe it will be betetr when it runs headless doing its nas task

i would like to use it as a nas with my 2tb m.2 ssd .. guess that would be feasable ? Adding a seconf sata connected disk later on.

also considering the hc4 -- (with the advantage of dusl sata) would that one be faster ? Or at least fast enough for proper NAS use case ?

thx koen

specs
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:14 pm
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: Odroid N2/N2+/C4/M1
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 20 times
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by specs »

As far as I know the 1920x1080 problem is with the 22.04 and debian 11 installers. The 20.04 install with a different monitor and I assume that after installation there is no problem.

Whether the M1 is useable for a NAS depends on your requirements.
For my requirements an M1 might be sufficient for a desktop, but that largely depends on the applications used. And indeed for some I prefer an N2+.

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

Hi thanks, i noticed that my hdmi->vga adapter is broken so i have ordered an other one and will test again with the 1920x1080p monitor (with the adapter in between).
But it seems to work fine with ubuntu 22.04 on my large 3440x1440 iiyama monitor! And eventually it wil run headless.

My question regarding a NAS is mainly focussed on choosing for the m1 (with m.2 and sata drive) OR the hc4 (with 2 sata drives) board.

So would the m1 be performant enough as a NAS server ? compared to hc4 ? And maybe also run Home Assistant at the same time so that i can store my data on ssd iso emmc (what i do now with my n2+)

PS - I have a Synology NAS with DSM but want to replace that box as i need less storage and also i do not need all those Synology extra functions

thanks koen

kdwykleingeld
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2022 12:04 am
languages_spoken: english
ODROIDs: m1 n2+
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Hardkernal logo - no spiboot menu anymore..

Post by kdwykleingeld »

Hi, just received my hdmi->vga adapter so that i can hook up my small monitor but it does not work.. the m1 board does not like it when a monitor is not directly connected through a single cable to the hdmi port ... when i connect my other larger monitor (trough direct hdmi cable) it works. So guess the specs for the hdmi port are not very tolerant ... anyways .. minor issue

koen

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware and peripherals”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest